We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in istanbul with the perfect price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi
Ranked #908 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Gedikpasa Konagi is located in the main hub of istanbul with the grand bazaar, istanbul university, blue mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the seaside and the tram station on a walking distance. The best quality of rooms, with the perfect prices available. The hotel staff was really cooperative and make you feel at home!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FahadI21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Perfect location just 2 min from the grand bazaar.
Hotel it is very clean, bed very comfortable,tasty breakfast and staff makes you feel like member of sultan family.
Mr Serhat thank you for all.
Wee will be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sohail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week with my family of 6 in two rooms, definitely a 5 star rating, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms sizes were nice and big also very comfortable and very clean, our rooms would get cleaned everyday.The location is perfect only about a 2 minute walk from the grand bazaar and 5/10 minutes to the main attractions such as the blue mosque, hagia sofia, topkapi palace etc. At the top of the street there are really nice restaurants which we would eat from often during our time there. Breakfast was great, everything was always fresh and healthy with a variety of things to choose from and was always nice and quiet in the mornings. Will definitely be back at this hotel next year hopefully and would definitely recommend to others!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shafina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Staff very helpful, nice and affable, simple rooms but very clean and comfortable, very good mattress, shower very good.
Typical breakfast but good.
The location is very central and in typical zone.
I'll be back again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel_W1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel has a recurring problem as reported by other reviewers on Tripadvisor of changing bookings at the last minute.

We had booked this hotel in February for stay in May. After making the booking we came across a worrying review on Tripadvisor which mentioned that the hotel manager had changed the booking when the guests arrived at the hotel and made them stay in another hotel. This made us confirm our reservation with the hotel manager in February and we were told that our booking was confirmed (I have an email to prove this).

A week before our travel, we again confirmed our reservation with the hotel manager, Ozgur.

On the day of arrival, we reached the hotel and were asked by the attendant to speak to Ozgur over the phone. Our first reaction was to ask him about our reservation. Sure enough the manager started laughing as if it was a funny joke and told us that a large had arrived recently as a result there was over booking and that we will have to spend the night in another hotel. We were taken to the other hotel which was quite bad (e.g. the toilet had not even been flushed). The next day the manager did not show up at 8am as promised to take us to the original hotel. Repeated attempts to contact Ozgur failed. Finally, we got the manager of the other hotel (who did not speak English) to call the other manager for us. We were told that there was heavy traffic on the roads and so he could not come but we should leave our luggage at hotel and he would transfer it to the original hotel. On going out on the roads, we found absolutely no traffic. So that was a lie.

In the evening, we went to the original hotel and were lucky to find our luggage there. We were given a really cramped room which faced a noisy street.

Ozgur never showed up for the next 3 days that we were there for. Finally, on the evening before our departure, we spotted him talking to a very upset looking couple. We found out that he had done the same to that couple. We put our foot down and asked him to give us a refund for the first night that we had to spend in the other hotel and a taxi back to the airport. He tried to talk his way out of it by saying he did not have money and that he will pay us the next day when we were leaving. But having gone through all the misery earlier, we insisted on the getting the refund then and did not leave. He very reluctantly gave us the refund and booked a taxi for us.

We concluded that the hotel manager must be getting confirmed bookings from providers like ours in advance and closer to the date when rooms were more expensive, he must be changing the reservations to make a profit from the differential rent. He must have an existing arrangement with the other, more shabby hotel to accommodate his guests at the last minute.

People should AVOID THIS HOTEL. Its is over priced and definitely not worth the trouble. Ozgur is likely to respond to this review by saying that he could not help as the rooms were over booked. How can a manager of a good hotel (as claimed) not know that the rooms are not available and still keep taking bookings? You cannot shift the blame this time Ozgur. It has happened at least thrice that I know of. God knows how many other people have faced the same problem


Other issues:
Breakfast: The staff never refilled anything that got over. There was no one around to keep a check on what needed to be refilled.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank axe_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I cant rate the hotel highly enough. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, helpful and made sure we were comfortable, and made sure the kids were supplied with sweets when we went out on our adventures in the morning. We stayed in a family room, ensuite (2 adults, 2 kids 9 and 5) which was large enough for us not to feel completely overcrowded. The buffet breakfast was good quality and plentiful. The hotel is in a great position in the old part of the city, on a street that slopes down to the sea of Mamara. At the top of the street (~200m) you are directly opposite the grand bazaar. We definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NapoleonInRags1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Once we got to stay there, the staff was over-the-top accomodating, our room was exactly right and the basement setting of their sumptuous breakfast seemed a fun throwback to Ottoman times. Sorry to say there's a "however," HOWEVER, when we arrived (after twenty hours of travel) we were told that they had given our room to "a family," as if to indicate that a group with children had more need (or right?) to the room we'd booked well in advance. The manager mentioned several times that our plane was late (by an hour), although since the transport driver was there waiting for us at the airport exit, I would imagine they had that information and understood we'd arrived. With many apologies and cups of tea, we were asked to hike several steep bumpy blocks following two guys carrying our bags, then climb four flights above a printing shop to very inferior rooms touted as their higher end apartments "for the night." We moved into the hotel proper the next day. I later heard this overbooking first-come-first-serve thing is common enough in Turkey that some call it a scam. I'm rating this one way down in spite of good service and good rooms. Beware.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magpie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#517 of 1,163 in Istanbul
232 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#977 of 1,163 in Istanbul
361 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#78 of 1,163 in Istanbul
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reyyan Hotel
#240 of 1,163 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cem Sultan Hotel
Cem Sultan Hotel
#580 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#399 of 1,163 in Istanbul
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi

Address: Gedikpasa Cad. No 70, Istanbul 34126, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyazıt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #908 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $21 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Istanbul’s old town and features elegant guest units with free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. Each is decorated with details from the Ottoman culture.The historical architecture of Gedik Pasa Konagi’s chic restaurant is combined with modern amenities such as flat-screen TVs. Guests can enjoy rich, Turkish cuisine under the high, arched ceiling.Wooden floors, white linens and ornate furnishings are standard in all rooms at Gedik Pasa Konagi. Each is air-conditioned and has a private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gedik Pasa Konagi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing