We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with excellent staff!”
Review of Neorion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neorion Hotel
Ranked #6 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
INGATESTONE
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with excellent staff!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The most impressive thing about this hotel is the staff. They are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They really do make staying at the Neorion a pleasure.

Having said all that it would be wrong to ignore the hotel itself. Our room was on the 6th floor. It was spacious, nicely appointed and spotlessly clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom has a seperate bath an shower (good water pressure for the shower as well!!).

The hotel's location is very close to many of the major tourist attractions.

All things considered there really is no reason to stay anywhere else when in Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Faruk Boyacı,the owner of the hotel, I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Accepting you also as a member of Neorion Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Neorion Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,657
    278
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
674
1,466
166
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only booked it based on all the good reviews. They are right ! It is in a great central location close to all the main sights.
The staff ,particularly Merve, who greeted us on arrival was amazingly friendly and helpful , a lovely smile and beautiful person !
Hope they can keep this up as the hotel is quite new , about 18 months.
The room sizes are good ,beds good and we wanted a very quiet room, so the one at the back was perfect ,couldn't hear a thing, a view of a wall,but we wanted a good sleep.
Breakfast was good too also free wifi internet.
A hint on taxis - the drivers are hopeless , and you MUST have a phone number of any destination so the driver can call to locate the place. Also check the meter is on, otherwise get another taxi ! Also none know this hotel because it is new..
It's rated a four star hotel ,but 5 stars to it's guests.
As far as we are concerned, we could not fault anything !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
My dearest guest,
I would like to thank you for your review about Neorion Hotel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.
Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul Neorion Hotel Family,

Faruk Boyacı
Owner of the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at this hotel. It is a solid, moderate establishment, though I'm not sure why it's received its No. 1 ranking on this site.

The location is excellent, a short walk from all the major tourist sites such as Topkapi Palace, Haghia Sophia, and the Grand Bazaar (though note that because this is a tourist-oriented area, there's a dearth of decent places to eat nearby). Rooms and public spaces are spotlessly clean and moderately sized, with pleasantly bland furnishings. Beds are comfortable, the shower had good water pressure, and I never heard a peep from any of the neighboring rooms. The breakfast buffet is also good, with high-quality fruit and other noshes.

The staff was unfailingly pleasant, if not always on-the-ball. For example, I had arranged an airport transfer to the hotel, but the driver never showed up; when I called the hotel from the airport after a 20-minute wait, they offered to pay for me to take a taxi instead. The next day I asked the concierge to arrange an appointment for me at the Baths of Roxelana; she later told me she'd made an appointment at 5 pm, but when I got to the hammam they told me the appointment had actually been at 4 pm. Then they arranged an airport transfer on my way back to Ataturk - but, again, the driver didn't show on time, and I got there only 45 minutes before my flight took off - which the hotel staff swore would be sufficient time. But it turns out Turkish Airlines closes check-in an hour before their domestic flights, so I would've missed my plane if a Turkish Airlines employee hadn't taken pity on me. In other words, the hotel staff gets an A for effort, but only a B- in terms of actual execution. Still, overall, this is pretty good value for the money, and I doubt you'll find a better deal in Sultanahmet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank AmoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boyaci, Owner at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
My dearest guest,

I am Faruk Boyacı, the owner of the Neorion Hotel.
First of all, thank you very much for your review about our Hotel. We attach great importance to our guests' reviews, especially the criticing ones. Because they show us the missing points of a big picture.

As we underlined through our mail to you, I want to mention that I am really sorry about the transfer problem that you had. We are working with independent transfer company. However, this fault is not acceptable in any case. I want to underline that I warned the company in a really serious attitude.
In related with hamam appointment, we talked with to direclty hamam because reservation seems at 5 pm as you wanted to make it in our reservation records and they informed us they have same reservation details as at 5 pm on their record. It may be misunderstanding of staff at hamam and they mentioned their excuse.

It will be a real happiness for me whether one day we would have a chance to host you again at our hotels or restaurants.

Please don't hesitate to contact me for any need or question.

Best regards;

Faruk Boyacı
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel was absolutely brilliant, I cannot fault it. From making a booking, the staff are there to take care of you, sending a welcoming email and inviting you to ask any questions. The hotel's website helpfully has directions from the airport to the hotel in Turkish. The staff are welcoming and speak perfect English. Our room was extremely comfortable and had a nice view of the city. There was a little dish of Turkish delight in the room upon arrival, and while typically we don't really enjoy this sweet, the type at the hotel was irresistible. The hotel provides breakfast and mezze throughout the day, which were delicious and plentiful. They will take care of dinner bookings for you; both recommendations were fantastic, we enjoyed them very much. Upon check-out, the staff gave us a little goodie bag of Turkish delight (hooray!), Turkish tea, and sweets. It was a lovely touch and a great way to end a fantastic weekend in Istanbul. Our only regret was that we were only there for a short weekend away. We would definitely like to come back, and would heartily recommend this hotel to anybody. Well done to the staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neorion H, Manager at Neorion Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dearest Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments.
We want to make sure all of our guests are taken care of, so I am happy to hear that we were able to help you out.
Thank you for choosing us , we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Best Wishes from Neorion Family,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is important, especially in Istanbul. You will learn very quickly that if it's not walking distance from a tram stop, it's not worth going. And tram stops are close to all the major sites. This hotel is close to two tram stops. 5-10 min. walk to Tokapi, Haggia Soffia and Blue Mosque. From there, two tram stops to Grand Bazaar, two stops to Bosphorus ferry and spice market. All the top rated TA restaurants are within 5min. walk. Stay 3 nights and your airport transfer is included. Combined that with a clean and spacious room with a powerful shower head, a friendly staff to cater to your every need, a roof terrace for you to enjoy the view and sunset with a free glass of wine, fantastic breakfast and free tapas all afternoon, what more do you need?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank w8mui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gansbaai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Neorion Hotel. We were treated like celebrities and their service and facilities were outstanding. The staff went out of their way to assist in every possible way.The breakfast, mezze and rooftop sunsets were unbelievable. The room was very neat and comfortable. The swimming pool and spa added to our enjoyment. We will definitely recommend anybody to stay there.
Francois and Deonora de Jongh, Gansbaai, South Africa

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Thsi is not a 5 Star luxury hotel, and if that's what you want then head to the Kempinski Ciragan Palace. This is a small tourist hotel in a very convenient location for the old town and the Grand Bazaar. What makes it stand out is the attention to detail in the service, and care, the extra touches that made the day we spent here one of the most pleasurable hotel experiences I can remember. Reception is small, but that really doesn't matter as you will be sat down with a glass of something and offered Turkish delight while they check you in. Unless of course it is between 1pm and 7pm which is Mezze Hour and there are snacks and gorgeous little things awaiting your delectation in the lobby. When the Mezze stops the rooftop sunset drinks begin. The staff could not have been more helpful in organising a tour guide, and anything else we needed. Free wifi throughout was good as well. So I recommend this hotel completely. The rooms are not brilliant, but they are very modern and clean. The magic of this hotel is in its staff, and I will certainly be staying again and saving 500 Euros a night on the cost of a Bosphorous hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet but look out on a wall, the front rooms have a nicer view but have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hypercritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,948 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,893 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,039 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,141 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neorion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neorion Hotel

Property: Neorion Hotel
Address: Orhaniye Street No 14 | Sirkeci, Istanbul 34120, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Neorion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Neorion Hotel is at the very center of Istanbul's history and culture, ancient and modern. Named for Byzantium's grand port (see the map) on the Golden Horn, it welcomes visitors from around the world just as the port did in the great days of Constantinople. Neorion is more than a comfortable travelers' refuge in the heart of the city. It was conceived and designed to honor and reflect all of the cultures who have enriched the city and its empires. To stay here is to learn and enjoy the cultures, cuisines, arts and traditions of all the travelers who have come before you.The hotel's 53 guest rooms and suites bring the past to life, with all modern comforts. The swimming pool, Turkish bath, massage spa, cultural library, and museum-quality decorative arts are supplemented with complimentary fine arts musical performances, cuisine demonstrations and cultural events exclusively for hotel guests. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Neorion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing