We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #521 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a small hotel in a fantastic location near the Grand Bazaar and tram line. I travelled with a group (Bunnik Tours from Adelaide - highly recommended) so our tour guide dealt with desk staff etc. Other staff we came into contact with were friendly. We only had breakfasts at the hotel and there was a very delicious selection. Lots of restaurants in close walking distance and a couple of good shoe shops downhill! Rooms are small and everything was sparkling clean. Double glazed windows shut out pretty much all outside noise. There is a safe in the room so all valuables can be locked away.

Room Tip: Building construction next door which went on well into the night - 11.00pm or later. This will be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimigogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    37
    5
    8
See reviews for
33
57
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

The rooms were small but the location of the hotel was very close to the bazaar and blue mosque. The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was good. The restaurant in the hotel was also good had delicious adana kebaps there. Overall it was a nice exoerience staying there

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armanxbox360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at the Amethyst twice during my trip to Turkey. We arrived early in the morning from Toronto and had to wait about an hour for our room. The desk staff weren't that friendly but we eventually got into our room. The room itself was small but well appointed. We had everything we needed. We went to the pool (which unfortunately didn't open until 11am) and had a great sauna and swim. The pool isn't heated so we needed to sweat it out a bit before jumping in. The pool attendant was very nice and even brought us water! We had dinner at the hotel that night and it was excellent - the chef came out to see us and we complimented him on the high quality of the fish. The breakfast there was also very good. The only drawbacks of this hotel is the fact that it's close to a couple of mosques - I was woken by the call to prayer both mornings we were there (at 5am).

The best part of the hotel is the location! We were within walking distance to the bazar, the tram station and many great eateries (and a delicious baklava shop!) We were warned about the neighbourhood of the hotel but my sister and I didn't have any issues. We walked down to a bar/eatery around 9pm or so and weren't bothered at all.

Second time around, we had a bit better room - the bathroom was better for sure. The water temperature varies a bit so you have to be careful to not get scalded.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Amethyst Hotel twice during our visit to Turkey, once at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. For our first stay we were given a room on the 1st floor, which is conveniently right above the dining level where breakfast and dinner are served and we often used the stairs to move around the hotel. While the hotel itself is very clean, well-kept and decorated to give guests a feeling of grandeur and luxury, the room we were placed in was small, cramped and stuffy. The working AC and our ability to open the window helped air out the room each day so we could sleep well each night (esp. after taking showers since there aren't any fans in the washroom). This was a corner room with no view, barely any room to pass between the bed and the wall in order to reach the bathroom. We hadn't planned on spending much time in our hotel room while in Istanbul, or anywhere in Turkey, but the cramped nature of our room was especially discouraging and we couldn't wait to get out of it each day. It was also difficult to have our luggage open for quick access and a lot of tripping took place while we we attempted to move around.

While the bathroom was small and didn't have proper ventilation (no fan) for after showering, we had no problems with it and were pleased with the water pressure in the shower as well as quick adjustment of water temperature. Housekeeping always kept the bathroom in good order and clean.

During our second stay here we were beyond relieved to find we were given a much larger room on the 3rd floor. It had two single beds which we pushed together and that left us with plenty of space to walk around our room, open our luggage and even reorganize all our things before leaving Turkey for good. The air circulation was also much better in this room and as usual opening the window helped and AC was also a working option. We felt much more at ease in this room and seeing that we were staying here for our last 3 of 10 nights in Turkey, we were overjoyed to have a room that encouraged mental and physical recuperation!

Breakfast service was excellent each morning during both our stays. Many hotels do not offer the vast array of drinks that the Amethyst does during breakfast and the chef was often seen around the buffet area bringing fresh options out and primping the area. He showed an obvious interest in making sure everything was perfect for guests. In terms of breakfast foods, it was always easy to find something appetizing to eat which is essential before starting a long day of exploration.

Dinners at the hotel were also delightful, we once had a sit-down fixed menu meal and buffet style another time-- we enjoyed both thoroughly and were glad to be served Turkish dishes each time. The host, servers, and waiters are all extremely polite, approachable and courteous. They always made the extra effort to make us feel welcomed and attended to. A phone call to alert us that dinner service had begun was very useful and appreciated.

The front desk reception staff however was not always hospitable and kind, this fluctuated throughout our stay, depending on who was on shift but overall did not have a big effect on our stay here. We were asked to pay 10 TL for a power converter by one receptionist and felt cheated as the adapter didn't even fit into the hotels rounded fancy outlets. We were given a second adapter to attach to the first which did fit and they had the nerve to ask us to return it to the front desk. I'm positive we shouldn't have had to pay for the first one as this is usually a courtesy item guests can use during their stay, but I am willing to overlook this for our overall rating of the hotel's services. Anytime we called down for help with wifi set-up, make a local call, get an iron or extra towels, someone was sent promptly to assist us. We deeply appreciated this.

While we didn't get to use it during our stays at the hotel, we did love the look of the pool area located below the main/lobby floor. Wish we could have used it but there was simply too much to see and enjoy outside our hotel that it didn't make sense to spend time there.

Overall, our stay at the Amethyst hotel the second time around left us with a good impression. The location is perfect for those like us who intend on thoroughly exploring Istanbul whether by walking, metro or tram. Askaray metro and tram stations are so conveniently close if you don't want to walk and can get you anywhere in a matter of minutes. I'm sure there are other hotels in Istanbul which offer a similar or much higher standard of service than the Amethyst but it isn't a bad option for a pleasant stay in Istanbul (esp. since you'll want to be out and about anyways!)

Room Tip: Do not get corner rooms (small and cramped); a room with double beds that you push together is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marwa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

It has a great location, very close to the subway station..Aksaray and in front of the hotel is the tramway stop: T1 that takes you to the Grand Bazar and Hagia Sophia. The subway has direct line from the airport to Aksaray ( M1A-red line) and from there you walk about 300-500 meters. So you do not need to take a cab or taxi. The metro is very cheap and comfortable and it takes about 30 minutes.
It was a little bit hard to find the hotel, but if you ask for Mado Café you will find it.
The staff is very kind and polite.
The breakfast was good, plenty of food.
The rooms are a little bit small but nice and clean and comfortable.
It is a good hotel to spend a few days in Istanbul. The spa is great for relaxation after a long day of sightseeing and shopping. There is another subway station called Marmaray where you can take the metro to go to Taksim square.
All in all, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaLuiza13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I think this is the same hotel as the photo of the looks the same. But did not book through trip advisor. It has a large amethyst on the reception desk which is clear in the hotel photos.
Thehotel isin Fatih quite ordinary from the outside. In quite a commercial area with alot of russian speakers. So if you are from russia or Ukraine you will feel comfortable as some of the waiter sunderstand and speak russian. The resturant in basement serves good food and waiters are very helpful.
Breakfast on mezzanine floor is excellent. My only complaint would be the juices are artificial with so many fresh fruits available it would be possible to provide fresh juice. I booked a junior suite which was spacious and well appointed. A spa bath which worked well was also a bonus. Room service was prompt and accurate. If like me you like to relax with a film after a hectic day and evening you will be disappointed channels are quite limited. The star of the hotel is the indoor fairy grotto pool.quite amazing clean romantic along with sauna. A definate must to visit. But does not open untill 11 am. So no early morning swims. Unusually for istanbul most prices are in US dollar and as it is a commercial area difficult to buy single items.
but not so far from town and plenty of taxi. But they dont use a meter cost is around 25 tl depending where you go.
Hotel is good value for money based on current exchange rates. When the TL stengthens then I think you can get better value

Room Tip: Pay extra money for a corner junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaporizhzhya, Ukraine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This really good hotel with great location. Nice kind staff, I've never had problems there. You can easily reach main sights, near tram and metro station. Nice shopping, little noisy. Normal breakfast - can be little more choice but ok.
Very clean rooms, smalll but good!
WIFI is terrible :) U cant use more than 1device and connection is very poor - this for business is very huge problem.
If u come to Ist for few days this good place to stay in.

Room Tip: choose high floor corner room is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PollyAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Hotel Polatdemir
#399 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#615 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#316 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuran Hotel International
#900 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Hotel Istanbul Trend
#911 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#582 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Hotel Istanbul

Property: Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
Address: Mesihpasa Mah., Aksaray Cad., No 6 | Laleli, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of historical peninsula and the shopping center of Istanbul, Amethyst Hotel provides top quality 4 stars hospitality with walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Basilica Cistern which are among the world's most important historical and cultural places. Everything you could possibly need is right on the doorstep of Amethyst Hotel - shopping and dining options, nightlife, bars, cafes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amethyst Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing