We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feeling like home in the heart of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Eye Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Eye Suites
Ranked #128 of 1,029 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feeling like home in the heart of Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in "Blue eye suites" - a clean and comfortable appartment in the heart of the old town of Istanbul. Every morning we got a delicious breakfast and in the evening we went to the great restaurants in the neighbourhood or prepared our own food in the well equiped kitchen according to our mood. All questions we had were perfectly answered by our wonderful host Ali. We can recommend Blue eye suites to everybody who is looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    40
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
49
42
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Really nice manager, decent location about 15 mins walk from the Hague Sophia etc, in a more residential, less touristy area. Decent accommodation. Would recommend. I'm now writing because trip advisor insists my review must be 200 characters long

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Blue Eye Suites was excellent in all respects, but one. We were in the 3rd floor apartment in June and the air-conditioner in the kitchen/living room is underpowered for the large rooms with high ceilings, and spacious halls. It was uncomfortably warm into the late hours of the night. Ali, as usual was helpful, and got us a fan which allowed us to sleep comfortably. That said, I would return to the Blue Eye Suites even in the summer. The kitchen and living room with large couch which turns into a double bed is comfortable. Breakfast is prompt and has plenty of variety on a single plate, but breakfast does not vary from day to day. The bathroom is small, but adequate unless you believe that paying $100 Euros per night for a 1 bedroom apartment 15 minutes from the Blue Mosque spoils your rating as a bargain hunter. The apartment is easily comfortable for 4. It is in a great location with rooms overlooking Kadirga Park. The neighborhood is a slice of life of Istanbul with a nice, cheap Tea Room, kadirga Cay Bahcesi, adjacent to the Park, a small market is across the street, and a block away there is a neighborhood sports club where men play cards all day and into the night on the covered sidewalk. The streets feel very safe at least until around 11 at night. The Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia are a 15 minute walk away and the Cemberlitas Tram Station and Grand Bazaar are 15 minute walk uphill. (If you are handicapped and older and do not exercise regularly do not try to walk the steep hill to the Cemberlitas Station and Grand Bazaar. The restaurants in the area have menus in English or pictures; the food is good and very reasonably priced. I particularly recommend Cesme, about 5 minutes away on the winding road to the Blue Mosque. The seafood restaurants at Kumkapi are a little more than 5 minutes easy walk away. Compared to the neighborhood restaurants they are expensive. Do not expect great seafood, but the outdoor seating on the pedestrian mall with musicians and strolling vendors offering a smoke from a hookah/ and the opportunity to buy a Ten gallon cowboy hat combinations is fun. It is filled with tourists but Turkish people like to go there too. The people in the shops in the neighborhood are very friendly, most tell you prices in English. Ali and Mehmet at the Blue Eye Suites are friendly and helpful. If you have a complicated request talk to Ali, whose English is good.

Room Tip: The steps are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R___D169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I had a week in wonderful Istanbul made even more special by our stay at Blue Eye and particularly the outstanding service and advice offered by Ali. If there were gold awards given out in Istanbul for service (maybe there is?), Ali would surely be a front runner from advice on local restaurants (the Imren which is very close to Blue Eye - amazing but not on TA on its own) to things to do, how to get to places etc, etc - outstanding. Very close to all the high profile sights and the airport pick up was most welcome.

We were in room 101 which is in the basement area - plenty of room in the living/dining area with good air con - well appointed. The bedroom and bathroom were compact but serviceable. There was a little noise from the street and the water pipes but nothing unmanageable.

We are already planning our next trip to Istanbul and there is no doubt we would stay at Blue Eye again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyre
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

We had a great time in Istambul, and blue Eyes Suites had to do with it!!! We have a baby and he was really comfortable at the apartment. Ali was very kind and helpful. Thanks once again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julipuig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

There are lots of things to like about the Blue Eye Suites. The location is great for the historic sites - a 15-minute walk (partly uphill, but not hard) to the Blue Mosque, another couple of minutes to the Aya Sofya and the Basilica Cistern, and close to one of the (few) gates in the sea wall so you can easily walk out to the coast and get cabs to other parts of the city if you want to. There's lots of space in the apartment, so you can spread out, and have the luxury of things like a fridge/freezer, and a very large and comfy sofa. There's a good range of small shops and supermarkets very close so you can stock up on the essentials. Wifi was strong and mostly very reliable. The bread at breakfast was lovely (we weren't keen on the rest, but since it seems to be standard fare in Turkey, it doesn't seem fair to criticise!). When we had to leave early, Ali was very understanding about the room charges, and very helpful, including taking us to the airport in his car when the taxi driver he'd booked didn't turn up.

However, we were disappointed with quite a lot of other things. The shower was strong but the shower head was tiny and badly placed, so it was difficult to get underneath it. Ali and his colleagues were often absent, so if we needed something, there was nobody to ask, and we had to pay to call him from our mobile. The website says the apartment has a/c, but the only unit is in the living room, so sleeping is very hard when it's hot. The bed is really hard - I have a firm matress at home, but this one was so hard it gave me backache. Various things were missing - mostly unimportant, but some more important, like anything to sleep under (there's only an undersheet on the bed), and a cable to attach the DVD player to the TV so you can watch DVDs (we asked for a replacement but it never turned up in four days).

But the most disappointing thing was the noise. The area is residential, and not very noisy in itself, but the apartment seems designed to let in whatever noise there is! The bedroom has windows on two sides, which are single-glazed and not well-fitted, so there are gaps, the walls are thin, and the floors are either not carpeted, or only thinly carpeted. Even on the top floor, we could hear people at ground level outside having a conversation at normal volume, which I just don't think is acceptable.

Overall, I'd say it wasn't a bad place to stay in the historic part of the city, but I certainly wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: Go for a room as high up as possible to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a very nice 1 week stay at Blue Eye suites which is conveniently located to access the historic sites in Istanbul easily. Ali, the manager is a very pleasant and helpful man. The apartment was clean and well maintained. There are plenty of good shops and restaurants in the locality but avoid the Ege Restaurant in the middle of Kumkapı - the dining experience there was awful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Furhan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#9 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Ada Hotel Istanbul
Ada Hotel Istanbul
#14 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
Walton Hotels Sultanahmet
#12 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Eye Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Eye Suites

Property: Blue Eye Suites
Address: Kadirga Meydani caddesi Donus Sokak No 4 Kucuk Ayasofya, Istanbul 34000, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 1,029 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Eye Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just ten minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace, Blue Eye Suites offers modern apartments with fully-equipped kitchens and air conditioning. All apartments are equipped with a private bathroom, satellite TV, and free Wi-Fi access. Guests can enjoy breakfast in the restaurant, or in the privacy of their own apartment. It is only a short stroll to little Hagia Sophia and the world famous Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Eye Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing