We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stray Cat Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stray Cat Hostel
Ranked #51 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our excursions into the city were always better because we knew we had an amazing place to come back to. The hostel was comfortable and homely. the owner and staff were extremely cool and helpful and gave us some great recommendations. They were also very happy to chat with us about any topic under the sun. The location was great - just a 10 minute (thought rather uphill) walk to Taksim Square. And I loved the cats! The room was very spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The owner was extremely accommodating and allowed our friend who turned up at the last minute to stay in our room - we thus had a 4 person room all to ourselves! Really loved this place.

Room Tip: The hostel has an elevator - so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happytraveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    11
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
34
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was the last hostel in our 3.5 month jorney around South-East Asia. So on the way to home we were suprised by the service in Stray Cat Hostel. Everything is absolutly great: location, frinedly staff, art decoration, clean rooms, wi-fi, kittens! Would definetyly come back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andriy_Bahlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had a fabulous time staying at Stray Cat Hostel!! The staff at Stray Cat were amazingly friendly! They were so helpful and always went above and beyond to help my friend with whatever we asked. The hostel is also very clean with very charmingly painted rooms, and there are kittens to play with which is always a plus! It's a little bit away from the core attractions of Istanbul- the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, and etc- but very conveniently located close to a metro station which will easily take you there. An excellent value for our stay, and by far the best hostel I've stayed in!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank littletravelerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I strongly recommend this place. Very safe, clean, cosy, near to all good sites, and cheap. You will find a friendly staff, always ready to help you. The decoration is charming, the playlist amazing, and the location just perfect to go out or to visit the city. There is a cute courtyard where you can smoke, a free breakfast, free drinking water, and cofee and tea all day long. Enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had an awsome weekend here travelling with a friend, it's a good place to meet people, really arty, great atmosphere, with a nice living room area to chill with games and kittens... Breakfast was good, and there's free tea and coffee all day. Staff are really friendly, helpful and good fun :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank effi-kiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is one of the best hostels i've ever stayed in. It's not a party hostel, so if you want to do that.. maybe look elsewhere. BUT it is a very social hostel. More low key chilling on the couch, playing with the cats, sipping tea.

There are cats everywhere, except in the rooms, so if you're not a cat person, this isn't the right hostel for you. The cats are clean and healthy.

The rooms are a good size, good bathrooms, nice beds. It is basic, but for the price, very reasonable. close to public transport, near sites, good area.. the owner Sedat is lovely!

I stayed here and then came back on my way home. I liked it that much!

Breakfast is included and it is delicious! I will stay again next time i'm in Istanbul! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Allioz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was there with my girlfriend and it was awesome. The hostel is located in a perfect location of the city and close to all attractions. 5 minutes walk to taksim square ,and the most noisy street in istanbul, istiklal street, but you will be safe from the noises here but very close ;) ,also metro and bus stations are 2 minutes away! and also ferry station is close as well... the rooms are clean i think (ours was really good), me and my girl had alot of fun with kittens and also Ginger. with a well select morning music, they have a fresh and full torkish breakfast(don't miss it). the staff are not just friendly and energetic but also good advisors, if you want to be in the right place at the right time, follow their tips ;p I should be honest with you, i'm not sure about all turkish people, but the owner of Stray cat is the coolest turkish that i ever seen. i recommended this place to all of my friends and also you ;) i will be there someday, again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mehdi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
CVK Park Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#23 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Beyoglu
Neverland Hostel
Neverland Hostel
#165 of 1,191 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Cihangir Ceylan Suite
Cihangir Ceylan Suite
#41 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#14 of 1,191 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stray Cat Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stray Cat Hostel

Property: Stray Cat Hostel
Address: Mebusan Yokusu No 35 | Taksim Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,191 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul offers a simple , laid back, comfortable , affordable accomodation in city center. The hostel is located 5 minutes walk from Taksim City Center, Taksim is full of bars , cafes and clubs for every taste, 200 meter down from the hostel there is a tram stop takes you in 15 minutes to historical monuments of Hagia Sofia, Topkapı Palace, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque. Stray Cat Hostel in Istanbul has double, triple, four bed and 6 bed rooms . Some rooms have their own bathrooms some has shared ones . Breakfast is included in all prices. Also free tea, coffee and mineral water all day long is included to room rates . Safe deposit in reception for valuables are free of charge . Free bedding , beds, sheets and towels are included in price. Free high speed wi-fi is also available, and we have one kitchenette with tea coffee making facilities, and one equippied kitchen for free guest use.Stray Cat is a quite social hostel but not a party one. We do not serve alcohol just you can enjoy your drinks that you bought from several discount supermarkets and liqour shops in 2 minutes walking distance to hostel in our smoking or non smoking separated common areas. Just please note that although we are a very social hostel with an artistic vibe, that different paintings made by different guests and artists, the Stray Cat is not a hard partying hostel. We offer free night stay to artistic travelers would like to make a paint or performance in hostel . We have 24 hours reception with people working on desk who are knowledgeable and helpful for your possible needs, wishes and questions in Istanbul. We do not tolerate any kind of behaviour that consist of sexual, religious, ethnical, and racial discrimination, we reserve the right to refuse service anyone falls under these categories.Thank You. We wish you a nice stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stray Cat Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing