We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sura Design Hotel & Suites Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #109 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sura Design Hotel & Suites Best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Sura Design Hotel & Suites this June and we could not find any better! also booked it with Express2Travel, excellent recommendation! close to everything, even during the latest
Istanbul event we were still able to move around and no problems at all; good recommended hotel;Jamie

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    245
    67
    17
    15
See reviews for
169
361
35
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

First and foremost, follow the advice stipulated by previous reviewers and take a MAP for the hotel location as the taxi driver was oblivious despite having a sat-nav running on his mobile..maybe multi-tasking wasn't his forte?!! Having booked Sura, primarily for its location i can say we weren't disappointed. Having got off to a shaky start as we were provided with a room contrary to what we had requested/confirmed prior to our stay, the issue was rectified the following afternoon (although reluctantly and subsequent to persistent pestering!). In terms of the hotel itself, i have stayed in 5* hotels with a far superior standard in terms of service and this extends to the breakfast also which i didn't bother getting up for following the first morning of our stay. The room was of a standard size and opt for the 'back' room and you will be overlooking the beautiful blue mosque amalgamated with a construction site and opt for the 'front' room and you gain a balcony (although small) and extremely agitated delivery drivers shouting and reversing at odd times during the course of the morning on occasions. I have rated Sura as 'Excellent' primarily for its location as mentioned earlier. Located on a charming and cosy little side street in the heart of Sultanahmet, you can avoid the tourist bustle yet have everything within walking distance if and when you want. It is so convenient, that at times me and my partner would drop by just to 'freshen up' in our room before we trotted off again on our travels! The tram station is on your doorstep so don't even bother haggling with taxi rates as we found this to be the ideal way to travel like most city breaks and don't be reluctant in requesting a 'tram map' from any station for those of you who like to be organised before you plan any excursions. For those of you (like myself) are in a sheer panic about the ongoing protests in Taksim Square, as residents in Sultanahmet we were not affected although it did impact on the tram system on a few occasions. Istanbul is one of the most beautiful cities in the world to visit and the location of Sura enhanced our stay on this occasion for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globe_Trotters9612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Sultanahmet, and Sura Hotel is in a great location 5 minute walk from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. The hotel is located on a small street with lots of restaurants. You can also walk to the tram in two minutes or so. The hotel is very convenient.

Sura has fancy, swanky rooms and a nice lobby with horse statues. The room's bathroom does not have a lock; there are mini blinds in the bathroom, and you can pull it up to see into bedroom. Therefore, there's not much privacy and it's not sound proof. It maybe awkward if you are not very close to your rommate. The rain shower has a slight delay in temperature change so you may have hotter/colder water than intended. The free internet can be unstable at times.

Overall, I highly recommend Sura Hotel as it is perfectly located, and it has nice room decor. Whenever I'm in Sultanahmet again, I will definitely book Sura Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trojanlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with two kids. Highly recommended. Only 2 min to Basilica Cistern, 5 min to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia and 7-10 min walk to the grand bazaar and also Topkapi Palace. It was very centrally located. Your top sites are within short walking distance. Breakfast was great, buffet style, it is not holiday inn's breakfast. Pastries, cold cuts, cereal, made to order omelette, all sorts of fruits and much more. Room we stayed was very clean, nicely decorated, and had a little balcony. (we didn't ask for it--but each room seem to come with it. ) Staff were very nice and helpful. I asked them to order cab back to the airport, and I don't know what they said to the driver, but I didn't get ripped off by the driver! It only cost 45 TL. It was amazing! If and when I come back to Istanbul, I will stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Each floor has a different theme, so pick what you like. I got amber floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Istanbul is (for a Dane) big - abt. 15 mill. inhabitants. The center of Istanbul is the Taxim square, but we chose the historic Sultanameth quarter where we stayed in the Sura Hotel. The hotel is located in a small street (all streets are small in Sultanameth) and from the hotel we were only minutes away from all the big sights - The Blue Mosque - Topkapi Palace- Hakia Sophia - The Grand bazar a.o. The sura Hotel is elegant with 4 floors in 4 different colors. The restaurant is worth a visit, in my opinion better than the other restaurants in the street. The rooms are facing either the back yard and includes a small balcony, or the street with only a french balcony. We stayed in a room facing the back yard, but next time we'll choose a room on the 4th floor (the interior is held in Silver shades).
Now to the service from the staff - it was fantastic! We left the hotel on May 1st for embarking a cruise ship on the other side of the Galata bridge. It's only a 15 minutes taxi ride under normal conditions - BUT it was May 1st with demonstrations on the Taxim square, so all bridges were up, no way to reach our ship. Her the hotel really was our rescue. A young guy from the staff followed us down to the harbour where he after much trouble found a small boat that would sail us over to our cruise ship.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back yard is quieter, but the view could be better. If you stay at the front, choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogens B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in both the Sultanamet and the other side of the city and liked this side better. This hotel was well located on a cute side street and nearby to all the big sights. However, the rooms were so small. Pillows lumpy. Nice breakfast however, but not included. Would try a few other hotels nearby next time as this is certainly convenient.

Room Tip: Perhaps you wouldn't stay here for starters. However, if the size is not an issue (bathrooms sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfoshila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights in May.
Pros -
- Great location - very touristy and very convenient. Tram almost at door steps. Blue Mosque is just 5 mins walk.
- Clean hotel, clean and comfortable room.
- Service is good.

Cons -
- Room was comfortable but missing a few amenities that you would expect in a 5*.

I would recommend this hotel if price is right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerSANStourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hagia Sophia Hotel Istanbul Old City
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Property: Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing