We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean friendly hostel”
Review of Bada Bing Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bada Bing Hostel
Ranked #95 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed in the 8 bed female dorm. I have stayed in a number of hostels and is was by far the largest with massive lockers underneath the beds and a massive bathroom. There are 3 toilets and 2 showers in the same block which is shared by male & female but there are certain hours which is female only. There is ac &fan! The staff are exemely friendly, laidback and help give the place a really nice feel. Location is great .. Just a few minutes walk from galata bridge and 10 mins to main street. Seems to be younger type travellers here.. Mostly under 35 i think. There are pub crawls if you want and the staff seem to be happy to just have a chat and relax with you. The only issue was the wi-fi didn't work anywhere except the lobby. Also breakfast is just cereal and some dried fruits (but the food on the streets is so cheap anyway). Music is usually playing til about 12pm and people seem to be talking so don't expect to be sleeping too early.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie555k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 221 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The extremely helpful and accommodating staff more than exceeded our expectations. Our original plan of 3 day stay was extended to 6 days because of the great time we had in Istanbul and the people we met within this hostel. Facilities are new and kept clean, enjoyed the shared kitchen as I could not get enough of the local cheap strawberries.

Breakfast on the rooftop and pregame in the lounge area made sure you met people from all over the world. The location is key too, loved the small charismatic coffee shop next door, not to mention the hip bar that just opened also down the street. Istiklal street is a short walk away as is everything else. Would highly recommended here.

Loved this hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not the best hostel I've stayed at, but staff is friendly and eager to help/offer suggestions for anything you ask. Secure building, good for solo travellers. Dorm Rooms are clean and basic, we also stayed 2 nights in a suite which was very nice, however wifi did not work and room was not serviced during our 2 days there as promised. They took 2 days to finish our laundry. Staff seemed disorganized with billing/assigning rooms at times. Breakfast was the worst we had in turkey only cereal, yogurt and raisins offered along with tea/coffee. Overall we were satisfied as the staff did do their best to help/accommodate us. Could be easily improved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fac767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is the perfect hostel in the perfect location for the social yet sophisticated traveler. You can walk to both the touristy old city and the party-friendly Taksim, yet the Hostel is on a quiet street with the most picturesque coffee shop on the corner. The staff arranges bar crawls every night, and there is a rooftop lounge and bar. Met so many fun people here. Quite possibly my favorite hostel yet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was in bada bing hostel in March 2013 for 4 days. The hostel is very good located close to Galata tower, in walking distance to Taksim and sulthanamet and very close to the boat and tram stations. I was there with a girl friend and we never felt unsafe. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathroom too (but somehow, there is never enough toilet paper there). The staff was very helpful and friendly and you get a nice introduction about Istanbul when you arrive and good tips to find good food!!
When I was there, they were building the reception new, so the place was kind of a construction area, but I assume that they will have an beautiful reception for the high season!

Room Tip: I was in a dorm, the dorms are nice, but if it's full, it can get very small, so I yould prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Been here in Nov 2012, for 5 nights in DBL room with shared bathroom.
The hostel is fine. Good position because it is near to Sultanhamet / Fatih but also to Istiklal Caddesi and it's nearby area. Moreover it is easy to reach the Asian part of Istanbul (Karakoy or Uskudar) by Boat (3 mins form the Hostel).
Despite this it is not very clean and the breakfast is terrible.
Very good prices and the persons inside are helpful and really kind.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you look at a map, it looks like this place may be a litte out of the way. but that's not true. It's right on the metro line in Istanbul Modern, just across the Galata Bridge. It's a 20 minute walk to Hagia Sofia/Blue Mosque, 10 minutes to the Spice Bazaar, and about 10 minutes up the hill to Galata Tower (great panoramas of the city!) and on to Taksim Square. The staff were incredibly informative and helpful, and the people I met there from all over the world are excellent! I'm glad I took a chance on Bada Bing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Portus House
Portus House
#15 of 1,260 in Istanbul
421 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,260 in Istanbul
944 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,260 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,177 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#875 of 1,178 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#71 of 1,178 in Istanbul
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bada Bing Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bada Bing Hostel

Address: Kemer Alti Cad. Serce Sok. No:11 Karakoy, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34425, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bada Bing's neighborhood is an up-and-coming area that gives travelers the best of both worlds: a central location that inspires effortless travel to Istanbul’s most worthy destinations. Its strategic locale is within walking distance of the real, modern, buzzing district of Taksim, and the awe-inspiring historical district of Sultanahmet. But if you want to sleep away from the overwhelm of Taksim’s nightlife and Sultanahmet’s hiked-up tourist prices, Bada Bing’s neighborhood is right for you. Wherever you choose to go on a given day, your journey will start in the heart of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bada Bing Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing