We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, Noisy & Unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #162 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Loud, Noisy & Unprofessional”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

At first, I was very excited when I booked this hotel. We really wanted to stay a few nights on the Bosphorus. The location and view are great. Ortakoy is a very happening area but the music from the clubs go until 2am and it's loud. Then a very load call to prayer at 5am. I understand and appreciate the call to prayer and has never bothered me at any other hotel that I have stayed at in Istanbul. This one is so loud that seems as if your room was being raided by the police or something. I travel with ear plugs too. In addition, I also had experienced the itchiness that another reviewer had mentioned here. Sure enough, there were holes in the bedding as the same reviewer described. Management were indifferent to the whole situation and my concerns with their cleanliness. I checked out early as well with no offer of compensation from this hotel. I have traveled around the world and stayed at many places and have never experienced what I did here or needed to check out early due to concerns. If you need to stay in this area, I suggest you plan on not sleeping before 2am. The views were killer from this hotel, no doubt, but there must be other options. Personally, I find the Sultanahmet are much more peaceful and quiet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Phishow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear DAGMarin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus and your candid thoughts.

I am disappointed your experience with us was less than perfect. The feedback of our guests is very important to me so please be assured that I had given your feedback a lot of thought and would like to address the points you raise.

As you also mentioned in your review, our neighborhood Ortakoy is an extremely vibrant area so I would like to reiterate this fact. It is known for its active entertainment and nightlife, it is always busy and it is by no means a quiet area. Since you had read the past reviews about our hotel, you must have noticed a great number of Tripadvisor users who had previously stayed in our hotel make it very clear in their reviews that Ortakoy is not a quiet neighborhood.

As for the prayer, we are located very close to the Ortakoy Mosque, another Istanbul landmark, so hearing the prayer is inevitable. Since you also stayed in the Sultanahmet area which has numerous mosques, perhaps you experienced the prayers prior to your arrival to our hotel. I am always happy to make arrangements for our noise-sensitive guests at our sister hotel located in the charming Nisantasi area which also happens to be very quiet.

Regarding your concern about our textiles, our bedding and towels are laundered on a daily basis. Although rare, we do see wear&tear on some materials occasionally. The entire product line is changed on a regular basis to upkeep with our brand standards.

If I may ask you to kindly send me an email with details of your stay so we can discuss further. Once again, I thank you for your input.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    118
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
65
305
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a heaven in istanbul, best professionals are here, romantic and full of excitement gathered in this hotel, if you would like to taste of perfectiveness come and stay in this hotel. Special thanks to Bahar (GM of the hotel), for her eccellent organisation and kind assistance Belma & Kaan

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belkaerler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Belkaerler,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It was a great pleasure for my team and I to have you as our guests during this special time. We are delighted you had a memorable experience. Heartfelt thanks for your kind words and recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon.

Warm regards and Happy New Year,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The view of the hotel over the Bosphorus, the bridge and the Ortaköy Mosque (even if in refurbishment) is simply superb. The rooms are spotless and large, but is the great service provided by all the employees that makes this hotel special. We asked to change room due to some noisy neighbours and we were upgraded to the top floor suite and we always received great help from reception, whether it was for choosing or reserving a restaurant or changing a plane ticket. This is what makes a hotel special - thank you!

Room Tip: Top floor suites are fantastic - no match with the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zia_Angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Zia_Angelina,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great experience. My Reception & Guest Services team are very excited about your wonderful comments, thank you for your distinction.

When you return to Istanbul in the future, we hope we will get to welcome you back to Ortakoy.

Warm regards and Happy New Year,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a trip to Turkey and even though he was sick most of the time we were in Istanbul, I would have to say the hotel staff mad the trip very accommodating. They called a Dr. for us and got us anything we needed while he was resting. The hotel is in a beautiful location and has such a great cafe right on the Bosporus. The rooms are a bit small, but stylish and feasible considering you're not really going to spend that much time in your room anyway. The food was okay at the cafe, but the view completely made up for it. There was a bit of a mosquito situation when we were there, as in we were eaten alive, but the staff was kind enough to get us those things you plug into the wall to repel them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Monira A,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus when you stayed with us back in September.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us even though your husband was not feeling well.

I will be sure to share your feedback about the food at The House Café which is our neighbor. As for the mosquitoes, since we are located right on the Bosphorus, they are present in the Summer months and early Fall but as you mentioned, we take necessary precautions to prevent any discomfort to our hotel guests.

It would be a pleasure to see you again at our hotel when your travels take you back to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Dubai and Happy New Year,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

For our wedding anniversary we stayed at this beautiful design hotel and got promptly upgraded to a room overlooking the Bosphorus Bridge. The staff were wonderful and most helpful, suggesting trips, making dinner reservations and getting us into the club next door, Angelique, which is notorious for it's queues to get in. Yes, the room was noisy at night (we stayed over a weekend), but we brought ear plugs and were fine. You just can't beat the view, the friendly staff and the design aspect of the hotel.

Room Tip: Definetly worth getting the direct view over the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear meganf,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

Your wonderful feedback is truly appreciated by my team and I. We are delighted that you had a memorable time at our hotel celebrating your wedding anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you travel back to Istanbul in the future.

Warm regards to London and Happy New Year,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our trip to Istanbul was a combination of our honeymoon and attending another wedding. The party advised us to stay at the Radisson Blue on the Bosphorus. My wife however opted for us to stay at the House Hotel right next door. The hotel really does its namesake proud. Its funky design combined with a homely feel really made us feel a kind of chic cosy that is hard to achieve. Its location is prefect, right in the middle of most important happenings with the area itself being lovely to walk around and enjoy. Perhaps the best part though was the fact that the same few people deal with you everyday, making you feel the kind of personalized service that one would not get at a large hotel. They handle every request and concern like you are a long term guest of the hotel with a kind of warm efficiency that we really appreciated. We are frequent travelers and don't usually stay at boutique hotels, but this one was a very lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryumania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Ryumania,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am very happy you had a lovely stay and enjoyed your time in Istanbul during your friends’ wedding.

Heartfelt thanks for your wonderful feedback, personalized service is indeed what we thrive to achieve for our guests during their time with us.

We hope to see you again at Bosphorus when you return to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Dubai and Happy New Year,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First of all I would like to thank the personnel of this hotel for making us feel such emotions of happyness and pleasure! )This Hotel is a Paradise from any point of view.
1. Bosphorus view - if you get the room on the upper floor with Bosphorus view you will enjoy it either in the morning or in the night - the view is fantastic (two pictures enclosed)!!!
2. Room and overall comfort - it is perfect: gorgeus classical interior, nice balcony, lots of sun-light even in the bathroom - the walls are made with glass. All bathroom equipment are of good quality and replaceble on a daily basis as well as sheets and pillow-covers.
3. Personnel - I have never met such nice and professional hotel staff - you feel that you are the only ones in this hotel and all their attention is towards you. Just big thanks and appreciation to you, dears!
4. Location - if you know the city and dont mind to be far from the main touristic and historical places that are in Sultanahmet as well as spending more money for getting taxi every time you want to go somewhere - it is ok! Ortakoy is a wonderfull area with it's own temper and culture, full of restaurants and night-clubs. Amazing place.
6. Food - breakfast is light, but food is very fresh and delicious.
7. Noise - Night clubs for someone could be anoying in the night as they work till 3-4 a.m. Problem for those who can not sleep when noisy. As well as Mosque nearby - they wake you up very early :) But it was ok for us - we find it very nice and colourful, it lets you feel you really are in this great, wonderful city with it's culture, religion and traditions. It is a part of it and if you go there you should accept it all!

Our resume - amazing hotel in amazing place with a dream-team on board lead by highly professional Manager Bahar! I give 10 from 10!!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper floors with Bosphorus view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Kasana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear 19Kasana79,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus in detail.

My team and I are grateful for your wonderful feedback and we truly appreciate your candor and recognition.

It is so great reading your comments about our hotel and service philosophy that you describe so well.

When your travels bring you back to Istanbul, it will be our pleasure welcoming you back to Ortakoy.

Warm regards and our best wishes to you in the New Year.

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#165 of 1,156 in Istanbul
461 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,156 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#147 of 1,156 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Property: The House Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing