We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at Minel Hotel for 10 days from 12-21 June. You can't do better for budget accommodation. The location is perfect, you are walking distance from all the main attractions and the tram is around the corner. The ticketing system is great, it was very easy to get anywhere I wanted to go. The staff at Minel are all very welcoming especially Irfan who always does his best to make sure the guests enjoy their stay. The breakfast was always fantastic. Irfan and Zara the cat really made Minel a home away from home. Would recommend highly for solo travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisawor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    130
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
208
68
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kumasi, Ghana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Minel from 9-13 July and were very pleased with our choice. It is close to the topmost attractions in Istanbul, a mere 3-5 minutes walk to the Archaeological Museum, the Aya (Hagia) Sofia, the Topkapi Palace, Sultanahmet Square and the Blue mosque. Gulhane Tram Station and one other (I forget the name) are also within this radius, as are numerous eateries, bureaux de change and the starting point for the Big Bus Co. The sea is not much farther away, still well within walking distance (which makes it easy to do a Bosphorus tour). You also feel very safe, with the police post only some 2-3 minutes away.

Irfan (the young manager) is excellent company and very helpful. He hands you an annotated map on arrival and will patiently answer any questions or make you a free cuppa whenever you want one. We had to leave our heavy bags behind while catching a domestic (minimal baggage) flight for Izmir (for the Ephesus excavations) and Irfan kindly brought our bags over to Ataturk Airport when we returned from Izmir, on our way out of Turkey. Really helpful.

Minel's buffet breakfast has a good spread of fruits, salads, cheeses, yogurt, breads and meats. However, it goes cold very quickly (because of a large fan), so it's best to get there at 8:00, as soon as breakfast is ready.

We would certainly stay at Minel again if we returned to Istanbul and recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidK024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

You really couldn't do better for a budget accommodation. The location is perfect, right in the heart of the old part of the city where all the main attractions are. Do stay in the old city, it is certainly worth it to get the real feel of ancient Istanbul. If you get tired at the end of the day or want to venture further afield, the tram is also around the corner and is simple to negotiate. We used the tram exclusively (besides walking) and found them easy to understand, very frequently and a simple ticketing system.

The hotel is budget but the rooms are clean and you have free wi-fi in the rooms and breakfast is included which was quite decent. You can also get tea or coffee in the reception room any time of the day complimentary. One of the hotel reception guys speaks really good English which was helpful. He also gave us a good map, showed the attractions and had another sheet showing the opening times and closed days for them which is handy.

Would recommend highly for a good budget hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ozallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights. It became a home away from home where all of us felt so comfortable in that we were never homesick. From day one the receptionist, Irfan greeted us with comfort and we were took away by his generosity when he gave us Turkish liras to get ourselves food late in the night. The hotel was in an ideal location, just a 5 minute walk away from Blue Mosque and a 2 minute walk away from Gulhane Tram Station. Our rooms were small; however we expected that from reading the descriptions of the rooms. The showers were amazing with warm water at whatever time in the day or night and the breakfast was always freshly prepared for us every morning. We had the opportunity to sit outside for our breakfast too in the warm heat which is always a delight compared to the British weather! We stayed 6 nights in total and as a group of friends we had no problem at all, simple due to Irfan. He made sure we had everything and by the end of the 6 nights we become very good friends with him. His English is very good for a foreigner so he will be able to guide you to wherever you ask and even go the extra mile like he did with us. I honestly believe that the hotel runs so well simply due to Irfan’s hard work and commitment to the hotel. I will definitely return back to the hotel no doubt and would like to say a special thank you to Irfan for his hospitality and kindness throughout our holiday. Hope Minel Hotel remains to carry a fantastic reputation and others experience an amazing holiday like we did. Istanbul is DEFINITALY the place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Istanbul for four nights. As two 20 year old women, safety was an important concern, and so the hotel's faultless locations was ideal. It is within 5 minutes of many major sights, e.g. Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, and is tucked away on a little side street making it feel safe and enclosed.
The rooms are quite small and basic but more than adequate - everything is modern and comfortable. Irfan, the hotel manager, was a complete delight and really made our visit, with him help and recommendations, as well as general friendly chat. The other staff were also very sweet, although communication was difficult. Breakfast was great - we filled ourselves up with fresh fruit, yoghurt, omlettes, breads and cakes, meaning we didn't need to eat again until dinner.
I think you would struggle to find anywhere better for location, charm, and value for money. I will definitely be recommending Minel to friends and family, and will stay again if (when!) I go back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Walls are very thin, so it is worth bringing ear plugs and guests in neighbouring rooms may keep you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gina_jlnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Minel Hotel before and after our mini trip to the coast. The staff were wonderful, breakfast lovely with a choice of fresh, seasonal fruit and freshly made omelettes. Irfan, the manager, made our stay as best as he was able. Tea on our return from our many adventures no matter what time of day. The rooms were very sweet, exactly what you need when you know you're going to be out and about. They were clean, with great shower and bearing in mind it was a fairly small space, they had made as much use of it as possible, and more importantly made it as comfortable as possible, which it was. It's location was amazing for all the sights, so being able to pop back to unload after the Grand Bazaar was easy. There was no lift but the staff insisted on doing all the lifting for us so it didn't matter. This was our first trip to Istanbul, and I will definitely go back to explore some more, and will hopefully stay at Minel, if it isn't booked up. We enjoyed our stay so much, we even forgot when were checking out!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaCutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is like your home away from home.
The staff is super friendly, the breakfast is outstanding - no need for lunch after such a great brunch- , the rooms are small but clean and with a nice shower, and the location is ideal, near most of the major touristic sites and at a walking distance from the very efficient streetcar system.
All of that for less than $100 !
Access is a bit challenging for those carrying heavy bags as it is on a tiny pedestrian street, but the staff is there to help, as always.
No elevator but there are only 3 floors.
My TV set in the room did not work but who needs a TV in Istanbul ! Besides, there is a large flat screen TV in the lobby/breakfast area. And a English language daily newspaper.
If you are not a luxury freak and enjoy small inns ( 9 rooms only) with character, the Minel is for you !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#454 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#102 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#280 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Istanbul Central Hotel
Istanbul Central Hotel
#375 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Property: Minel Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing