We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - well worth the price!”
Review of Pembe Cati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pembe Cati
Ranked #332 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel - well worth the price!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of November and were really impressed. The room was much bigger than we expected, and was very clean and bright. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from Taksim Square, which is perfect if you want to explore the city's huge range of shops and nightlife. The staff were extremely friendly, and organised a very reasonable transfer for us to and from the airport. Our room was at the top of the building, and there isn't a lift so there are quite a few steps if you are staying on the third floor like us. However, the manager carried our bags to and from our rooms so we didn't have any problems. The only thing to be aware of is that it does get quite noisy at night, which is understandable given the very central location and isn't the fault of the hotel.

A very enjoyable stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drama, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed 3 days with our children and it was nice. 2' seconts from the Taksim square.Very clean rooms and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Very noisy area due to adjacent, extremely busy street.
Quite small building with no common areas (lobby) and no elevator.
In the room, tv was off, no mirror lamp in the bathroom, available water heater was off.

On the positive side, the room was descent and the staff was very friendly.

I believe that the charge was not on-par with what it really offers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The rooms were not really rooms, more like apartments. Spacious, clean, well equipped and included a functional kitchen. the staff was very helpful and the place is great value for money. Though the best bit about the hotel is its location. Situated right next to Taksim Square it's very well connected and has some great eating joints in its immediate vicinity. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again if we visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CGK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is not your usual hotel. It is actually an apartment building with four flats. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and absolutely LOVED it! We payed 295 euros (about 430 dollars). The place is fantastic: free wifi that works GREAT, there is a large living room with TV, kitchen (though we never used it), small refrigerator, dining area, large bed and a small bathroom. We were on the first floor so it was a little nosiy when people walked up or down the stairs (there is no elevator), but not enough noise to wake us up or disturb us. Also, they cleaned our room daily (which was a nice surprise because since it is more of an apartment than a hotel I didnt expect it). The man who runs the place is very friendly! His English is ok, but anything we asked him about, he was very willing to help us! There is a younger man who we saw in the evenings and early mornings who speaks excellent English. This hotel is located right on Taksim Square. The actual street the hotel is on is a side street (so it is quiet). The buildings that surround this hotel look a little run down and sketchy but we never had any problems or felt in danger even when we came home in the dark. We got lost trying to find this hotel since it is kinda on a funky side street but it is very easy to get to once you know where you are going!
To Get Here: There is a McDonalds in Taksim Square. If you stand in front of it (with your back to McDonalds), you will want to cross that main street and then head left. (Crossing the street here is odd, but just make sure that you are on the same street as McDonalds, but on the opposite side) You will pass 2 or 3 small streets and then make a Right. (Turn right immediately before you start going downhill. ) This street splits-stay to the left. The hotel is on the right. About a 4 min walk from McDonalds!
This hotel is a great place if you want to be in the heart of Taksim Square. Also, it is a very convenient location for transportation to and from both airports in Istanbul. The Havas buses stop right next to McDonalds and run every 30 mins, so the proximity of this hotel to Taksim Square was AMAZING!! We absolutely loved everything about this place and will be staying here whenever we return to Istanbul again!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem fantastic! It looked like the top floor had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yesenia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2011

the location of the hotel is great. near the taksim square and the main street. however, the hotel is located in a relatively quite street (which is good, because the rooms on the front are not that isolated). the room is clean, very spacious and contains everything you need (including little kitchen).
furthermore, the staff is friendly, but only one guy speaks english. Luckily, this guy is almost always around and in need you can always call him.
there was no breakfast available, but it is not hard to get some in the aera or on the streets.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenBarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Retropera Hotel
Retropera Hotel
#27 of 1,047 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,949 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#93 of 1,141 in Istanbul
809 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,277 reviews
Crowne Plaza Istanbul - Oryapark
#212 of 1,141 in Istanbul
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pembe Cati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembe Cati

Property: Pembe Cati
Address: Feridiye Caddesi 16 | Taksim/Beyoglu, Istanbul 34100, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 1,200 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pembe Cati 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel provides easy access to cafés, restaurants and traditional meyhanes that are open until late at night.The popular İstiklal Shopping Street is a 5-minute walk from Hotel Pembe Cati. A 5-minute drive will take guests to many local attractions such as the Istanbul Modern Museum and Galata Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pembe Cati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing