We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveler rating
670
195
28
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
195
28
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueold citygrand bazaarfree teawalking distancehagia sophiaottoman stylelovely hotelsitting areaa wonderful staysmall balconyno liftmajor attractionshotel is situatedsultanahmet squareby footbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 902 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is a small and cosy hotel ... not "great" or "best ever" as other reviewers said, but nice, specially in relation to its price. We opted for a hotel in the old town , to be within strolling distance from lots of Ottoman sites. On a previous visit to Istanbul, I stayed at the Hilton in the modern part of the city ... obviously convenient for business and shopping, but lacks Istanbul charm.

The hotel is divided over two buildings, with a small multi level garden in between, with lots of stairs to climb. It has a simple restaurant, where we only had breakfast .... very good buffet. The hotel has a small lounge, where coffee, tea, soft drinks, fruits and nuts are constantly on offer (complimentary)... which is actually a very nice touch.

The hotel is in a tiny uphill street , but a 10 minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofyia and not far from Top Kapi palace. Three major visitor destinations. It is nice to be able to go there or walk around in various times, without it being a trip with a limited time. You get a better feel for the place that way. We (my mother, wife and kids) were there in November, so the weather was nice during the day, a bit chilly in the evening.

Rooms are comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently stayed at this most charming hotel and wish I could anticipate another trip to Istanbul to stay there again! The room was lovely and very comfortable. Breakfast was the only meal I had in the restaurant but it was enjoyable and a good reason to go back. Manager Selçuk Topçu was friendly and helpful, really on top of everything, and all the staff were nice and guest-oriented.

MA

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed here in December 2011 and I cannot fault my stay. The room was very large and beautifully decorated, with a luxurious and spotlessly clean bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is traditional Turkish, with fresh omelettes cooked to order, served in a light and airy conservatory.

I'm looking for an excuse to go back to Istanbul, just so I can stay here again! Just a word of warning though, the hotel is located at the bottom of a very steep street, which you have to walk up to get to the tram stop or the main square, so this hotel might not be suitable for everybody.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The Rose Garden Hotel and Rose Garden Suites are in two converted townhouses connected by a garden on one block in the historic district of Sultanahmet. The area, around the Mehmet Pasha mosque is almost maze-like and you need to navigate by landmarks. I loved it, but it's definitely a good idea to let the hotel staff arrange for your airport pickup the first time as not all taxis can find it.

I stayed in a suite that was a large room decked out in Ottoman / orientalist style, complete with tasseled lamps, and gilded furniture and bedding. The marble bath and hot tub were up to the most modern standards.

The hotel has its own small restaurant, with excellent quality food. It's about a 10 minute walk to the main drag of the old city, Divan Yolu, where most shops and restaurants are located, and to the Blue Mosque and other historic sites. It's an easy taxi ride over to Istiklal street and the other modern amenities of Istanbul.

One of the greatest things about its hotel is its staff. They will help with any questions you may have about ferry boats, tours, shopping, places to visit, etc. Selçuk the manager is the best -- he's super friendly and an excellent representative of the hotel and all that's best about Turkish culture.

The only negative comment I have is that my room was on the 2nd floor and I could hear a lot of street noise at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmmLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel offers great character in a historic district. Pleasant rooms, a cozy on-site restaurant
and friendly staff made this place a highlight of my trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews