We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Momento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Momento
Ranked #357 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed a few nights at the Momento and had a pleasant stay. Staff at reception were friendly with their limited English but are always keen to help. Breakfasts were to my liking as it is mainly vegetarian. I realised when I was in Istanbul that the their preferred hot drink is tea, not coffee. So I stuck to tea and was good. Location was superb, a hop skip and jump to the Metro, Grand Bazaar, Sulatanhamet, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofiya and Topkapi Palace to name a few. Lots of eating areas about and shops. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
81
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friendly staff especially the bar/restaurant staff. Nice breakfast. Clean and comfortable room with free wifi. Good location-easy walk to lots of nice restaurants down the Main Street to Topkapi palace Blue Mosque etc. and cheap snack food just round the corner. Can also eat in which we did once and the food was good.

Room Tip: 6th floor. Double room. You can see the sea! No noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SisterBliss66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel was ok. But on the last day i gave the reception a copy of our itinerary and asked them to organise our transfer to the airport as they offered to help us with it. They totally stuffed it up and took us to the wrong airport (on the wrong continent). We nearly missed our flight and it totally marred our holiday. I called and emailed the hotel... But they didnt care, so not great customer service. Also very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 painful nights. The hotel staff were extremely unfriendly and unhelpful. There was no welcome or overview of the services offered by the hotel. After a long day of touring we had returned to find our room unserviced/ uncleaned. We had called reception to request that it be cleaned immediately and was promised that it would be. After waiting an hour we went down to reception to make a second enquiry only to be told that our room will be cleaned the next day and that an enquiry will be made with housing. The breakfast variety was small. The rooms are small on the inside. The hotel is located in a busy and sometimes noisy at night area. An unpleasant experience for sure. Some neighboring hotels offer free hotel transfers whilst this hotel charges 35 euros.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleravetures913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hotel Momento is situated within walking distance of many of the main historical sites and other places of interest. It is very well appointed in all areas. There was a varied choice for those who enjoy the cold, buffet style breakfast but there isn't much available if you prefer yours cooked (only scrambled egg and spicy sausage pieces on offer the few days we were there). Staff and services were excellent.

Room Tip: No complaints with the room. Ours was a corner suite which was probably the largest available. Light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clanger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the first time I have sent a review of any kind but feel the need to warn other travellers of our experience. We were quite happy with the hotel when we booked in for our first night of 3, although the view out the window of the ventilation shaft was not very pleasant. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. However the following morning while we were still in bed, we received a phone call from reception telling us we were being moved to another hotel. We pointed out that we had booked for 3 nights and were not prepared to move. Eventually they agreed to let us stay. The rest of our group were moved to another hotel which they were very disappointed with. At the end of our tour we were booked into the Momento for 2 more nights and before we left for our tour we checked with reception to make sure our booking was confirmed - it was. However on our return a few days later they told us they were fully booked. When we asked why we were not still booked in, having confirmed our reservation with the receptionist, he told us 'things change'. We were moved to another hotel which was not of the same standard without any apology at all. Our rating is based primarily on customer service.
Incidentally, the breakfast at the Momento was also a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish2264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour for a number of nights. First of all, the location is very good. It's very close to the tram line and the Grand Bazaar. It is also within walking distances to the Blue Mosque, Hagis Sophia, and Topkapi Palace.

First impression of this hotel wasn't the best as the traffic backed up the street and it was very noisy. However, once we were in our room with window closed, little noise came through and we managed to have a very good night sleep.

The rooms were clean and tidy, and provided all the essentials even including toothbrush/paste. Our shower leaked a little, but it wasn't too much of a hassle. I found the staff very friendly, they were willing to help. The food at the restaurant wasn't that great, but we didn't get to try all their food so it might not be the same for other dishes.

Overall, pleasant stay, would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyazıt
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
Comfort Elite Hotels Beyazit
#362 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Skalion Hotel&Spa
#98 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Beyazıt
Hotel Baron
Hotel Baron
#594 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Selenay Hotel
#569 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Beyazıt
Antik Hotel Istanbul
Antik Hotel Istanbul
#515 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Kent Hotel Istanbul
#316 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Momento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Momento

Property: Hotel Momento
Address: Mithat Pasa Cad. Kucuk Haydar Efendi Sok. No:14 Beyazit, Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Momento 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Momento is less than one mile from Topkapi Palace and half a mile from the Blue Mosque. This special class hotel has a 24-hour front desk, a restaurant and free Wi-Fi. All guest rooms at Momento Hotel feature a private bathroom and an LCD TV with satellite channels. Every room includes a mini-bar, air-conditioning and a safe. Buffet breakfast is served in the spacious dining area, and Momento's Restaurant offers delicious examples of Ottoman Imperial and French Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite wines from the hotel's collection. Hotel Momento is less than a 5 minute walk from the nearest train and bus stations, and is 9 miles from Ataturk Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Momento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing