We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$250
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$281
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$155
$144
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$169
$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$523
$381
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$528
$392
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
38
92
39
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
92
39
5
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 182 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

nice hotel in a central location to all major attraction, good customer service , beautiful and tasty food( went half board) rich breakfast , free internet use and wifi

Room Tip: ask for the highest floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gudboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were moved to the Amethyst Hotel by Virgin Vacations at the last minute...with no option from Virgin to cancel the trip (even after purchasing their 'for any reason' trip insurance!). Uggh. Our original hotel was located in the very convenient and desireable Sultanhamet area of Istanbul, and they let us know just a few days prior to our departure that our new hotel, the Amethyst, would be over two miles away from the historic sights of Sultanhamet. I have no complaints about the Amethyst, though it's a different story for Virgin Vacations! The hotel itself is lovely...clean and modern, with a friendly and efficient staff. I especially recommend the hammam and gorgeous grotto-like swimming pool. I'm a huge fan of Turkish massages, and had two unforgettable ones by a masseuse named Vienna. I highly recommend her, even if you aren't staying at the Amethyst! The downside of the Amethyst is that it's located in a down-scale commercial area, with few restaurants nearby and no tourist sights for miles. Unfortunately, we did not feel especially safe walking in this area at night, even from the nearby Aksary tram station. Be prepared to take a taxi at US$10-$30 per ride into the historic Sultanhamet area of town. Again, I loved the Amethyst...if only it could be dropped into a different neighborhood.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachBumDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

It was the first of many hotels through out our stay around Turkey and it was an auspicious beginning for a wonderful visit. As we entered the hotel, we were impressed by the tastefully decorated lobby. Our room was compact but clean, well equipped and modern. We could actually sleep well on our first night in Istanbul after a long haul flight. We suspect it was partly due to the firm but comfortable bed and also because it was quiet outside. Its location is central to all major Istanbul's attractions and situated near a shopping area although we did not have time to do any due to our packed itinerary. The staff were pleasant, courteous and friendly. It was not a problem for them that we requested for an early breakfast at 6 am. We did not have to wait at all and the choices were not bad.We were just a bit disappointed there was no coffee and tea making facility nor complimentary bottled drinking water provided. But overall, it was still a very pleasant albeit short stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_nasadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Having stayed in a supposed 4 start in Turkey before, and having to book this hotel last minute, I wasn't expecting much. How pleasantly wrong I was. The Amethyst is a really comfortable, well equipped hotel just 10 minutes walk from the Grand Bazaar,and maybe a further 15 mins to the Blue Mosque and other main sites in Sultanahmed. A very good and cheap tram line is just 2 minutes away in Aksaray, so again a well placed hotel. It's a quiet hotel, just off a main road, but right in the hearty of the hustle and bustle of street life in Istanbul, with its street traders, shops, cafes and restaurants.

The reception staff speak good English and are ever helpful. There is also free wifi. For breakfast there is a very decent set of choices and we didn't have to wait during any of the 4 mornings we stayed.

I would deifnitely stay there again on a return trip to this truly unforgettable city. The only downside is the poor exchange rate at reception. This is not a probem since you can shop for money elsewhere,but be aware that if you haven't paid in advance you will proabbly be paying in the local currency.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Were a family of four (two adults and two children), and we were given a beautiful family room, which it exceeded our expectations. The room was of very high standard, very clean, and very quite. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, especially the manager Mehmet. We would defiantly stay there again and would recommend it to everyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ranaimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews