We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Istanbul”
Review of Minel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Minel Hotel
Ranked #219 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late October 2012 - we had a great time - the hotel is clean and the rooms are comfortable. The bathroom / shower is even spacious! Great location - we found a coffee shop around the corner (Montana cafe) where we sat every morning (or afternoon) and watched people and transit buses go by. The only negatives I have is that a) it is not the quietest hotel for sleeping. You can hear people coming up and down the stairs inside, and in the street below; and b) our room was not ready until almost an hour after check in - after a long 24 hours of travel, we were ready! Thanks Minel for a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 503 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well located close to Hagia Sophia, with friendly staff, cozy and clean rooms.
Very small rooms, making it good for short trips, young couples or solo travelers.
good price quality.
close to the tram/metro line

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Axe_Bav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

First of all I have to say do not worry that you cannot see the hotel when the taxi driver drops you off. It is located down a small flight of steps and a warm welcome awaits. The staff were very helpful from the minute we arrived to the minute we departed. The hotel is ideally located to visit all of the main attractions in Sultanahmet and is a five minute walk from Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Basillica etc. The rooms were small but spotlessly clean with a regular supply of clean bedding and towels. One note of caution there is no lift and the stairs are winding and steep over three floors. Whilst there is a rail anybody who has a problem with stairs might struggle. Maria the cook took great pride in making sure that breakfast was plentiful and this set you up well for the day. At the end of a hard day sightseeing whoever was on the desk was only too willing to make you as much tea as you wanted. Special mention has to be made of Irfan who did the evening and night shift and was always attentive as well as being good company. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel for stays of up to one week in Istanbul.

Room Tip: There are 3 floors I suggest you ask for the lowest possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grimm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Minel Hotel is located very near Gulhane metro station. It is extremely centralised and located within walking distance from places of interest like Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Basilica Cistern. It may be hard to locate the hotel initially as there weren't any signs on the main road but you can ask around and the locals will be glad to assist. Minel Hotel is tucked further in an alley between two cafes.

The breakfast provided in the mornings consist of a healthy and generous serving of fruits as well as bread, bagels and to top it off, they will always prepare an omelette for you. With eggs, you can never quite go wrong.

The rooms are slightly small but extremely clean and the layout is very chic and modern. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. I fell sick at the end of the trip when we were back in Istanbul and they kept checking on me to see if I was feeling okay. Highly recommended in Istanbul!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed about 5 nights at the Minel. The rooms are small but very clean and the style is fresh and modern with a great shower & all of our hotel room requirements (air con, mini fridge, free wifi, bedside lights).

The staff are great. Friendly, helpful and chatty, they seem to enjoy hanging round with each other and this atmosphere rubs off for guests.

Superb location also. Extremely central to all the main sites, but with the window shut the street noise was well shut out. I'd want to stay again if I came back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nulland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The main problem was to find it. Taxi driver dropped us on the closed end of a street telling that it's only five minutes by foot. We walked aroud about one hour and finally called the hotel - very helpful man from the reception came and showed us the way, helping with our bags, amazing! Rest of a stay was just great: nice and clean rooms, tasty breakfast, very helpful staff, and the location - a short walk to all main city attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ula2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we arrived through the maze, our cabbie dropped us off at a little hotel with blue doors and no signage to tell us we had arrived. I was relieved to discover this little gem was clean, welcoming, and right in the heart of busy Istanbul within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, New Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Agia Sophia and many little hole-in-the-wall places. Each morning, a complimentary breakfast was served coffee, an omelet, and a tasty fried bread with layers of cheese melted into it. There were veggies and yummy yogurt as well as some fruit. Not fancy but fresh and ample to start the day. The staff were friendly and helpful. My room, unfortunately, had an odor of sewer gas which was not apparent in the other rooms. This inconvenience was gladly overlooked when the staff allowed me to keep my room one more night than booked due to an oversight on my part. If you are looking for an inexpensive, comfortable and safe place to stay, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The sound of birds and "the Call to Prayer" will probably interrupt your sleep, but then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bevie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#499 of 1,173 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#382 of 1,173 in Istanbul
133 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,173 in Istanbul
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,173 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#246 of 1,173 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Reyyan Hotel
#236 of 1,173 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minel Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Guzel Sanatlar Sok. No:11, Istanbul 34121, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fresh, modern and elegant hotel nestled within awe inspiring and unparalleled surroundings of Sultanahmet. We are a small hotel designed with tastefully decorated rooms with your personal needs in mind. You will find yourself immersed in a truly unique and magical atmosphere, providing outstanding Turkish hospitably to make you feel at home.In the heart of the oldest part of the city, you will enjoy simple but elegantly appointed rooms, wake up to a fresh Turkish buffet breakfast and can take a morning walk or run in the Gulhane Park where you will feel like you are in the forest, but in the heart of the city. From our doorstep you can take a stroll on cobblestone streets and enjoy the most fascinating and historically important areas of the worlds great cities. The looming architecture of the famous Aya Sophia, the historical Topkapi Palace, and the eloquent Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern all within a 2 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing