We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #194 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Small and charming hotel, in a quiet street in the heart of the old city - perfect location. Very friendly staff,a special breakfast and always a cup of tea while we can talk with the staff about the city and .. life!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecaneppele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    130
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
208
66
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was in this hotel for 4 nights it was my first time in istambul but i am so happy for trying this very kind hotel All staff are very professional and friendly i want to thanks some personnes Working in this Hotel : IRFAN ,Maria , Said for ther assistant in our trip !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in Sultanahmet to do the sightseeing and turns out it was the perfect hotel to do so. In the heart of the area, 4 min walking from Aya Sofia and close to all the main sites. Still quiet enough to sleep well, since it's located in a tiny street behind the main road. The hotel and the room were very clean and nicely decorated, cosy and elegant. The only minus someone might find is the size of the rooms which is not big but not really a problem considering you won't spend that much time in your room normally..And the extra bonus is the staff that is brilliant, friendly, helpful and fun to chat with! Lovely woman that cooks the loveliest breakfast with traditional cheese bread, vegetables, fruits and your own warm omelette on the spot!So warmely recommended, best value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently stayed at Minnel Hotel for 3 nights after working in the middle of nowhere for 6 months. I arrived exhausted and didn’t have energy to do much, so it was really nice that the staff were so welcoming. I loved that the entrance/reception area was basically a coffee shop – free wifi, books on the shelves and always asked whether I wanted tea or coffee every time I stepped in. The room was cozy and bathroom had a clean and modern design. I felt like I was staying in somebody’s home more than a hotel, especially breakfast in the morning when they made fresh omelette and never without a smile.

The hotel itself is on a quiet street but few min walk to the Gulhane park and tram station, less than 10 min to the Blue Mosque and all kinds of restaurants and cafe along the way. As soon as I arrived, Irfan gave me a map and pointed out all the places I could check out, how to get there and practical information such as transportation cost. I used the shuttle bus service because I had a big luggage, which was $8 USD going to the airport (25 to be picked up from). But if you want to take public transportation, direction would be given to you when you booked the hotel.

The only thing I would comment on was that perhaps it was location of my room or the walls were too thin, but on my last night, I could hear the people in the next room. Not because they were playing loud music, just their normal conversation tone. I was already having trouble sleeping and didn’t have earplugs, so that would be the only unpleasant part.

But overall, I adore this place and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becca108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nos hospedamos en una habitación triple a principios de enero: fue una estadía corta ya que Estambul era sólo una escala en nuestro viaje: nos permitió visitar los sitios más conocidos y explorar un poco la ciudad.
El Minel es muy limpio, bien calefaccionado, con excelente WiFi y nunca faltó agua caliente (hemos tenido "interesantes" experiencias en otros lugares). Por supuesto se encuentra muy bien ubicado: se encuentra en una callecita escondida detrás de un restaurante (muy tranquila y segura, aunque volviéramos tarde) a tan sólo 50 metros del Museo Arqueológico y el Palacio de Topkapi y a 150 metros de Santa Sofía y la Basilica Cistern. Caminamos todo el tiempo, aunque el tram/metro para prácticamente en la puerta.
Además de sitios arqueológicos e históricos, teníamos casas de cambio, comidas y algún supermercado cerca. Y caminando 300 metros, la avenida comercial.
Más allá de las ventajas y comodidad de la ubicación, debo destacar la atención: Irfan (una verdadera joya), Gonul y todos los que trabajan en el hotel (la cocinera, de la que lamentablemente no recuerdo el nombre, es excelente y muy, muy amable -¡excelente desayuno, por cierto!). Nos recibieron siempre con una sonrisa, un consejo, ayuda con las valijas (no tienen ascensor y nuestra habitación estaba en el 3er piso: Irfan no nos dejó subir un sólo bolso) y una taza de té o café. Incluso, cuando llovía, tenían paraguas de cortesía para enfrentarnos a la helada lluvia de enero.
En definitiva: un lugar perfecto para volver nuevamente a explorar la ciudad y reencontrarse con amigos.

Un sólo detalle: aunque aceptan tarjeta de crédito, prefieren que los huéspedes paguen en efectivo (esto nos pasó en distintos lugares de Medio Oriente: ténganlo en cuenta si se están moviendo solamente con plástico).



ENGLISH VERSION (sorry about any grammatical errors: English is not my first language):
We stayed in a triple room at the beginning of January: it was a short stay, since Istanbul was only a stop in our trip: it allowed us to visit the more famous sites and explore a bit of the city.
The Minel is very clean, well heated, great WiFi connection, and we never lacked hot water for a shower (we've had "interesting" experiences in other places). Of course the location is great: it is in a hidden street behind a restaurant (very quiet and safe, even if we were coming back late at night) only 50 mts from the Archaeological Museum and the Topkapi Palace, and 150 mts from Hagia Sofia and the Basilica Cistern. We walked all the time, even if there is a tram/metro stop almost at the door.
Besides the archaeological and historical sites, we were very close to an exchange office, several food places and a small supermarket. And we were 300 mts from the commercial avenue.
Besides the great location, I must say that one of the greater factors (one I'm taking into account for future visits) is the staff: Irfan (a real gem), Gonul and everyone that works at the hotel (unfortunately I have forgotten the name of the cook, who is absolutely great and very, very nice -wonderful breakfast, by the way!-). They always made us feel welcome, with a big smile, good advice, help with the lugagge (the hotel doesn't have an elevator, and our room was in the 3rd floor: Irfan, courteously, didn't let us lift a bag), and a cup of tea or coffee. Even when it was raining they had umbrellas so we could face the cold january rain.
To sum it up: a perfect place to return, explore the city and meet again.

Only one detail: even if they accept credit cards, the hotel prefers that guests pay in cash (that has happened everywhere in our journey through the Middle East, so take it into account if you plan to travel using only plastic).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnabelleCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Minel Hotel is excellent: the location is perfect; our room was confortable and clean; breakfast was delicious. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful: I stayed there for eight days with my wife and my 13 years old daughter, and we felt ourselves at home!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flavio_r_de_oliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My daughter stayed here with a friend for 5 days over the new years break. She found the staff to be very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Very centrally located. She will definitely stay again. Rooms are tiny but clean & warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#203 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#106 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#317 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#452 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#219 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#273 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Property: Minel Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing