We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OTT Decor but so convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Ranked #152 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Located on a quiet back street within easy walking distance of major attractions eg Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, this hotel is deal for tourists. Staff are not terribly friendly but the place is clean and modern. Rooms are comfortable and appropriately furnished with comfortable beds but the decor is quite over the top, glitzy and tacky. Really though, who cares about this when you are out all day and only sleep in the room. We thought it perfect for our purpose, a five day break in a wonderful city.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are above the restaurant and might be noisy in the early to middle evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (959)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 959 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nestled on a quiet back street, but is also set in a perfect location for exploring the main attractions of this amazing city. Rooms were nicely decorated, very clean and well appointed, with the service being at all times polite and friendly. Overall a very enjoyable stay! Quick tip, make sure you have the hotels address and telephone number to hand, as all the taxi drivers seem to struggle to find the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sartyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The location is perfect: a few steps from the major point of interest of the city but in a very quite and small street. The style of the hotel is particular but very nice, cleanness is very good both in common areas and in the rooms. The staff was very efficient even if maybe not that much friendly: however we were a quite large group of friend who stayed there for 5 days and all our requests were satisfied. The breakfast buffet was having a good choice and quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brambis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had booked three rooms four months in advance with a detailed email reservation confirmation from Sura and had received various standard hospitality emails in the weeks up to our arrival. Nevertheless, when arriving for check-in the receptionist informed us impolitely that our reservation had been cancelled due to overbooking and that they could not help us arranging alternative accommodation. Our strong dissatisfaction did not change this attitude at all, and we had to find another accommodation on our own, which was troublesome on a May Friday afternoon. We met other frustrated hotel guests in Sura’s reception, who had also been denied rooms despite having similar booking reservations. Despite being frequent travelers we have never experienced such unprofessional and horrible service from a high profile hotel operator, and do strongly recommend to choose another hotel in Istanbul.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
8  Thank CphHenrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived on a Friday night with a printed email confirmation of our booking made months in advance. Nevertheless the staff dismissed us claiming that an email was sent to us a week ago cancelling our reservation. (Obviously,we never received such email and don't believe it was ever sent). The staff was completely unwilling to help us find another hotel and almost tried to ignore our presence in the lobby. Eventually we managed to find another hotel ourselves (but this was both difficult and stressful on a Friday night in Istanbul). Our advise: Avoid SURA. They have no integrity or sense of service and honesty!

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
8  Thank CarstenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dreamop
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here in April ...Good room, good staff, Great location..will be going back. The staff were very helpfull and very polite...Very quiet and private rooms. The view from the great balcony was great. The location was excellent with everything in walking distance from the hotel.
The bathroom in the room is very private...The safe is situated in a brillient possition and very easy to access. Recommend this hotel for the older folks amongst us as everything is very well situated.

Room Tip: Street view..excellent view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgeo560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#119 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,396 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,501 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sura Design Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sura Design Hotel & Suites

Address: Divanyolu Cad. Alemdar Mah. Ticarethane Sok. No:45, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $79 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sura Design Hotel & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sura Hotel is located in the Sultanahmet district,which still protects their authentic historical beauty all through the challenging years.The 60 innovative designed rooms and suites,welcomes you with the latest features in comfort and style for our guest's. Each place reflects fresh and contemporary style.This pure luxury hotel allows its guests a chance to discover the glorious historical places such as Topkapi Palace,Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sura Design Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing