We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #13 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
“perfect 2 nights”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Portus House was a wonderful getaway and hotel in which we felt comfortable. We had a double room with private bathroom, even though it was cold outside (Dec 2013) inside was warm and cosy. It is very clean, the staff was so friendly, they took time for us and told us where to go, eat. Also the breakfast was very good and lovely presented.
We would definitely choose Portus next time as it was in the middle of Istanbul from where you can walk every sightseeing.
Tesekkürler

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    64
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
143
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Portus House is a fantastic hostel (better than many hotels). The room was small but adequately spaced, and very warm (we went during a tough winter season and the fact that it was always warm was great), since it had always-on heat plus air condition. The room was super clean, and it was cleaned every day when we were out. Even our clothes were tidied up and put into the shelves. Te bathroom and toilet were also spotlessly clean and there was always hot water. The personnel was speaking good English and was very helpful. Breakfast was ok, not something amazing but still a decent breakfast to start your day.There was always hot tea and you could fix your own coffee in the kitchen anytime of the day.
Location is good, it's next to a metro station, but a bit far away from Taxim or Istiklal for example if you wanna walk (1,7 km).
Definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Npogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Price/quality ratio is perfect. It is located in the center in Istanbul. Museum of modern art is very very close to the hotel and it is must see place in the city. As the bathrooms are shared may be it would be a good idea to share it with friends (well it depends on friends but anyway) . So plan your trip to Istanbul with friends

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is probably the best hostel I have ever stayed at. I told this to the owner when I stayed there in February 2012 and she thought I was just being kind. I was so pleased with my stay last year, that I decided to book a second stay at the Portus in 2013. The people who work there are very kind and professional. They feel more like friends than hostel employees. Security is perfect, the breakfast is the best I have ever had in a hostel and the place is super clean. Portus is also very close to a metro and one of the fancy bridges. I will definitely stay there again next time I am in Istanbul. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevedmc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Portus is wonderfully conveniently located by the Galata bridge so we walked literally everwhere! Following the front desk's advice one day we went to Ciya restaurant on the Asian side by ferry just by the Portus House and one evening to the Karakoy restaurant. Both were great so we kept following the tips. All was clean and comfy with daily room service. Would recommend it anytime again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennysmithuk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The location cannot get any better! Modest though with style, we had a great time. The staff has great tips with enhanced our stay by far. Stay here and kick back. Also: cool cafes, restaurants and galleries in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabricklane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

In the shadow of Galata Tower in a relaxed and tourist free street was our home away from home in Portus House. Spotlessly clean with comfy beds and a wonderful staff who were helpful and friendly, we were delighted with our choice of a base from which to explore istanbul and beyond. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyatyamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#82 of 1,156 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#39 of 1,156 in Istanbul
741 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#42 of 1,156 in Istanbul
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#10 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#156 of 1,156 in Istanbul
171 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,156 in Istanbul
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Property: Portus House Istanbul
Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing