We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bananas and Honey!”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bananas and Honey!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Neorion Hotel was like comfort food for the weary body and soul - like coming home after a hard day and having your favorite meal. From check-in and the helpful orientation with Ceyda to our comfortable room and bed, there was an easy and relaxed vibe throughout the hotel. Ceyda and Sirin were the best and most friendly concierges we have ever had the pleasure to meet - always smiling, ready to help or make dinner reservations for us. The front desk staff were also helpful and professional. Then there were the little touches, like the towel elephant that our room attendant left on the bed to cheer us up after a long day of touring...need more pillows, or another blanket...no problem, they were delivered in minutes with a smile. We spent 4 nights there in a superior room on the 6th floor, and it was very quiet, the distant, muffled bells on the passing tram were comforting rather than annoying, and even had a view of the Blue Mosque from our room and balcony, which we were pleases to use one sunny afternoon looking over the rooftops or down at the street life below us. The location is excellent as others have said, perfectly placed to walk to sights in Sultanahmet or to the Spice Market and ferries on the Golden Horn. Do we have any complaints? Softer towels, perhaps, and maybe tea or coffee available in the lobby during the day, but it seems so petty when some much else was perfect. And the bananas and honey along with the rest of the very nice breakfast spread...they were the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HurdyGurdeyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.


Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,666
    280
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
679
1,470
167
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Neorion hotel for three nights. We were picked up by a helpful and cheerful driver of the hotel from the airport. The hotel is ideally located to explore grand Bazar, mosques and Palaces. The staff are most helpful, the rooms are clean, big and the beds are comfortable. The afternoon snacks are free and delicious. Undoubtably one of the best hotel we stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azhar2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My cousin and I spent 3 nights at the Neorion at the end of March, as a result of reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It fully justified the rave reviews it has been receiving. We were upgraded to a 6th floor room, with a balcony. Everything you could possibly ask for was supplied - we would just have liked a little more room to unpack, but otherwise it was wonderful. The toiletries in the bathroom were awesome and there was a list of extras you could ask for if you required them. The hotel is situated within easy walking distance of all the major sites and very close to the tram station, from where one could catch the tram to any one of the major destinations and also use it to go quickly and easily to Taksim Square and modern Istanbul. The staff were very helpful and even offered to get an Istanbulkart for the public transport for us if we had any problems. The spa area is very good indeed too. It was too cold to use the terrace while we were there, but we enjoyed the view from our balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HelenZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Everything about the hotel was great. What stood out the most was the friendliness of the staff. The members of the concierge team proactively helped, printed out schedules and information, patiently showed us where everything was on a map, and checked in with us throughout the trip.

The breakfast and afternoon food provided were delicious and included freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade jams, many kinds fresh bread, fruits, cakes & cookies, and deliciously marinated vegetables.

The pool, sauna and Hamam where clean and comfortable, and there were locker rooms that provided you with a key, slippers, a towel for the sauna, a towel for a shower, and a small towel/rug to stand on when changing.

The location is convenient for both sight-seeing and for exploring the rest of Istanbul, as it is just a couple minutes from the tram and ten minutes from the ferries that go all over Istanbul.

I can't say enough good things about it, but what stood out more than anything else was the sincerely friendly and helpful service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just came back from a 3 night trip to Istanbul where we stayed at the Neorion Hotel. This is a perfect example of what a boutique hotel should be like, without the exhorbitant cost. The hotel itself is stylish, comfortable, affordable and perfectly located in the historic centre. Our room on the 6th floor had great views, was really well-appointed and very comfy with a beautiful spacious bathroom. The breakfasts were good, and the afternoon mezes (free of charge) a nice touch. The underground spa was a great place to unwind after a busy day. However the best thing about this hotel is the staff, all of whom are friendly and very helpful, especially Ceyda who is without doubt the best concierge we have ever come across - outstanding service on every level.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family,
Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at Neorion Hotel over Easter for 3 days.

What we liked:

- very clean room and bathroom, enough space
- friendly staff
- excellent breakfast from 7 am to 11 am
- complimentary meze from 1 pm to 7 pm
- centrally located, a few minutes’ walk by foot to all main sights

What we did not like:

- the roof terrace was totally dirty throughout our entire stay with rubbish on the floor, dirty tables, birds’ excrements everywhere, and therefore not really inviting to sit
- there was a very penetrating smell of perfume in our room upon arrival and during our whole stay on the floor, likely to be the smell of the hotel’s cleaning agent
- hotel surroundings are not that nice: if you look down from the roof terrace, you can see heaps of rubbish on the free building ground next to the hotel, and there is a construction site right across the street
- very loud, also at night
- quite expensive, but maybe this is the price you have to pay in Istanbul for this standard

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Of course we have some points to improve, we are all working on these.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

As seasoned travellers, we tend to following the advice of our fellow travelers on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. Location, cleanliness , staff, food, rooms were all top notch. The concierge help was world class. Don't settle for less, The Neorion is THE place to stay in the Old City.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buildr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear my guest;
It was our great pleasure to host you in Istanbul, in our hotel.

Thank you for sharing your experinces with other people on this very important platform.

Hope to be together again.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci - The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,149 in Istanbul
3,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,909 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,068 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,149 in Istanbul
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing