We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$180
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$155
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$515
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$120
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$237
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,048)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
649
269
79
22
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
269
79
22
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagia sophiablue mosquesister hotelold citygrand bazaargarden viewturkeyperfect locationwalking distancehotel is beautifulsmall streetbasilica cisterntram stationmajor attractionshouse keepingbreakfast buffetspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel has a splendid decoration and layout, and the room makes people conformtatble! and the location is good, the transportation is convinient! the foods is delicious and have multi choice! if i have chance to go istanbul again, i will still live in here!

Room Tip: Hiher floors have the best sights!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

it is very nice hotel,very nice roon,and nice color matching,it will be the first choose for my vaction.i like it

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tina z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This could easily be a rockstar option. Big rooms, overblown decor, the place simply beams with quality.

Its' location is perfect for Sultanahmet. Situated on a nice quiet sidestreet from the convenient tram-road and Sultanahmet tramway stop. The sidestreet I mention is one of the quietest and nicest in the whole old district.

We requested a room specifically facing that street, not the garden. And I think we made the right choice. While I don't think the smoke/smell coming from the chimneys in the garden side, that so many reviews mention, is that of a big deal, I also don't think that the balcony, artificial lawn and unspectacular views fully justify the higher price of these rooms.

I suspect that the garden-facing rooms at the upper attic floors, positioned on the left side might have problems with noise coming from the massive airconditioning systems/generators which are just above.

We were staying in our 'amber' 1st/2nd floor rooms, one floor up from the lobby/restaurant. And had a views to some very important building, patrolled by easygoing guards, who even suggested joining them for a cup of Turkish tea one evening when I went out for a smoke.

You definitely get a lot of envy points from the passers-by, who stare jealously and nod their heads making common remarks like "bella pensione!"

Back to our room... The only problem we had with it is the constant mysterious noise of moving furniture. It couldn't have come from the rooms above because of the carpeted floors, so at first we suspected it comes from the hotel's own cafe/restaurant below. But soon we learned that couldn't be the case either, as cafe and restaurant are being closed at ~23:00 and the noise continues up to 1AM on some nights.

The staff were trying to look into it, though to no avail. Soon we realised the noise comes from another building glued to the hotel. It has a nice Khorasani restaurant on lower floors and some rooms of unidentifiable purpose above. The sound must've come from there... It wasn't superbad, but I'm noise-sensitive and could definitely have lived without it. So my suggestion is - ask for a room that is NOT on the far left (facing the hotel).

Moving back to the rockstar subject... The breakfast is not exactly a star material. The scrambled eggs are bland, the coffee is instant(!) and the artificial orange juice is made from an orange juice powder mixture. What a disappointment. All this in Istanbul, famous for its' Turk Kahvesi (Turkish coffee) and fresh juice makers on every corner. If you invest in your rooms and brilliant staff, why not invest just a tiny bit more in your food?

We went to the lovely closely located Cigdem Pastanesi for simits, coffee and borek.

Speaking about food, the restaurant food is OK, but just OK. Guys, listen, the kofte was tasty, but it was written 'mini-meatballs' - in plural - and you brought just one meatball (for 10 liras!) 4-5 euro for a single meatball, seriously?

Now the staff. The managers and bellhops were brilliant, professional and helpful. Though trying to sell someone a map for the price of a meatball is not the way to greet your guests. Drop this move, fellas. It doesn't look good. I mean, I get it - you thrive on wealthy numb-from-their-wealth German tourists, but that's not an excuse to push a 10-lira map that most hotels give for free.

In everything else you were awesome. And there was no confusing lost-in-translation issues that I've read about in the previous reviews. This is one of the most professionally run hotels I've ever come across.

Time to review the housekeepers. First of all, they could realise that 'do not disturb' on one door doesn't just mean 'do not enter this room', but it also means don't make tons of noise while cleaning a room next door.

I recommend everyone leaving a tip each morning, because when we didn't our soap and tea wasn't restocked and the teacups were gone! One day the soap-bar we were currently using was gone too. Naturally, we nicknamed our mysterious houskeeper The Soap Nazi, obviously after Seinfeld's 'Soup Nazi'. No soap for you! :-)

In conclusion, awesome hotel, number 1 option for Sultanahmet, affordable (if you know where to look --> Splendia.com), great staff, excellent location... and it will make you feel like a sultan. If you'll get your soap, and the orange juice on the next corner. Just kidding. Almost.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
We will surely take care of your review.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston
14
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Perfect location! The Blue Mosque, the Topkapi Palace and Aya Sophia are right outside. The Metro is very close, too. You can just step outside the door and can enjoy old Istanbul, but at the same time, the hotel is quiet. The hotel itself is beautiful and was kept clean and is maintained meticulously. Not one trace of dirt on the many mirrors or glass surfaces. The hotel offers organic milk for breakfast and the restaurant serves organic meat. Service was friendly and helpful.
Note that the larger rooms are depicted in the photos. The cheapest rooms are rather small. Internet was at times slow but the hotel is new and I hope that will still be fixed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The decor on the walls of this rest were or actual wooden doors from homes during the Ottoman war times! It's amazing to see such historical artifacts. The food was delicious and the service...sensational! I'd def recommend the rice w lamb, yogurt döner, and the halva ice cream for desert!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natashanoghl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sura H, General Manager at Sura Design Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

dear guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your review which gives us a great opportunity to improve us.
I look forward to seeing you here in Sura Hotel soon again.
Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews