We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business, poor for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
Ranked #116 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

General points first. The rooms are excellent, spacious and well laid out. Nice bathroom too. The pool and spa are excellent; the pool is fairly large and very pleasant, as too is the sauna and steam room. The spa treatments are good, I had a very thorough and relaxing massage in a nice environment. Good gym. The whole leisure area is up-market, pleasant and well put together.

The top floor bar is great - interesting layout and lighting, a balcony for when the weather is nice and interesting food. The food is only small dishes. I had a modern version of mezze which was seven small portions, all delicious. Can't comment on the restaurant as I did not eat there but it looked fine. I did not feel the menu was particularly Turkish/Mediterranean even though that is the claimed style.

The building is rather brutal architecturally, in a style reminisent of new brutalism prevailant in the late 1960s. The furniture and style in the lobby and adjoining areas did not fit together; can't quite put my finger on it but seemed to be a variety of things thrown together rather than a coherent approach.

It is an excellent hotel for someone travelling on business assuming the locations suits where you will be visiting. However, for the tourist, particularly for the first few times in Istambul when you are still soaking up the historic centre, it is poorly located. You could walk to the metro station but it is along uninteresting streets and up and down hills. By metro I would have to allow about an hour to the centre and probably the same by taxi.

One evening I asked where I could find some bars and restaurants and was directed to an area where I was told there would be lots. It was a selection of grim cafes and tacky looking restaurants and not where I, or most people staying at such a hotel, would willingly choose to eat dinner. Maybe I missed the good places but I had walked for over 20 minutes and there were no sign of any. Contrast this to a city centre hotel where there would be many interesting places to select from.

So, for business in the surrounding area a excellent choice but for holiday tourism avoid even if like me you got a very cheap promotional rate - the location is isolated and poor for the tourist.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Greenpan,

We were delighted to read your positive comments on our rooms, our roof top bar BOAZ, the treatments you received at Explore SPA and gym. It is a pleasure to read that you have been pampered with the many different services we offer to our guests.

Your reference to the architectural characteristics of our property is perceieved as another compliment by us. Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler is set to become a landmark property as an iconic building bringing the comtemporary together with its surroundings.

As you have kindly mentioned, our hotel is ideally located nearby the business hub of Istanbul and the lovely bosphorus districts where our visitors have an opportunity to also explore more of the sophisticated and hidden treasures of our city. We were saddened to realize, however, that we have failed to provide you with a better understanding of our surrounding areas.

In this light, we very much look forward to your next visit and for the opportunity to provide you with an inspring experience.


With warmest regards,

Elif Aydinligil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 586 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Modern design, comfortable rooms and upper class breakfast buffet is making difference. Last time i stayed in a room with balcony, which has a wonderful view. Bedding standarts are suits to my preferences.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okankm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, General Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and comfort of our rooms and F&B services were up to expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you at your favourite place in Istanbul soon,

Warm Regards,

Sabine Dorn Aglagul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Check in was fast and efficient, and the overall look of the hotel was very impressive (although you have to go through a scanner when you enter!). The location of the hotel is out of the way and not somewhere a tourist should consider as, taking into account the massive traffic congestion that you would expose yourself too you would be at the whim of the traffic to get around to see the sites. The room was impressive (one on the executive floor) which at first glance had all the nice things that you would expect. Accept for slippers ! now I just thought this was a oversight by the cleaning crew but even when I mentioned this to the staff at reception none appeared in the room. As I have said he room was very attractive and the shower (good shower pressure) and the toilet facility's separate to the main bathroom which was a nice touch. One annoying point and that is the basin in relation to the mirror is at odds so when you are caving a shave you cannot look directly into the mirror. Now there is a small shaving mirror that has a back light but for me that was more of a gimmick rather than one that I would use. Turn down service was poor with not enough care taken, curtains left askew etc. Couple of nice touches, free complimentary water in the room and you could turn off all the lights using a single switch by the bedside. The gym area seemed fully stocked with workout machines and my college said that the spa was one of the best she experienced. The swimming pool area was nice and well heated and there was a jacuzzi next to the main pool which was nice a big. There is a executive lounge area which was quite good but very small, there was seating upstairs and food downstairs. Not worth the extra €30 per night in my opinion but each to their own. There is bit of a trendy bar on the top floor offering ''bar'' snacks which again in my opinion was not worth the money that said it is worth taking a trip up to visit it. Constant theme within the hotel and that it had low mood lighting throughout. Overall a good acceptable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the detailed feedback you have provided regarding your stay. We very much appreciate your positive comments on our rooms, hotel, Explore SPA and gym facilities.

As the Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler team we strive to deliver an excellent experience for our guests and in this light were saddened to realize that, overall, we were not able to provide you with an exceptional impression. Since we offer two pairs of slippers in each guest room, we were especially alarmed to read that this had been an issue during your stay and would like to sincerely apologize for this inconvenience.

We perceive your valuable feedback as a further opportunity to reassess our services and would like to express our gratıtude for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Warm greetings from your Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler family,

Elif Aydinligil
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Le Meridian Istanbul Etiler, simply one of the best 5 stars hotels I’ve ever been, forget the elegant new building, forget the astonishing stylish decoration and furniture in and outside of the lobby area and or rooms, forget the amazing breath taking views surrounding the hotel, forget the amazing taste of food, and just enjoy the indulging and king like handling by the entire courteous classy staff and workers. One word “Unbelievable”
From the moment you arrive, till the moment you leave, you feel that you are the only customer in the entire hotel “which is definitely NOT”. Everything at the tip of your finger, it’s a buzz away, a call away. And BINGO it’s there for you.
Value to service?
Just don’t tell them, Sssssssssssshhhhhhhh. Unbelievably AWESOME
Will go there again that’s for sure, but I’ll recommend this hotel for anybody, single, couple, family and or businessmen. One size, fits all. Guaranteed

Special thanks to the Management who made all the above a living reality

Room Tip: Go higher, been on the 23RD floor on the Bosphorus side, stunning view, day and night. If you want...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houssein A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, General Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

We would like to thank you on behalf of our Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler team for your heartfelt comments and your acknowledgment of our services. Your review has been a source of pride and inspiration to each and every one of us.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Sabine Dorn Aglagul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I strongly recommend this amazing hotel! I'm coming to Istanbul since many years and for me this hotel is clearly the no. one! Great service, fantastic accommodation (I had a very spacious, very nice residential suite), nice club lounge, good bar.
If you come to Istanbul and your budget allows this hotel: book it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_pb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Thomas,

We truly enjoyed reading your lovely comments on our service, rooms, club lounge and bar. Your review has been promptly shared with our Le Méridien Istanbul team and is much appreciated.
We look forward to hosting you many more times in the future.

Warmest wishes,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just stayed at the Le Meridien for 5 nights and I have nothing but great things to say. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The hotel is clean and modern. We had a residential suite, which was very spacious and the view was amazing. The indoor pool/spa area is very relaxing. I ate in the restaurant once for breakfast which was ok for the price.

I know the location is a hot topic, so let me say if you plan on going in and out of Taksim a few times a day it can get expensive. Some of the taxi drivers seemed to take us out of our way to get to the Metro, so the price of the cab varied from 10TL to 30TL. We planned to go to dinner with friends a few times, but once we got back to the hotel, going back out just seemed to be too much of a hassle so we stayed in. Also, the Metro stops running at midnight so you are stuck with paying for cab rides to and from Taksim if you are planning on being out enjoying the nightlife.

We didn't explore the local area much, so I can not comment. Overall, I would say great hotel for seeing all the sights of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors so you can experience the view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feelinbeachy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Istanbul to the windy city!
We were delighted to read that you had a memorable stay with us.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and best wishes,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This would be my first choice hotel in Istanbul. There are lots of comments about location on here and honestly the hotel isnt central but you have to travel long and hard to get anywhere in istanbul so dont let that put you off.
I found the location well sited as its away from the hustle and bustle, its also very close to Bebek which is full of restaurants, bars and not to mention on the banks of the Bosphorus.
The hotel is great, modern well equipped and could easily stand its own in a much more cosmopolitan environment. rooftop bars, choice of restaurants, and great gym and leisure facilities.
You´ll be hard pushed to get the same value for money somewhere else in istanbul

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LM-Istanbul-Etiler, Guest Relations Manager at Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Mark W,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

As you have kindly mentioned, Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler stands out as an exciting new destination where our guests could explore and enjoy the alluring landmarks in the surrounding areas of our hotel. Indeed, Le Méridien’s proximity to the chic Bosphorus districts, the leading business, commercial and high-class shopping centers provides our guests with a new perspective of this inspiring city. In this respect, we truly appreciated your review and were very happy that you had the possibility to experience the many facilities our hotel offers.

We will continue to do our very best to be your first choice in Istanbul.

Warmest regards,

Elif Aydınlıgil
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Levent
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
Movenpick Hotel Istanbul
#98 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,200 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Levent
#78 of 1,159 in Istanbul
504 reviews
Besiktas
Hyatt Centric Levent Istanbul
Hyatt Centric Levent Istanbul
#256 of 1,159 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
Istanbul Marriott Hotel Sisli
#74 of 1,159 in Istanbul
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler

Address: Cengiz Topel Cad. No:39 Etiler, Besiktas, Istanbul 34337, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $119 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler 5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising 34 stories in Istanbul’s prestigious Etiler district, Le Méridien Istanbul Etiler will be one of the city’s most impressive contemporary landmarks. Featuring a modern design with panoramic views of the Bosphorous and the city, the hotel is conveniently located along the TEM Motorway and Fatih Sultan Mehmet Bridge. 259 rooms including 18 Residential Suites of sophistication and elegance with floor-to-ceiling windows that frame breathtaking views of the cityscape and Bosphorus. A club lounge on the 14th floor provides comfort and luxury. Hotel's restaurant promises the ultimate dining and the Roof Bar puts you on top of Istanbul. Seven stylish meeting rooms, two VIP boardrooms and a Ballroom with private foyer feature among Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler's more than 2000 square metres of conference space. For contemplation and vitalization the Explore SPA & Fitness with Steam Rooms, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Hammam and 8 treatment rooms as well as an Indoor & Heated Outdoor pool are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Istanbul Etiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing