We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not the Hilton but good for what you pay for”
Review of Ayasultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayasultan Hotel
Ranked #328 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We spend six nights at the Ayasultan,breakfast was ok.Staff friendly,rooms clean.Found the reception desk staff great.

Room Tip: Very close to most of the World Heritage Sites
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManieCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Ayasultan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Was fine for what we wanted: a clean place to sleep after a long day of seeing the sights. Was clean, staff was friendly, free wifi, good TV. The beds were comfortable and big. The breakfast was fine in the morning. Nothing amazing but again provided enough fuel for the day. It is in a solid location, close to the mosques and government building. Not far from the port where you can do a cruise. Overall, if you are just going to sleep in the hotel and do not care about all the extra’s, given the price, this was a very solid hotel and would recommend it for a tourist trip to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good location - that is where it ends.

Staff is all out to rip you. Construction work is on with drill machines ripping thru your room for four hours a day and management threatens you to shut up if you want your good. Breakfast is very poor quality with no hot food. People walk into your rooms when they want. Families are not secure there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night when I visited Istanbul for 7 days last March. I actually stayed at three different hotels due to schedule mix-up and an overbooking (which was the other hotel's fault anyways) so I think I have a fair comparison to make among the three.

First of all, the location of this hotel is just superb; cannot get better than this. It's just minutes' walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. It's literally just a minute away from the main street which has all the restaurants and tourist attractions. You can also walk to the Grand Bazaar fairly easily. The other hotels I stayed were fairly close to this strip but it was still about 10 minutes walk.

I was also impressed with the size of the room and the cleanliness. I think hotels in Istanbul are just generally small and has really small bathrooms; compared to the other hotels I had stayed, this was pretty sizable and roomy. It was super clean too. I was also happy with how friendly the staff were. Some of them had a hard time understanding English but as long as you slow down and use gesture, it's pretty easy to communicate with them. My flight was at 10 o'clock in the morning and I had to leave to the airport at 6:30am, which was before the breakfast buffet started. They called me that the breakfast buffet was ready, and when I said it's ok, they offered me to deliver the food to my room. They didn't have to but I thought it was super nice of them.

The rates weren't that bad either. I paid about $80 for the night; I think the value for the money was really good.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. I'd stay at this place again if I have the chance to visit Istanbul again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristenmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were very happy with this choice and would recommend it to any familly.
The rooms are quite lovely. Location (old city), facilities, atmosphere, staff and food were very good quality, we simply could not have asked for a more enjoyable holiday with our kids. Staff are always there willing to help and always have a smile on their faces.
I thoroughly recommend Ayasultan hotel to anyone .
Stayed May 2012, traveled with family (two kids 8 and 11 , two adults)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aganovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

definitely do not recommend a hotel in a very bad ... not at all happy ...everyone working in day clothes ...very bad one word

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenya e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is, of course, the location. It's right in the heart of Sultanahmet. My first impression of my room was surprise at how light it was for being a basement room. It was quite small, but that wasn't an issue for me as a single traveler. Things kinda went downhill from there.

The room had a desk, but no chair, and bath towels but no hand towel (there was a ring for one in the bathroom or I would've just assumed they don't use hand towels in Turkey). A little while after I got there cigarette smoke started seeping in through the window. Turns out my room was right below the entrance, and since it's a non-smoking hotel people gather right outside to smoke. I asked if there was any other room available and they said no, they wanted to give me a better room when I checked in, but they were completely booked. Okay, if they knew this room was unliveable, why not fix the problem or save it as a last-minute room so it only goes to people who know what they're getting into.

Finally, despite my having locked the deadbolt, someone opened my door without even knocking. So, that left me a tad concerned about safety. I really wanted to give this hotel more stars, because they were very friendly and it's so convenient, but based on my experience I just can't.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nano5th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#142 of 1,159 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tan Hotel - Special Class
Tan Hotel - Special Class
#109 of 1,159 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#30 of 1,159 in Istanbul
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Edibe Sultan Hotel
Edibe Sultan Hotel
#166 of 1,159 in Istanbul
240 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#261 of 1,159 in Istanbul
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayasultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayasultan Hotel

Address: Alemdar Mah. Catalcesme Sok. No:26 Eminonu/Cagaloglu, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $41 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayasultan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayasultan Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel which was renovated in 2015 and located on the historical peninsula of Istanbul, Turkey. With a mix of classical and modern architecture, the Ayasultan Hotel has 36 attractive comfortable rooms offering a B&B service. Situated just a short walk from the major attractions of Sultanahmet Square, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, and the Basilica, Grand Bazaar, guests will appreciate the great location and easy access to the city delights. Book into the Ayasultan Hotel and relax in style and comfort in this delightful Istanbul boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ayasultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing