We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You come for a place to sleep but stay for the people who work there”

Chillout Pera Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chillout Pera Hostel
Ranked #534 of 1,186 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“You come for a place to sleep but stay for the people who work there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I was made to feel welcome the moment I walked in the door. Chris (speaks German, Turkish, English, and probably Jive) was kind, helpful, and expressed a sort of trust in people you don't normal encounter in hostel/hotel employees. All the employees are massively pleasant. On numerous occasions they (all of them) offered to share their food and drinks when they were eating/drinking or if I even appeared to be hungry or thirsty.

Whether on a budget or time-crunch, they were always ready to offer directions and information about the best* place to eat, sight see, smoke nargile, or shop and they have a laundry service on premise. The staff is concerned for the welfare of the residents and were always available for conversations, tips, and laughs.

There are rooms for all types of travelers (solo, double, dorm) and while you are aware this is not the Ritz, the rooms are clean and the bathrooms/showers sparkle.

The down side...there is/are no a/c/fans and the rooms can get fairly hot and make sleeping mildly uncomfortable and there is smoking in the main area on the first floor.

*"best" was based on the needs of the person asking (price, time, location, interest)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank errcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
6
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Really nice and friendly Hostel, only the first time difficult to find, very nice rooms with a personal touch, nice people around: everything i wished was there, see you next time!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulimageLabNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The location of hostel is excellent. We're so glad to stayed here for one week. Hygienical toilets-showers and kitchen, clean room, friendly people, in the middle of city but very noiseless. We recommend to everyone, who wants to spend a perfect time. And special thanx to dear Chris. Wish to see you next time...:))

Peace&Love, love, love...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lunaoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

During the stay at the hostel I was blessed with people that spoke English. The services were excellent/.
Thank you for the warm welcoming there, I will send my friends there to stay because it was awesome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Me and my mum spent 3 nights here in a private double room and it turned out to be a good pick! Huge and clean room in a hostel which is small but cosy and with everything you need for a nice stay, else the crew will be happy to help you out! besides, it has a great location, next to night live area (but keeping a very quiet site which is very important) and a couple of minutes walking distance to the main Istiklal Street, Galata Tower, or the sea!! ah, and with a stop nearby (Sisane) for the metro and the airport bus! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olitxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesebar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Au Pera hostel is situated in a very convenient place in the very heart of istanbul. It is very near to Sisane metro station. There is a convenient not expensive covered parking nearby.
The staff is friendly, always smiling and ready to help. The prices and and the conditions in the hostel are very good as well. I plan to stay there often when I go to Istanbul.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna_vassileva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I am so happy I stayed here for one week. I travel alone and CHris and Ibrahim made me feel so welcome, they really create a relaxing and low key social atmosphere with the guests. I felt very much at home and wanted to stay longer. Everything was clean, the bed was so comfortable, shower pressure was hot and strong, very good size kitchen. And the location was amazing. It is only about 2 streets parallel to all of the activity of Taksim, but so quiet so you can get a good night sleep. Very safe area, right near the Sishane metro stop and close to a main street where you can hail a taxi at any time. Really, one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpf_msw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#354 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#156 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#124 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#222 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chillout Pera Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chillout Pera Hostel

Property: Chillout Pera Hostel
Address: KIblelizade Sk. No.6 | Sishane / Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 1,186 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing