We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, well-managed boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #150 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Lovely, well-managed boutique hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We are currently enjoying the beautiful view from the 1st floor lounge at the House Hotel where we just checked out after a 3 night stay. The service here has been impeccable, from every person at the hotel. The wonderful staff at the front desk could not do enough for us, from helping with everything to literally running up the street to a spa regarding a question on our spa reservation.
The lounge where meals are served is a lovely, quiet place to enjoy the beautiful view.
In fact, you can order meals from the House Cafe downstairs to be served in the lounge and that's perfect if you're looking for a quieter place to dine.
We had two Deluxe Suites and the views are amazing. The rooms are large and comfortable.
As some others have noted, there is noise from nearby clubs and regular calls to prayer. It didn't bother us, perhaps if you are a very light sleeper, you should request a higher floor.
As we told Bahar, one of the most delightful Hotel Managers we've ever had the pleasure to meet, the dedication to excellent service and wonderful staff is all a testament to good management.
It was a delight to stay here and we look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TEEVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear TEEVEE,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. My team and I are grateful for your recognition and kind words, your feedback is just priceless…

Looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

My sincere thanks and best regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    118
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
65
303
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is right at the bosphorus with an wonderful view. Very good location to discover Istanbul. Great restaurants and clubs in the near neighborhood. I would recommend a room with bosphorus view! In the evening especially on the weekend its a bit noisy due to the restaurants and clubs around. Hotel staff is very well trained and very friendly. The hotel himself has unfortunately no pool. But 5min taxi ride brings you to a club called Suada which is right in the middle of the bosphorus with a great swimming pool and even better view.

Room Tip: I would book a room on the 3rd or 4th floor with bosphorus view. Our room was 405 which had a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Steffen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our local neighborhood. The room category you had, Superior Bosphorus, is indeed lovely with a balcony directly overlooking the Bosphorus. I am happy that you took advantage of the beautiful small island, Suada, which is also well liked by our guests due to its proximity to the hotel and the pool.

We hope to welcome you again to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very charming and nice boutique Hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff, amazing views, perfect service and great hospitality. The Hotela Manager Was really great and very kind and we loved our stay and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sanaz,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am very happy that your enjoyed your experience with us and greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback.

Looking forward to seeing you again at our hotel.

Warm regards to Berlin,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is my first ever post on Trip Advisor, but after spending the first two nights of our honeymoon at the House Hotel Bosphorus, I had to make a post. Given the occasion, we wanted to splurge, but the prices at the Four Seasons were outrageous. Also, staying in the Old City seemed like a guaranteed lack of rest and relaxation. The HHB had great reviews and our stay couldn't have gone better. We arrived and had a team of people ready to greet us in the lobby and help with bags. Yes, the elevator and rooms are a bit small by U.S. standards, but perfectly fine for any normal couple. The other difference from most U.S. hotels was the level of service. Everyone on staff genuinely cared for us and took it upon themselves to make sure we were enjoying our stay - especially given the honeymoon. At first the attention felt a bit over the top, but soon enough we came to appreciate the smiles, helping hands, and thoughtful recommendations. It turned out to be the highlight of our time in Istanbul. We booked a private cruise on the hotel boat, arranged an authentic Turkish bath next to the Blue Mosque, and enjoyed top rated dining at every meal thanks to Concierge recommendations.

THANK YOU to Bahar and everyone at the HHB for their care and attention. We'll never forget our time in Istanbul and the gracious hospitality you showed us.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms may be better to avoid noise. Then again, it's a city of 15m+ people - adjust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abegarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear abegarb,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

On behalf of my team and I, please accept our sincere thanks for your wonderful note. We are truly grateful for your recognition.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us to start off your honeymoon. I am thrilled that we were able to make this special trip even more memorable for you both.

Please know that you are always welcome to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again to celebrate many more special occasions in the future.

All the best,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

A charming boutique hotel on the Bosphorus, with great service , very well kept rooms and stunning views. Having traveled extensively, the minor details start to make a difference and I must say that the House Hotel Bosphorus did not disappoint in any respect. For me, service is an integral part of a hospitality experience, and this was one of the best I have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Amit,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It was a pleasure meeting you and your family, I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback which is very important for my team and I.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything perfect And Well thought. Great And very Nice manager And team! Nice lounge with dine breakfast and lunch; excellent massage service .Only detail to improve:( easy though to full fill) better provision of shampooing And bathroom devices And better regulation of the air conditioning system in the bathroom a bit too cool

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilonne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Gilonne,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel.

It was lovely having you as our guests, I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. My team and I thank you for your wonderful comments.

Deluxe Bosphorus Suite, the suite type you had during your stay with us, is a corner suite with full view of the Bosphorus and two balconies. We have only 4 of these suites in the entire hotel. As such, there is a certain premium for this type of accommodation, especially during Summer months which is high season for us.

Thank you for bringing to my attention your input about our bathroom amenities and the AC which I will have checked. We have a new partnership with the famed Lokum Istanbul brand which developed the unique “Istanbul Rituals” product line exclusively for The House Hotels.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Geneva,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

the house hotel ranks with the finest boutique hotels in the world. the views,
breakfast, service and charming manager bahar made our stay memorable
and truly special. the hotel staff treated our children like their own.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahar K, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sue,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It was a pleasure having you all with us! I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and had a fun trip. Many thanks for your kind words and recognition.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards to NY,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#159 of 1,150 in Istanbul
457 reviews
Besiktas
W Istanbul
W Istanbul
#117 of 1,150 in Istanbul
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#158 of 1,150 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,150 in Istanbul
408 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Property: The House Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing