We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic low-cost, friendly, safe hotel close to tourist sites”
Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #214 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Minel hotel is a great place to stay if you’re on a budget. It offers fantastic value for money.

Location: It is located down a quiet side street just a 2 minute walk from the tram and only 5 minute’s walk from Topkapi Palace, the blue mosque etc. I stayed here for six nights alone (female) and felt very safe.

Staff: The staff are very kind and helpful, especially the housekeeper and Irfan who speaks brilliant English. Irfan generously let me use their phone for a few minutes to ring my family and he printed my ticket for Topkapi Palace.

Food: Free coffee and tea was on offer any time of the day downstairs and on the tables outdoors. I really looked forward to the breakfast each day as it was delicious with lots of different Turkish specialities.

Bedroom: My bedroom was small, but clean, functional and colourful and had decent air-conditioning. It had a spacious bathroom with a brilliant shower (plenty of hot water, good pressure, and decent size). I slept really well every night as the bed was not too hard and it had good bedding. The walls are quite thin so I did get some noise from next door and from the staircase - but not too bad.

This hotel represents fantastic value for money. I would happily stay there again and highly recommend it for people looking for a low cost, safe, clean and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Minel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 498 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is by far the best place we have ever stayed! The rooms are small but very very clean. In fact the whole hotel is extremely clean! Maria the housekeeper and breakfast cook is amazing at what she does. We had a delicious fresh hot breakfast every morning! Irfan the hotel manager was very kind, friendly, and always willing to help. Upon arrival he gave us a map, pointed out where we were and told us how to get to the various popular attractions (all located within walking distance). He was also willing to answer any questions we had throughout the week we were there. Irfan and Mevult were always willing to make a cup of tea or coffee upon your arrival, or anytime you wanted it. Overall our experience was wonderful and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kleekamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Do not stay at Minel if you have any trouble with stairs. Or friendly cats. Otherwise Minel is central & easy to get to uphill from Gulhane tramway station, 3 minute's walk. Efan is helpful with anything even fixing Rollerblades. Maria is the do everything else mama. She cooks a terrific breakfast & cleans your room spick & span & gives you hugs to send you out into the crowds in Istanbul.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank longbich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was one of the best places I ever stayed. The Hotel is very nice, very well situated, the rooms are very clean, with air conditioning and all the conditions you may need.
The staff is amazing - I was always invited to drink a cofee or a tea when arriving. Cakes, fresh water. etc... The breakfast is also very nice and with big variety. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that want to visit istambul. It is much better than other 4 or 5 Stars that I used. Congratulations for the reward. Very well deserved.
Regards!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis71Barata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Minel Hotel is very well located, in a quiet street near to Blue Mosque, Sainte-Sophie, Topkapi Palace, and tram stop.
Staff is very friendly and always ready to help. Rooms are rather small but well organized.
Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Minel Hotel for 10 days from 12-21 June. You can't do better for budget accommodation. The location is perfect, you are walking distance from all the main attractions and the tram is around the corner. The ticketing system is great, it was very easy to get anywhere I wanted to go. The staff at Minel are all very welcoming especially Irfan who always does his best to make sure the guests enjoy their stay. The breakfast was always fantastic. Irfan and Zara the cat really made Minel a home away from home. Would recommend highly for solo travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisawor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Minel from 9-13 July and were very pleased with our choice. It is close to the topmost attractions in Istanbul, a mere 3-5 minutes walk to the Archaeological Museum, the Aya (Hagia) Sofia, the Topkapi Palace, Sultanahmet Square and the Blue mosque. Gulhane Tram Station and one other (I forget the name) are also within this radius, as are numerous eateries, bureaux de change and the starting point for the Big Bus Co. The sea is not much farther away, still well within walking distance (which makes it easy to do a Bosphorus tour). You also feel very safe, with the police post only some 2-3 minutes away.

Irfan (the young manager) is excellent company and very helpful. He hands you an annotated map on arrival and will patiently answer any questions or make you a free cuppa whenever you want one. We had to leave our heavy bags behind while catching a domestic (minimal baggage) flight for Izmir (for the Ephesus excavations) and Irfan kindly brought our bags over to Ataturk Airport when we returned from Izmir, on our way out of Turkey. Really helpful.

Minel's buffet breakfast has a good spread of fruits, salads, cheeses, yogurt, breads and meats. However, it goes cold very quickly (because of a large fan), so it's best to get there at 8:00, as soon as breakfast is ready.

We would certainly stay at Minel again if we returned to Istanbul and recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidK024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#518 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#113 of 1,159 in Istanbul
341 reviews
Sultanahmet
YenI Hotel
YenI Hotel
#390 of 1,159 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Anadolu Hotel
Anadolu Hotel
#384 of 1,159 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#581 of 1,159 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,043 of 1,159 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $34 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing