We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #529 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Perth
Level Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Have just moved out to another hotel as we could not last the distance of 5 days there. Room stank of smoke, TVs blaring all night the walls are paper thin and very noisy at night with a nightclub close by or underneath the hotel. Asked for another room got it but no different. Oh renovations going on until all hours. Not good!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amethysthotel, Director of Sales at Amethyst Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings from Amethyst Hotel,

We apologize for the negative effects experienced. Complaints were taken into consideration

You are sure that you will be satisfied with another stay.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Amethyst Hotel Istanbul the next time you're in Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Burcin INANC
Sales Maneger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    89
    37
    5
    8
See reviews for
33
57
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just 50 meters away from the Aksaray tram stop, the location is probably the best, since the tram can take you through the historical Istanbul. The quality is average, average size. Cleaning service is done pretty late. Breakfast buffet is ok too. Seems like the hotel is not well know to taxi drivers, so take a card with you or mention the Aksaray tram stop. Avoid taxis outside the hotel since they can charge you as much as twice the regular fare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolivar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amethysthotel, Director of Sales at Amethyst Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings from Amethyst Hotel,

We apologize for the negative effects experienced. Complaints were taken into consideration

You are sure that you will be satisfied with another stay.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Amethyst Hotel Istanbul the next time you're in Istanbul.

Best Regards,

Burcin INANC
Sales Maneger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stay duration : 4 nights

Pros : Clean hotel, good breakfast, good spa, very close to the tram station, groceries and small to medium restaurants around.

Cons : Very small rooms and bathrooms, pool is partially smelly, staff is not helpful at all, unsafe for women to go out late night around the hotel. We saw men flock all over and some random prostitutes as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndignantRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel recently and although the hotel was ok we'd probably not stay there again. This was partly due to our experience on our first night there. Despite booking a room with double bed we were shown to a room with 2 single beds and another option of a smaller room with a 3/4 bed.
We opted for the 2 singles beds which they arranged together.
We had to call reception a number of times on our first night, first to fix the wireless which was not working, next to fix the air-co unit which started to drip water into the room and then to ask our neighbours to be quieter. Although the hotel staff were very responsive and fixed everything within a few minutes.. all of those points combined on our first night did not leave a good first impression.

the good
* within a short 2 min walk from the nearest tram stop which is about 4 stops from the tourist areas of Grand Bazaar and Sultanhamet
* clean bright room and good mattresses
* pressure in the shower was great
* nice breakfast buffet with the best warm mini croissants ever
* very responsive staff (especially the technicians)

the bad
* very very thin walls (our neighbours kept us awake until we called reception)
* the air-co units in the rooms are very noisy especially when the overflow pumps kick in.. I could hear it in the other rooms too
* some of the staff were quite unfriendly

Room Tip: don't take the rooms which face the elevators - the hallway gets a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Just a walk away from the tram station, it is not a bad choice for your probably the second visit to Istanbul (since I feel the initial stay has to be in Sultanhamet)! After staying touring the other cities of Turkey, we returned to Istanbul for two more nights before heading back home & stayed at Amethyst. It was a neat & clean hotel with good surrounding neighbourhood. Good breakfast, good room (stayed on the suite.. Therefore, can't comment on the room-size) Though the washroom was quite congested for a suite! The only area of concern was their "unfriendly" staff! Probably they forgot that they were in hospitality industry & this, had to have basic courtesy of smiling & being helpful to foreigners in their country!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Varunkhanna1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beds are great, firm mattress and rooms are very clean :) i had a Turkish Hammam foam massage that i highly recommend! Will do it again. The hotel is pretty well located if you don't mind commuting to find good restaurants in Taksim and Galata. The area is not the greatest but easy to move around thanks to the public transports :) Istanbul rocks!!! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandraromy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very clean, friendly staff and complete breakfast buffe . The only problem we had was the view fm the rooms, the back rooms have no view at all.. Otherwise everything was perfect. Thank u for a wonderfull stay in yr hotel.

Room Tip: Try get a front view room,the back rooms are dark and have no view at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Hotel Polatdemir
#418 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#623 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#309 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuran Hotel International
#998 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Hotel Istanbul Trend
#904 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Prestige Hotel
#590 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Hotel Istanbul

Property: Amethyst Hotel Istanbul
Address: Mesihpasa Mah., Aksaray Cad., No 6 | Laleli, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amethyst Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of historical peninsula and the shopping center of Istanbul, Amethyst Hotel provides top quality 4 stars hospitality with walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Basilica Cistern which are among the world's most important historical and cultural places. Everything you could possibly need is right on the doorstep of Amethyst Hotel - shopping and dining options, nightlife, bars, cafes and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Amethyst Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing