We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, rooms and staff were good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #155 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was a very well located hotel, and overall we had a comfortable stay here. Our room was large, clean and came with all that was required. The staff, although not all of them are fluent in English, we were good, and made sure to tell us about the places to see and things to do. A couple of sights they recommended seeing were definitely superb. Very good hotel overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorchiNohara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 961 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I unfortunately found this hotel at the end of my stay and for the price I was suitably impressed by the size of the room grand furnishings not to mention the food quality. I ordered the lamb in clay tray twice!

Bilas and the rest of the waiters were incredibly friendly attentive and Bilas very entertaining whilst exuding that confident turkish charm
I didn't want to leave and highly recommend this to solo couples or group business travels

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pikaletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is great. You can easily walk to Aya Sofya, Blue Mosque event to the Grand Bazaar if you want to enjoy a short walk. The area of the hotel is surrounded by small and big restaurants and don't forget to visit Sura Kebab House. Breakfast was very rich up to European standards. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with a nice big bed.

The overall design of the hotel is fabulous! From the big entrance, the lobby, to the elevator and the rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gxenakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel was stylish with the latest features of comfort. The rooms were large and luxurious. I stayed in the room on Amber floor which was charming. The atmosphere inside the room displayed sign of elegance. Great Location in the heart of Istanbul. The service was impeccable and prompt. The staff were helpful in caring for all my needs and also helped to arrange a transfer to the airport. The rooms were well equipped with air conditioning. I had a taste of traditional Turkish cuisine at the restaurant that was located in a lovely spot in Old City close to the square. I enjoyed their breakfast that was excellent. In my opinion a great hotel with reasonable prices. I had a pleasant and happy stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonard546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights and loved it! Its walking distance to everything and everywhere. Room size was good, very clean and comfy beds. Breakfast had a nice and tasty variety, and the restaurant was delicious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Ferhat at front desk went out of his way to help us get our lost luggage and Oya is very knowledgable and was of great help to tell us where to go and what to do. We were extremely happy with the staff they were truly very nice people, all of them. The only downside is the bathroom, although its very clean, nice and spacious, theres not much privacy to them. Swing door and not soundproof whats so ever, We had went downstairs to do our business which was kind of annoying. If this was something they
Were able to fix, there would be absolutely no flaw to this hotel what so ever . Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: Corner room was nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

An interesting place located in the heard of “Old City”. It is close to everything, which on that alone makes it worth coming to But it also has great service, comfortable and interestingly decorated rooms and special little extras. Close by is a nice little restaurant called Sura Kebab House where you really need to get the Pride bread. Try to get a room on the right side of the hotel and you can get a view of the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waneta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

One of the things that first drew me to the hotel was its location to the Blue Mosque and Haiga Sophia, not to mention it was literally right around the corner from the tram stop.

Upon arrival, checkin went smoothly and things were going well. The problem I had with the room was that while it looked very nice, it's functionality was somewhat diminished. By that I mean there was no place to put my clothes, other than a few open hangers. There was no chest of drawers to speak of.

The hotel advertised free internet and it worked perfectly well for the first day and a half I was there. Then without warning it completely stops. When I spoke to the front desk about it, they stated that it was a problem in the whole Sultanhamet area. this was the line i was given for a day until I went to the internet cafe around the corner and they were operating normally. When I brought this to the attention to the hotel, they then changed the story to "their servers were down". Why not just say that in the first place? There were also problems with some of the channels on the television in the room.

The staff were somewhat decent and were very good with their dining recommendations.

Would I stay here again? It would not neccessarily be my first choice but it might be okay in a pinch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chaz1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#119 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,396 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,507 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $79 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing