We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #114 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

First of all I would like to thank the personnel of this hotel for making us feel such emotions of happyness and pleasure! )This Hotel is a Paradise from any point of view.
1. Bosphorus view - if you get the room on the upper floor with Bosphorus view you will enjoy it either in the morning or in the night - the view is fantastic (two pictures enclosed)!!!
2. Room and overall comfort - it is perfect: gorgeus classical interior, nice balcony, lots of sun-light even in the bathroom - the walls are made with glass. All bathroom equipment are of good quality and replaceble on a daily basis as well as sheets and pillow-covers.
3. Personnel - I have never met such nice and professional hotel staff - you feel that you are the only ones in this hotel and all their attention is towards you. Just big thanks and appreciation to you, dears!
4. Location - if you know the city and dont mind to be far from the main touristic and historical places that are in Sultanahmet as well as spending more money for getting taxi every time you want to go somewhere - it is ok! Ortakoy is a wonderfull area with it's own temper and culture, full of restaurants and night-clubs. Amazing place.
6. Food - breakfast is light, but food is very fresh and delicious.
7. Noise - Night clubs for someone could be anoying in the night as they work till 3-4 a.m. Problem for those who can not sleep when noisy. As well as Mosque nearby - they wake you up very early :) But it was ok for us - we find it very nice and colourful, it lets you feel you really are in this great, wonderful city with it's culture, religion and traditions. It is a part of it and if you go there you should accept it all!

Our resume - amazing hotel in amazing place with a dream-team on board lead by highly professional Manager Bahar! I give 10 from 10!!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the upper floors with Bosphorus view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Kasana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear 19Kasana79,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus in detail.

My team and I are grateful for your wonderful feedback and we truly appreciate your candor and recognition.

It is so great reading your comments about our hotel and service philosophy that you describe so well.

When your travels bring you back to Istanbul, it will be our pleasure welcoming you back to Ortakoy.

Warm regards and our best wishes to you in the New Year.

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    117
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
65
298
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here on business for one night. It's a great location near the river and imagine in the summer it's wonderful sitting outside on the Terrace.

We arrived and checked in. My top floor room was great, very spacious with a private balcony with lovely views. It had great in room facilities and the hotel staff we also very helpful arranging transport to both our restaurant and to our meeting the following day.

Overall really happy with our stay. Room was perfect and the dining and bar facilities are great.
Only down side is the 6am wake up by the call to prayer a few buildings away... although does add a cultural element to the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairesmithlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Clairesmithlondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are thrilled about your terrific comments and thank you for your feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the Summer, it is indeed a sensational experience that time of year.

Warm regards and Happy Holidays,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the House Hotel and had a great time. The location is fantastic, right next to the the water and fabulous views overlooking the famous Bosphorus bridge. Lovely, spacious room with a balcony. Loved the bathroom amenities - wish I could buy the shampoo which was superb. Delicious breakfast and very helpful staff. Will definitely be returning and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for something special

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Stef Q,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy to know you enjoyed our hotel and had a great stay.

I appreciate your input about our bathroom amenities - Lokum Istanbul created the “Istanbul Rituals” product line exclusively for The House Hotels.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again.

Warm regards to London and Happy Holidays,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

There is lots of good Thinge to say about this Hotel.
I World allways prefer to Seray in this attraktive area from Ustanbul, with unique view to the Bosphorus. the next door to Houshotel is the famos Night Club : Anjelique, allmonatlich the best Night and Disco in Istanbul.
Taksim is 10 Min by Taxi at Night

The only Negativ Point Is the the acustic condition. You will be wacke up at early in the Morning by the Azam Prayer

Room Tip: ASK for Bosporus superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof.dr.reza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Daryani187371,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards to Cologne and Happy Holidays,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This hotel had the friendliest staff I have ever experienced. I am happy to call them my friends after our 4 night stay at the hotel. The breakfast and housekeeping staff always welcomed you with a genuine, warm smile. Words cannot express how well we were treated, and It was a great feeling knowing that they would help us with anything, anytime, without question. All of the front desk staff were very helpful for finding attractions and restarants, and willing to have a conversation about anything. The hotel is in a prime location, right on the Bosphorus and over looking the breath taking city of Istanbul. It was very clean. Every inch was spotless! The rooms were great, they even painted the ceiling! They were large, with plenty of space to unpack.The bathroom was large as well with a blowdryer, shampoo and any amenity you would need. The mini-bar had very resonable prices, although we did not use it. The breakfast was fresh, diversified and delicious. Every type of food was available, and the breakfast room was very clean as well. Both the housekeeping and breakfast room staff were also very courteous.The value of the hotel was great.Our room was very quiet, and the beds were very comfortable allowing us to have great sleeps to re-energize for the next day of seeing the beautiful city of Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear chandna78,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are very happy to read your comments about your stay and glad that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for your kind words.

When your travels bring you back to Istanbul, it would be a pleasure welcoming you again to our hotel.

Wishing you a wonderful Holiday Season,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Unfortunately we did not have the pleasure of staying in this beautiful hotel, but we did experience an amazing branch in its restaurant.

To be honest it mostly turned out to a branch-dinner as, as soon we had a look at the menu we had to have it all. From the cocktails to the starters, the salads, the main courses don’t get me starting on the deserts, everything was superb.
An ideal setting with the most magnificent atmosphere and amazing view over the Bosporus.

Need not say that I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimmi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Dimmi10,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am so happy you enjoyed your brunch/dinner at our Lounge and experienced the magical Bosphorus!

We look forward to having you as our guest at the hotel on your next trip to Istanbul.

All the best and Happy Holidays,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed with a friend four nights at the House Hotel Bosphorus during a short leisure visit and chose the place due to its location in Ortakoy. The location is beautiful, facing the sea and with various small restaurants and shops in the surrounding area. We had booked a deluxe suite as the standard rooms only have king beds and we prefer to sleep in separate beds. The suite is spacious and the extra bed fitted well into the living room. Upon arrival, we had a welcome letter from the GM and some chocolates in the room. Also included in the rate were one large and two small bottles of water daily.
WIFI is complimentary, but sometimes the signal can be weak in one spot so it helps to move in the room to see where it is strongest.
All usual amenities are provided including bathrobe, slippers and also a hairdryer. The bathroom is rather small with a shower only. The thing missing is a wardrobe. There is only a clothes rack which is built on a kind of table hence it fits only short items like shirts. Instead of this rack, they could have built a small wardrobe into this corner so that clothes are not hanging in plain views.
The breakfast buffet is good, nice selection of items and eggs dishes on order. However, food items are not cooled and there is no sneeze guard.
The big turn-off is that some adjacent clubs are really loud; I was not able to sleep throughout our stay. If you have a light sleep, this place is not for you. The music is playing until early morning and the noise level is hardly bearable. When we complaint after the first night, it was clear that we were not the only ones to suffer. The staff and general manager whom we met, are all aware and used to deal with this complaint. We received a bottle of wine and more chocolates as well as a reduction of our room rate.
Overall conclusion: nice little hotel, beautiful old building, great location, but be prepared for some noisy nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProHospitalityCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#140 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#122 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#357 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#46 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Property: The House Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing