We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted birthday vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Durand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enchanted birthday vacation!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was our first trip to Istanbul. My wife wanted something special for her 60th birthday. After researching on the web we booked here. First of all the staff. Ersin, Ahmet, & Servas were excellent hosts. Any questions we had they more than helped with. Even getting us a can of the cheese they serve at breakfast. The breakfast every morning was simple but delicious. Being vegetarian we were more than accomodated. The room was nice and clean. We then upgraded the 2nd week to the 3rd floor with an outside terrace looking out on the Sea of Mamara. They were very accomodating about upgrading & moving our things. By the end of the week Ersin & Ahmet were like family. Such great hosts. Strongly recommend this hotel. Also, the Sultanamet is centrally located to a lot of historical sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    196
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
219
378
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

lovely small hotel. wonderful, kind people at the desk, very welcoming. the room was large, very pretty and bathroom was large as well. It is a bit further afield than some of the hotels in Sultanahmet but that shouldn't put you off. The breakfast room, like many hotels in that area, is in the basement but here they have put sky lights to bring in natural lighting which is great. Cute tables and chairs and a wonderful, vast selection of foods to choose from. Price is very good and we look forward to staying here again. The windows have double pane glass and it was silent, silent, silent. lovely to sleep here.

Room Tip: our room was a regular double and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjwrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen S 2300
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very friendly staff combined with a decent and interesting breakfast is only part of the charm. Centrally placed and with nice, clean rooms is the rest. Very thin walls and a lack of interesting views are really the only gripes - and they are minor.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed one night between flights to try a new Sultanahmet area hotel. The price was very attractive and so is the property, clean and well run. A very good value; like some other area hotels a discount was offered for up front in cash payment which we did. Location is good, a bit away from main Sultanahmet area towards the Little Aya Sofya mosque but a short walk to the Hippodrome and on to the tramway. Room was a good size as was the bathroom, everything worked. Double glazed windows, quiet. Typically steep sided bath shower entry. Breakfast on a sub level is in an attractive room with skylights, and breakfast options were ample, both hot and cold. Staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely would return. Alas there are no great views, but it is instead a very economic and pleasant choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traintraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The Sultan's Royal Hotel, where I stayed for 7 nights in April 2012, is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Sultanahmet, within a few minutes' walk of numerous restaurants and, in order of proximity, the Arasta Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Cistern and Topkapi Palace.

My single room there was of a decent size, quiet and comfortable, with a good firm bed and en-suite bathroom. It was kept clean at all times by the hotel's friendly but inconspicuous cleaning staff and contained a TV, safe deposit box, mini-bar and coffee and tea-making facilities. The free wifi was both entirely reliable and fast.

A buffet breakfast with a good selection of a few hot and many cold options was served downstairs in an attractive breakfast room.

However, what really makes this hotel is its exceptional customer service. Right from the outset, when I received a warm welcome, cup of tea and informative orientation chat on arrival, nothing was too much trouble for Ersin on the reception desk. Every morning, he was full of suggestions of places to visit, good locations for photography and photographic tips. Throughout my stay at the Sultan's Royal Hotel, I had the impression that all of the other guests staying there were very satisfied with the hotel.

It is, therefore, without hesitation that I would recommend the Sultan's Royal Hotel.

Not a negative but perhaps worth pointing out: the free airport transfer only applies if you book directly with the hotel and not through a 3rd-party website such as Expedia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ectomorfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, IN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I were very impressed! The hotel is great, the room's were comfortable and clean, and the location was excellent (a quiet neighborhood about 5 minutes walk from everything), but what differentiates themselves from other hotels is that they have truly great customer service. Need to make the most of your day? Not sure how to get around? Need reservations or free transportation to and from restaurants? The Sultans Royal staff stepped up every time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFraz0672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEIRUT
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in April 2012 and the first thing that attracted our attention was how clean and well maintained everything was. Location is excellent within a 5-minute walk from all the major sights in Sutanahmet and yet in a quiet street. We got two adjoining rooms and used a door sealing them off from the rest of the rooms which was quite convenient. Breakfast was decent without the frills (with a very nice breakfast room). Size of rooms small but I guess this is how all Sultanahmet hotels are. Service was prompt and courteous and everyone tries to help you out and give you tips. Free Wi-Fi worked very well in the rooms and the hotel in general. Check-in and Check-out fast and efficient.

Room Tip: only tried the ground floor and saves the hassle of going up the stairs or wait for the small lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akmar112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,452 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#57 of 1,155 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#48 of 1,155 in Istanbul
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,155 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,155 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#49 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing