We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Odessa Restaurant

Odessa Restaurant
Ranked #5,892 of 13,609 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Karakoy
Dublin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was tempted into the Odessa by the lovely picture of the mixed grill - overflowing with interesting looking salads and so many different meats they were barely fitting on the plate - what arrived out was 2 miserable looking lamb chops, a pair of meatballs, a cup of rice and a few chips sprinkled around the plate. Not impressed. I don't like being misled and charged top-dollar for it.

They also manage to serve us the smallest glass of wine I've ever seen, and charge us as though it was a normal one.

Add in the 12% service charge they stuck on to the bill without any prior indication, and you've got yourself a pretty comprehensive 1 star review. Avoid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank walshew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    11
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great last lunch in Istanbul”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a delightful lunch in this restaurant prior to leaving on our flight. We ate upstairs at a lovely table which overlooked the Golden Horn and the Old Town. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is very reasonable and nicely presented. We would certainly return next year

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawley1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice location with nice staff”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

i have known this guy mehmet for a lot of years when he worked at the neighbouring restuarant and he puts on a good show with food to match i would recommend this as a nice place to spend an afternoon watching the world go by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Not to recommend. ”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Not heated place - so we were freezing. Annoying waiters. Empty plates - nothing for people with an empty stomach. Don't go there. You'll find something better.

Helpful?
Thank leckerkeks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Great spot next to Karakoy ferry. Mehmet the owner very friendly and speaks good English. Spent a couple of hours sampling his raki and beer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigSteve64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odessa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Odessa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing