We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fully Deserves Their Number One Rating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #7 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Fully Deserves Their Number One Rating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at Neorion Hotel for four nights based on the exceptional TA reviews and I'm here to say they fully deserve their number one rating! Offering an ideal location just a five minute walk from Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. We travel at least once each month, mainly to other European cities, and have never seen a hotel where customer service is such a high priority. After checking in we were met in the lobby by Ceyda, one of the hotel's well-informed customer service agents, who greeted us with fresh squeezed orange juice and helped us develop a plan for visiting the highlights of this beautiful city. A visit to Istanbul can be quite daunting (unusual closing days for key attractions, money saving museum passes available, complicated transportation system) and Ceyda offered priceless advice on how to maximize our time. She also arranged to reserve tickets for two dance shows near the hotel (one with whirling dervishes and a second with belly dancing and folk dancing) which proved to be one of the highlights of our visit. She helped us with restaurant recommendations and reservations as well as providing us with directions on how to reach a large suburban shopping mall via public transport for our Christmas shopping. On a scale of one to ten, Ceyda is an eleven! As part of our four night reservation we were offered a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel which went smoothly and was very much appreciated. Additionally, if you can arrange to pay in cash instead of by credit card, you can receive an 11% reduction on the room rate. Our room was very comfortable with down comforter and pillows and a full bath with tub and shower. The breakfast buffet was perfection: a wide range of hot dishes (the scrambled eggs were outstanding!) plus fresh fruit, cereals and a huge display of fresh pastries and several kinds of fresh bread (some still fresh from the oven). The hotel is affiliated with an excellent small restaurant nearby (Cafe Mese) which offers a wide range of interesting entrees, pastas and quick snacks (even their french fries are fantastic!). To be totally fair I should mention two downsides to staying at Hotel Neorion which has nothing to do with the hotel but just "a fact of life" when staying in the historical center of Istanbul. You should be prepared for early morning prayer calls (rather loud) from the Blue Mosque and beware of the poor condition of the sidewalks on all the nearby streets (watch every step!) since infrastructure for pedestrians is not a priority. We were totally pleased with our stay at Hotel Neorion and would heartedly recommend it to others who want to stay in the historical center of Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,618
    275
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
656
1,453
161
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed in Istanbul for just 3 days, and I can't say enough about how wonderful our experience was. We received a hotel pick up from the airport (which went perfectly smooth). When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted and asked to come down after we freshened up. When we came down we met with hotel staff and we told them what we were interested in seeing and doing. Immediately reservations were made for dinner at two restaurants nearby. We were given great maps and clear directions and ideas on things to see during our brief visit. The room was absolutely perfect, large enough for the entire family. Breakfast buffet had a great selection of traditional breakfast food, cheeses, meats, pastries, etc. We were at the hotel on Christmas and staff came by our room with a really nice Christmas gift as well (along with Turkish delights in the room and boxed/ready to go with us when we left. Again, transport to the airport was perfect.

One other important note, our flight out of Istanbul was not until 11:00 PM, and the hotel was so nice to us they allowed us to stay in the room until 7:00 PM when we caught our transport to the airport. We didn't have to sit in the lobby for 7 hours with our luggage and we were able to take showers, etc before leaving! I have never been to a hotel with this type of unbelievable flexibility..

The location of this hotel is perfect for visiting all of the historical sights in Istanbul, Its also a 2 minute walk to the tram stop which can take you basically anywhere.. We saw pretty much all of the area sights and had a wonderful time. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay.

Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.

Kind regards,

Faruk Boyaci
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

If your goal is to explore the historic tourist areas of Istanbul (Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, and the Grand Bazaar), then Neorion is the hotel for you.

The Neorion is conveniently located less than 15 minutes walking from each of these locations, so it is an excellent home base for anyone looking to explore the city. It is also very close to the Sirkeci tram line, which can take you to other parts of the city - such as Taksim square. It is also very close to the Emininou ferry line, which is a must-see attraction to see the city from the Bosphorous River.

The staff is fantastic and incredibly attentive. They are extremely helpful and knowledgeable, so make sure to review your daily itinerary with them before you head out for the day. The amenities are very modern and comfortable for western travelers, although there is no in-house fitness center (but facilities are located in Neorion's sister hotel around the corner).

Bottom line: I had a great experience in Istanbul, in no small part thanks to the staff at the Neorion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ews833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed.
We stayed for three nights so we qualified for the free transfer from the airport which went without a hitch.
The hotel was within 10 minutes walk of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and about 15 minutes from the Bosphorous boat trip operators and the Spice Bazaar.
Breakfast was excellent - cereals, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, bread, cheese, beef sausages, eggs and honey from a honeycomb. We tended to go out during the morning, pop back for the free meze at lunchtime and then out again in the afternoon.
We didn't use the spa so we can't comment on that.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villgic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel was very lovely and the service was great. The staff were very friendly.

The facilities of the hotel was excellent and the cleanliness of the hotel room was good.

The location of the hotel was perfect, as it was close to all the attractions (such as the Spice Bazaar) and the metro station.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fifisherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

If you are going to Istanbul and want to be near the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topaki Palace - stay at the Neorion Hotel. When you arrrive you get treated to whatever drink you like and a hotel representative talks through where everything is located, how much things cost, opening hours, showing you everything on a map. You can book your tickets for various attractions through their concierge, without the hassle of standing in line at the sites for ages. We used this service many times and were delighted with the results. They will also recommend nearby restaurants, book a cultural show nearby for you, book private taxis to and from the airport - nothing is beneath their notice. The hotel also benefits from a huge buffet breakfast as well as a substantial spread of food for afternoon snacks, which we utilised on a few occassions. There is also a lovely, well kept indoor swimming pool, hammam, and jacuzzi. The only recommendation I would make is to make the jacuzzi water hot instead of the same temperature as the pool. The rooms are immaculate and the beds are very comfortable. Fantastic choice for your stay in Istanbul.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareMM2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading favourable reviews on Trip Advisor as our base for a a weekend break in Istanbul . I must say the hotel and more importantly staff surpassed my best expectations
We arrived early Morning and were offered complimentary breakfast before settling into a lovely room on the 6 th floor ( outstanding views of the city rooftops and mosques ) . The hotel has a very high qiuality feel to It and was spotlessly clean . The staff could not do enough for us , giving great advice on places to visit and making us feel very much at home . Breakfast was great with a wide buffet . The SPA is very nice and we booked a very good value massage . When leaving we were offered a late check out and the staff waved us off , amazing !

Room Tip: 6 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing