We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sultans Royal Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Midtown Hotel(Istanbul)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$262
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
WOW Airport Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$67
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yasmak Sultan Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$137
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
$44
$37
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Neorion Hotel(Istanbul)
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$691
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveler rating
739
196
22
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
739
196
22
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquevisiting istanbulmajor attractionshighly recommend this hotelbeautiful citysultanahmet squarebreakfast roomexcellent hoteltopkapi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 962 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I recently returned to the states from a 10 day trip to Turkey, the first 3 nights of which were in Istanbul. We stayed at the Sultans Royal and it was a great experience. The hotel was a perfect, local hotel, located just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Mosque and the center of the Sultanahmet tourist area. The accommodations were clean, the staff was incredibly helpful (including providing us with a laptop to use the internet each morning, and early access to breakfast on our final morning when we had an early flight), and the included breakfasts were excellent. Also, many travellers stay at the hotel, so we received/gave great recommendations to/from other guests. Would highly recommend for a stay in a quiet, local hotel in the heart of the tourist area of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the end of the building. The walls are a bit thin, so the ends of the building might be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RWF_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Probably one of the friendliest hotels.The staff are very helpful and the informal atmosphere feels like home ,Location is very good, within walking distance from most of the sightseeing places as also the tram station and yet it is nice and peaceful.Would unhesitatingly recommend to anyone visiting Istanbul who is not enamoured by the clinical , impersonal efficiency of well known hotel chains.
Dr. Sahgal

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor have a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raman s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

In a quiet little side-street of old Istanbul. Immaculately clean, excellent beds, good sized room and bathroom, charming and helpful staff. Delicious varied buffet breakfast. Easy walking distance to main sights, and to tram and bus connections. Just missing somewhere to sit outside .

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have no view to speak of, but are even quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Lead by the rating on Tripadvisor I booked this hotel and it was great as expected. Very friendly and helpful staff, good, very clean, room, good breakfast and situated close to the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sanooknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I recently stayed at the Sultans Royal hotel when I took a spontaneous trip to Turkey. When I arrived, the hotel staff was very welcoming and had great customer service. Along with helping me settle down, they helped me with planning my trip – giving me advice on where to go, what to do, how to get around, the best places to eat, etc.

In particular, Ersin was very friendly and helpful. He was easy to get along with and will go out of his way to make your experience and enjoyable one!

The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beds are also very comfortable – definitely worth the value, and the bathrooms were spotless.

There is also breakfast included – this was always a quaint experience every morning. The restaurant area is fresh and bright, and the food is very tasty. It was like having a home-made Turkish breakfast every morning.

I enjoyed the authentic experience while staying at the Sultans Royal Hotel – would definitely recommend it over any large chain. You can get to know the local people better and really immerse yourself in the Turkish culture.

One of the best things about the Sultan Royal is that it’s in the perfect location. It is in walking distance from all the major sights in Istanbul.

Last, I noticed many different types of travellers – families, couples, friends, and people travelling alone. This hotel is suitable for anyone!

Overall, staying at this hotel was one of the reasons my trip to Turkey was so memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Afnan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews