We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
670
194
28
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
670
194
28
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueold citygrand bazaarfree teawalking distancehagia sophiaottoman stylelovely hotelsitting areaa wonderful staysmall balconyno liftmajor attractionshotel is situatedsultanahmet squareby footbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
548 - 553 of 901 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I can really recommend the Rose Garden Suites in Istanbul. We had a great room and the staff was very helpful. The location is also close to the tourist attractions and we were able to walk to all the places. The breakfast - buffet was also very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterVoellmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We were only here two nights, at the start of our trip before we flew to Cappadocia, and then later in the week when we flew back and the next day embarked on a cruise ship.
We stayed in two rooms, the first a large room on the ground floor facing a courtyard and the second on a much higher floor with a nice view of the courtyard and the city. Both times we were impressed with the amenities - big bottle of water, a bottle of wine, teas, and really lovely rose scented soap in the bathroom.
The restaurant offered generous, tasty breakfasts. We had dinner there one night when we were quite tired, and it wasn't our best meal in Istanbul. Fine, but not great, and it really isn't much of a walk to many other choices.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Checking in and departure was smooth. The public garden and lounge did encourage lounging and the atmosphere was comfortable and the furnishings had more character than the typical commercial hotel.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were very nice. The ground floor room facing the courtyard was particularly spacious and may have been a bit quieter. The call to prayer at dawn may have been more muted down there - a big improvement! My husband opened the windows during the night in the room on the higher floor and the call to prayer at dawn was not appreciated!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank IthacaNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed for 7 days over New Years (Dec 2011-Jan 2012). Also related to the Garden House, sharing common areas and reception, etc. 7 days is a long time, but we loved it.

The place is a gem in Sultanamhet, and is easy walking distance from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, etc. I also cannot say enough about Selçuk and the rest of the staff. . We asked for a double with extra bed for ourselves and our son, and they gave us a good sized room that was not only well appointed but also served us well all week. The breakfasts were superb, and Ayhan organized a day trip for us to Ephesus - (general info: tours to Ephasus often have long waits for the flights back to Istanbul and ours was no exception) - an excellent value with a knowledgeable guide.

The Rose Garden Suites property was renovated in the past year or two, and the entire property (30+ rooms including the Garden House) is all new since 2006. We were on the 3rd floor (no elevator, not a possibility in this building) and had a very noisy family our first night (think kids screaming at the top of their lungs while running in the hallways ), but they quieted down as soon as we brought it up to Selçuk.

I was on a cane the entire trip , but did not have any difficulty with the stairs or with the location and the walking around the city from here.

On New Year's eve the hotel put on a reception with live music, talented and professional musicians who were also friends of the staff, for the guests, and also had a low cost option to have dinner at the hotel, which was very nice in a city where every restaurant charges an arm and a leg for New Years reservations.

Two suggestions for the hotel and for people who stay there.

The hallways are all marble and so they reflect the sound quite a bit. Carpeting the stairways would make it much quieter without detracting from the look of the marblework on the floors.

Ask for a large bottle of water every night during this time of year - it is very dry, and they do not automatically provide one.

We would stay here again the next time we are in Istanbul.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RHOBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed during the first week of december in this lovely hotel. The location is perfect as it is close to the must see places. Also, the room, the service and the staff have been great. Thank you selcuk, Aslan and the rest of the team for making our stay unforgettable. We hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fristyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed between Nov 6 - 12, 2011 and would not hesitate to return. We had the 5th floor suite with panoramic view of the Sea & rooftops along with balcony (be ready to climb stairs). The room was comfortable 3-4 star rating....if the duvet was changed for a down/feather it would make a big difference....but the view was wonderful. As well there is a fridge kettle coffee tea.

A welcome basket with fruit and wine was appreciated after a day of travel. Our package had a couple of great items which the staff arranged according to when we would like to have them..A night Boat Cruise on the Bosphorous with entertainment and meal was a great way to spend our first night. Transportation to/from boat was included.

Then the next day we had a private tour of the old city- Nesime Kaya 0090 534 646 08 77 - was the guide, she was so knowledgeable that we had hotel book her for an additional day trip to Bursa. - if you can fit this in it is well worth it ferry ride and stop at the turkish delight kitchen, tile factory, silk market, 20 domed mosque and if time permits take lift up the hill for a BBQ at the top.

The hotel is centrally located to the old city and the above ground metro system. Very easy following the tour to find your way around town. All staff were very friendly and helpful in recommending and arranging anything we were interested in coin - we went to the Dervish Dancers 212 511 46 26, a Turkish Bath Kardelen Spa 90 212 512 35 03 - everyone should experience both of these outings and my husband experienced a Turkish shave (just around the corner - Sadiq will give you directions) which he highly recommends!

The kitchen staff were very accommodating...even stretching breakfast for us on our fist day as we were late arriving - the omelettes were made to order and they have something very similar to a bagel (sorry can't remember the Turkish name for them) that is wonderful - The fresh figs cheese etc balanced breakfast. The "bagels" can be purchased warm from vendors at the Hippodrome Square alone with fresh pomegranate juice.

You should experience a meal at the hotel , good portions as well but they will also provide recommendations to local restaurants. We would recommend "Hamdi" restaurant 0212 528 03 90 but phone early for the rooftop.

It was a great holiday in a city that has so much history that we will have to come back and explore all that we missed to to time restraints. We would not hesitate to book again at the Rose Garden as staff really made our stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Being on the top we did not experience noise whatsoever
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EasyGoingRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews