We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little intimate gem of Istanbul.”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #8 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I have just returned from Istanbul 2 days ago. Before booking this hotel I was intrigued and a touch sceptical at the positive review of the Neorion.

But this is where I was pleasantly surprised. On arrival there was a warm welcome. And it continued until we left to return home.

I only have praise for the staff and hotel. The service and the lovely gift of Turkish delights topped off a fantastic holiday.

I have nothing negative to say about our stay at the hotel. There was a sense of pride in the work that the staff do which was evident in the thought that has gone into the small detail of their hospitality.

The spa was amazing. A perfect way to destress. The rooms were immaculate and every effort was made to make us feel welcome. Even at midnight for a pot of hot milk for our midnight tea sessions!

I hope that the hotel goes from strength to strength and don't lose the intimate feel that they've created. All were very lovely and nothing was too much for the staff. They have mastered the skill of hospitality, professionalism and personability (which can be devoid in larger glitzy places).

The location was quite special as it was equidistant to all the major sites and it was a treat to be able to step out of the hotel and have a midnight kebab/dessert/sheesha. It is tucked beautifully away from the commercial side allowing a glimpse of istanbullions going about their daily routine from the balconies.

We'll certainly be back inshallah! Thank you Neorion for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lubzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

After another fantastic stay at Neorion Hotel, I feel compelled to write to say that it is the absolute best place to stay in Istanbul! One of the best Hotels to stay in with super spacious rooms with excellent service from the staff. Stay here, and you won't to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the time taken to review our hotel

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed here for three nights with our three children (ages 11, 8 and 1 year), We chose the hotel mainly based on the positive reviews on websites such as this one. For us the main strengths of Neorion are its prime location and the exemplary attitude of its staff. It is located within walking distance of the main attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Haga Sofia and Grand Bazaar. if you are tired, you can just hop on the tram-the hotel is located between the stops of Gulhane and Sirkice. However, what we will really remember the hotel for is the genuinely helpful and cooperative attitude of all the people who worked there, e.g., Mr Fatih at reception and Ms Loreta of guest relations. We always felt the service provided was sincere and genuine and never over the top or intrusive. These are not common qualities you find in hotels around the world and for us count for much more than opulent rooms or state of the art gym facilities. I really hope the Neorion maintains its excellent standards because we will be expecting the same when we return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IYS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at The Neorion over New Year for 4 nights. It's a cute little boutique hotel whose owners are so committed to doing the best for the guests, it is beyond lovely. I thinking 5-star big chain hotels would be hard to beat. Our red-eye flight brought us in very early. So early in fact, we hung around at the airport for a couple of hours as I wasn't sure whether the hotel would even be open.

Here are all the things I didn't expect:
1. When I arrived at 8.30 am, it was buzzing with guests having breakfast. The large seating area was a great comfort as we could relax after a long flight. We were even invited to have breakfast. (Wish I'd known this as I would have skipped the rather awful Cafe Nero effort at the airport.) The gesture and the hot meal was much appreciated.
2. We were very early even for an early Check In. Yet they managed to find a room for us by 9.30 am so that we could have a snooze and catch up with the time difference and long flight.
3. The Turkish Delight in the room was divine. I've never been a fan of this sweet until Istanbul, and I've not found Turkish Delight like the one this hotel gets for its guests.
4. They sit down with all their guests to help them orientate themselves for Sultanahmet, with suggestions on all the things you might like to do. This is all part of the welcome experience.
5. Their honesty. I had booked my trip to Istanbul such a long time before I travelled that I had forgotten what offer I was on. One of them is a free transfer from airport to hotel or vice versa. I forgot about this. They remembered. They could have easily not. And I think it is this quality that adds to the entire experience of being looked after.
6. WIFI quality is

The owners take such great care to attend to every little detail. From breakfast, to afternoon snack, to the way the rooms are cleaned, to the ham man, to the fact that they are always available for questions, help and taxis, to little welcome gifts, to farewell gifts. You may be staying in a hotel, but you always feel like you are home. The hotel has a roof terrace with views over the Bosphorous and Asian side of Istanbul.

Hotel Neorion is very conveniently located in Sultanahmet to all the main sites of historical interest. Everything is within walking distance. It's very close to the metro, though we didn't take it, preferring to walk everywhere. It is a very good base to return to during the day for a quick rest before venturing out again. I highly recommend it for your stay in Sultanahmet. If I could give it an extra star, I would, just for all the attention to detail that many hotels don't bother or forget.

Room Tip: If you are a family of 3 travelling, ask for the Triple Room. It is of good size and space. Remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PostcardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We just finished a 4 night stay at the Neorion Hotel in Istanbul. We had high expectations given the reviews we read and we weren't disappointed. This is a boutique hotel, so lacking in some of the amenities you might get in a large hotel (no room service, and no dinner), but the service is impeccable and the location is perfect for sightseeing. We stayed in a "connecting room" which gave us 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms - perfect for 2 adults and a 13 year old.

We were debating this hotel or the Four Seasons Sultanhamet, which we were able tour while in Istanbul, and were extremely happy with our choice (Four Seasons would have been fine but the Neorion has a family friendliness to it and level of service that even the Four Seasons would struggle to match).

Key decision for us in Istanbul (first time visitors) was to be in a location where we could walk to all of the important sites - the Neorion was a short walk to everything as it's in the heart of the old city. I would strongly suggest avoiding any hotel where you would need to take a taxi to visit the sites - traffic for the 4 days we were there was awful, and we were told by many people the commute from some of the more well-known hotels in other parts of the city could be an hour each way.

Strongly recommend the Neorion for anyone visiting Istanbul for the first time who is looking for a friendly, helpful, clean, well appointed and well located hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 208 which was a connecting room - well worth the extra money if you are traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay

Hope to host you soon again

Best wishes from Neorion Hotel family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having not been to Istanbul before, my wife and I found this hotel perfect for all our needs. It is in an excellent location for exploring the city either on foot or by local transport. The hotel is spotless and the staff excellent. We were greeted superbly on arrival by being offered complimentary drinks and snacks and given verbal information about all of the sights to be visited. The bedroom provided all one would wish for with tea making facilities, superb shower and toiletries etc. we would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMLEEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for the nice words and time to share your opinion;

We are thrilled to know you had a nice stay

Hope to host you soon again

Neorion Hotel Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location is great. 100 metres to Sirkeci station, 300 metres to Galata Bridge. For going on asian side, we took Turkyol - as we`ve been told by the front desk officer. 12 TL is the cost, comparative to 16 euros - at the travel agencies.
Very good breakfast. Free tea and coffee in the rooms.
Just 4 minutes walk to Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Aghia Sophia, Grand Bazar, Cisterne Basilica. Clean and big rooms.
Our departure flight was at 10 pm. We were allowed to use the rooms until 8:00 pm, no extra charge. I don`t know if this hotel is number one in Istanbul (this was our first time here), but, for sure, is a great place to stay.

Mihai, Bucharest

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in tripadvisor;

We are delighted to know you had a nice stay

Hope to have the pleasure to host you soon again at the Neorion

Best wishes
Neorion Hotel Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,031 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,984 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,505 reviews
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#11 of 1,163 in Istanbul
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $74 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing