We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice experience”

Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora
Ranked #950 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“very nice experience”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I traveled with my husband and 2 kids and decided to stay in Holiday in Express in April 2012. Hotel is new and clean, room big and staff is wonderful . Location could be an issue if you want to use public transport .Overall great experience and highly recommended especially if you do not speak the language. Staff is very helpful and extremely nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I travelled with my wife and decided to stay in this newly open hotel for seven days. Location is just a half way between the airport and city center. The hotel is part of new Ora multipupose center in Bayrampase area. Very hard to reach by foot or by public transportation. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Cleaning is lousy. Breakfast is ok but boreing if you stay longer. The staff is nice but English is poor. My feelings are mix. Some are positive and some very negative but I hope they will fix it by time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear kulinban,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. I'm deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Travellers should be aware that hotel asked for a TR 100 refundable deposit at the time of check in. Hotel staff are very quick to take the deposit but do not have the clue ,how to refund it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Shahid T,

Thank you for your comments. Holiday Inn's , like many other hotels, hold a deposit for incidentals when you check in. The deposit is not a charge. upon check out it is released. The issuing bank/credit card company governs the release of an authorization hold, and the release time varies according to each company’s individual policies. Some banks recommend against the use of a debit card for travel purposes, as this practice is common within the travel industry. If you would like further information regarding your bank’s individual policies, please contact them directly.

Thank you,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCarec
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel is only about a month or two old, so cab drivers don't have any clue what you're talking about when you ask them to take you there. My recommendation is to take the metro to Otaturk and then walk from there. It's a weird walk (up this path that's not a road and difficult to find that takes you to the highway. Once at the highway, make a right and walk straight to the hotel), and probably uncomfortable if you have a lot of bags, but it's only about 15 minutes. Getting there, we took a cab, and leaving, we walked to Otaturk and took the metro, and I much preferred the second option.

The actual hotel is nice, very new, as I said. The staff is extremely nice. There's no free wifi, which always annoys me. There is, however, a free breakfast which was quite good. The rooms are nice. My friend turned on the teapot and that caused the entire room to lose power (although it was quickly fixed)...so there's that.

Seems like they have some kinks to work out, but if you're just staying here as a place to rest before going to the airport, it's a good spot. If you're visiting Istanbul for a longer period of time, you should stay in the Sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AS251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

New hotel, clean, staff is helpful, breakfast is free, reasonably quiet BUT:
1. Traffic in all of Istanbul is horrific. This hotel is close to, but not exactly right against, Ataturk Airport, so give yourself an extra 30 minutes in case of traffic. This is no joke - we used this as a jumping off point to get out of the center of the city, and it still took 30 minutes to get to Ataturk with moderate traffic. Cost is about US$20. It can take longer if traffic is bad, which happens frequently.
2. No shuttle, so you need to order a cab in advance. The Holiday Inn, on the other hand, does have a shuttle, but is more expensive and no free breakfast.
3. Unlike any other Holiday Inn Express I've stayed at, there is no free wireless. You get 15 minutes of free internet in the lobby, which was useless for airline check-in because of a slow connection and firewalls that don't allow the airline's website to work properly.
4. VERY IMPORTANT: Clearly write down the FULL name of the hotel (Holiday Inn EXPRESS) and the address and give it to the taxi driver. Try your best to explain that is NOT the Holiday Inn. Despite doing this, we still got taken to the Holiday Inn, and then had to pay extra to be schlepped over to the Express. The taxi drivers tend to glance at addresses and then wave off any other explanations, so you need to be a bit of a pain and make sure they understand it's the new Express, and not the older regular Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slavaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#325 of 1,156 in Istanbul
601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wish More Hotel Istanbul
Wish More Hotel Istanbul
#244 of 1,156 in Istanbul
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Crowne Plaza Istanbul Ora
#814 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Titanic Business Bayrampasa
Titanic Business Bayrampasa
#178 of 1,156 in Istanbul
614 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Bayrampasa
0.3 mi away
Lionel Hotel
Lionel Hotel
#248 of 1,156 in Istanbul
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora

Property: Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora
Address: Altintepsi Mahallesi, Ciftlik Cad. 5, Istanbul 34035, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Istanbul-Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing