We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a house than a hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Ranked #162 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“More like a house than a hotel!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It's taken me way too long to write this review but my wife and I stayed here for her birthday in January. We were made to feel so welcome by the manager (Ms Bahar Karaca) and her team and they really went beyond what was required. They could not be more helpful and it really felt that we were guests in someones home rather than a hotel.

The rooms were great and comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the Bosphorus river and mosque. The area (ortakoy) in general was just great and away from the tourist track (which was still easily accessible!).

I've recommended the House Hotel to many people and will continue to do so as I'll stay there again. I've been fortunate enough to stay in many hotels and I have to say the service here was some of the best ever!

Thanks!

JG

Room Tip: Check out any special deals through partners like Mr & Mrs Smith.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear JG,

Thank you so very much for remembering us and for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy you enjoyed your experience with us and felt at home which is exactly what we are aiming for. Your recognition is much appreciated.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and your support. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ortakoy.

Warm regards to Melbourne,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    118
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
65
305
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fantastic views, beautiful hotel and fantastic staff. We stayed at four seasons Bosporus after staying here. Both amazing and both different. This has the charm of a small hotel and the feeling that you are genuinely being looked after by the staff. Highly recommend House Hotel Bosphorus.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Angus C,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write about your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

I am very happy you enjoyed our unique attributes and most importantly the service level. You put it perfectly, the crux of our service commitment is to genuinely look after our guests.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and hope to see you again on your next visit.

Warm regards to Melbourne,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montebelluna, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 days at The House Hotel by the Bosphorous in Istanbul. The location (Ortakoy) and position are amazing; the view of the Bosphorous is breath-taking. Our room (we booked the Penthouse suite) had a beautiful view over the Ortakoy square and the bridge. Breakfast and its variety are extremely high. Staff of the hotel is very helpful and kind.
The restaurant and the cafè of the hotel are well-known for their food's quality and location.
I will definetly stay again this hotel in my next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea82tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear andrea82tv,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at The House Hotel Bosphorus.

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about our accommodations, breakfast and unique location.

Your loyalty is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Italy,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
bahar.karaca@thehousehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOZEMAN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous time in Istanbul because we stayed at The House Hotel Bosphorous. We were fortunate to get a deluxe suite with two balconies. Our views were outstanding. The atmosphere of the hotel was wonderful. We understand now why it's called "The House Hotel". The manager Ms. Bahar Karaca endeared herself to us very quickly. She was so accommodating and attentive, and went out of her way to ensure that we visited the right "local" spots. The entire staff was extremely helpful; the service was beyond excellence. The breakfast buffets were lavish and delicious. We want to thank everyone for making this trip one of our most memorable vacations. We highly recommend The House Hotel Bosphorous as a place to add to your bucket lists.

Room Tip: Corner suites with balconies are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Samuel T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus. My team and I are grateful for your wonderful words and recognition.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and that we were able to make this trip to Istanbul special for you both.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ortakoy someday again.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the HHB, the first impression was "Great Location" and "Amazing view" right on the Bosphorus! The Manager and staff are extremely friendly and helpful, always smiling...they gave us a warm feeling of a home. The house cafe is a very trendy young place to have lunch (try the pizza lahmeajun with ayran) and drinks at night. The only small issue was the noise of the night club Anjelique next to us...maybe next time we ll get a different room. But definitely I recommend and definitely I visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Zahra B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

My team and I are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our neighborhood Ortakoy tends to be very busy on the weekends with nextdoor Anjelique being one of the most popular spot in Istanbul nightlife.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Beirut,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed four nights in a Bosphorus view room, the manager and her staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating,the hotel and the people working there are truly charming in a very relaxed and natural way. The beds and pillows were perfectly comfortable and we didn't find the noise an issue, the choice at breakfast was excellent and the coffee was great. We really enjoyed the location, coming back after a hard days sightseeing to being by the water was really relaxing, yes of course the traffic in Istanbul is crazy, but we found using the public ferry service a really great way to get around. The reception staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and in booking tables, we spent our last evening eating delicious food right on the edge of the Bosphorus, what a lovely memory........

Room Tip: High Floor Bosphorus View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Greenmonkeys,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about The House Hotel Bosphorus in this much detail.

My team and I greatly appreciate your recognition and wonderful feedback.

We are very happy you enjoyed our accommodations, our rooms/suites with full Bosphorus view are indeed lovely and very special. I am particularly pleased that you took full advantage of the public ferry. We are situated right on the Bosphorus next to the Ortakoy public pier so taking the ferry from Eminonu area in the Old Town directly to our hotel is very convenient and pleasant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Istanbul.

Warm regards,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent service, very friendly staff and an amazing breakfast with a breathtaking view of the Bosphorus make for an unforgettable stay. Good value for money. We would definitely return despite the lengthy commute to the old city center.

Room Tip: If you pick a room with view to the Ortakoy mosque, you should know that it is currently under renov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
House_Hotel, General Manager at The House Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear J K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about The House Hotel Bosphorus.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to our hotel. In terms of the commute, you are right, traffic in Istanbul can be a headache at times, especially during rush hour. Here in Ortakoy, we have the advantage of having the public pier right next door to us. There are four different boats that take off from Eminonu (Old Town) and they stop right here at Ortakoy. Therefore I highly recommend this way of transportation to our guests. The commute by boat is not only very fast but also it is so much more pleasant to be on Bosphorus rather than enduring traffic.

Warm regards to Luxembourg,

Bahar Karaca
Hotel Manager
The House Hotel Bosphorus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Radisson Blu Bosphorus Hotel, Istanbul
Sisli
The House Hotel Nisantasi
The House Hotel Nisantasi
#165 of 1,156 in Istanbul
461 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#71 of 1,156 in Istanbul
440 reviews
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#144 of 1,156 in Istanbul
183 reviews
Besiktas
Renaissance Istanbul Polat Bosphorus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel Bosphorus

Property: The House Hotel Bosphorus
Address: Salhane Sokak No 1 | Ortakoy, Istanbul 34347, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The House Hotel Bosphorus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House Hotel Bosphorus is a landmark building built in late 19th century with magnificent views of the Bosphorus. Renovated by the internationally acclaimed design firm Autoban, the historical building has been transformed into a design boutique hotel. With its original features that have been restored, the Hotel combines historical glamour with contemporary design. The Ortakoy area where the Hotel is located is a lively area with restaurants, cafes and a wide range of stores. A few strokes away from The House Hotel Bosphorus is the landmark Ortakoy Mosque which is constructed on its own platform in the Bosphorus and offers almost 360 degree view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The House Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing