We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel...great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #187 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel...great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We could not have chosen a better hotel in Istanbul. Close to everything...Blue mosque, Aya Sofya, Grand Bizarre, Topkapi Palace and the tram stop is just round the corner. The thing that stood out about Minel hotel was that it was more like a home than a hotel. The staff were fantastic especially Irfan who was full of valuable information and so very helpful! The rooms were modern, clean, cosy and we got fresh towels each day. Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile each morning! So many restaurants to choose from just a step outside the door. Highly recommend this little gem to anyone travelling to Istanbul!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    130
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
66
208
68
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel is located perfectly – close to the main city sights, within walking distance from the Bosporus, close to tram stations.
Hotel’s rooms are small but very good; beautiful design, accessories are selected tastefully, bedclothes are excellent.
The service is at high level. Staff is very friendly, always ready to help, to show and to explain. I booked the hotel via HRS system that let me down – the hotel was not informed about my reservation, and on my arrival in Istanbul there was no room available. The hotel managers assisted me with another hotel for 1 night, even helped with my bags. It was of high importance for me because I was dead beat after 14-hour travelling by bus. After the managers found an available room for me and I stayed in the Minel Hotel as it was planned before. Besides the price of the room was left unchanged as per the earliest booking.
Also I liked breakfasts so much, especially hot oven-fresh cheese pies, simits and cheese omelettes.
I will come back to Istanbul once again and I am going to stay in the Minel Hotel. I have already booked a room there for September. I can easily recommend this hotel not only to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KorizzaNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location: it's near to the major historical attraction of the town. The thing that I will always remember will be the kindness of the staff: they are helpfull.
The rooms were cleaned every day and they change towels daily.
Breakfast is various and good.
Our Istanbul trip was very pleasant even thanks for Minel Hotel's staff kindness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirenzeAlessandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel has beautiful decor and serves the most mouth-watering breakfasts. The staff is incredibly kind and helpful. The hotel is perfectly situated and in walking distance of the major attractions. The rooms are cleaned every day. I would fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubberducky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent value for the money! The Minel is tiny, yes, but great things come in small packages. The staff is welcoming, helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. Location is perfect--almost across the street from the Topkapi and just a short walk from the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Cistern and Hippodrome. Rooms were clean and efficient, but yes, pretty small. We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willworkforvacation0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Hotel Minel was a great place to stay. The hotel is right in the middle of the historic center, The room was quite small, a bit noisy, but the staff super friendly. The hotel is close to the tram which connects you directly to Galata and Beyoglu. Beds are made every day and towels are changed daily as well - if you want it or not which to me, is not necessary, I would prefer a more ecological policy. Breakfast has good range of food, especially the homemade cheese pancake is delicious - if you stay for several days the breakfast might become a bit dull.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eisenmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Minel Hotel was everything we looked for. Good value, ideal location, super friendly and helpful staff, complimentary breakfast (which was very fresh and tasty), free wi-fi, air condition (with heating function for the chilly winter days), fresh and clean, and overall a warm and comfortable atmosphere. Rooms are cleaned and towels changed every day. Complimentary shampoo, body wash, soap and slippers. Hairdryer, fridge and TV inside rooms.

The rooms are small, but we managed fine. There's no elevator, and I wouldn't ask my grandma to climb the steep spiral staircase, but we still managed to get our 80 kilos of luggage up to the third floor :)

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#454 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#314 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#208 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Arven Boutique Hotel
Arven Boutique Hotel
#102 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#280 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Istanbul Central Hotel
Istanbul Central Hotel
#375 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Property: Minel Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing