We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #15 of 1,240 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were a group of five who stayed here from 27th Dec to 1st Jan. We have only positive things to say about Portus House! The location is great, about 3 min walk from the Galata Bridge and a metro stop, close to the Taksim area and the main pedestrian shopping area. If you want, you could walk across the bridge to the old town and the main attractions like the hagia sophia and the topkapi palace in about half an hour, or an easy 4 stops on the tram.

The host, Cigdem, and all the other staff were friendly and helpful, offering suggestions about the best and easiest way to get around and see the sights. They were also more than happy to help us make reservations and enquiries. We were there for New Year's Eve and they helped us find somewhere to go for dinner. There is also a fantastic hammam (traditional Turkish baths) down the street which we highly recommend - the staff at the desk called and made a reservation for us.

There were some vegetarians and vegans in our group and they went out of their way to get different food for their breakfasts (breakfast was great, by the way) and did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one.

We would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohanmwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 420 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place has an insane amount of good reviews. I am kind of confused by that.

The place IS clean and the rooms are fine. The price is relatively reasonable, however I hotwired a nicer hotel nearby for cheaper. The place is very plain, stuff from Ikea. That's not a put down, it just looks more "modern" and stylized on the website than it actually is.

The location is cool. Right by the galata bridge, not in the tourist packed area. At the time I stayed they did not offer airport transport but it wasn't difficult to get to the nearby stop on the train. However, finding the actual hotel was pretty difficult. There's not a ton of signage in front of the hotel and there were no lights and everything on the street had metal gates down. If you're coming in late at night it's a little difficult to find!

I booked online and they ran kind of a weird deal with me which I would have interpreted as a scam. Essentially, though I was quoted in US dollars on the website, they required I pay in Euro in person. Obviously I had no Euro, so I could pay what they felt was the equivalent in Turkish money. That exchange rate was off from what every other exchange organization on Earth said it was.....in their favor.

I found the front desk and breakfast people kind of brusque and unchatty. The one time I did talk to the front desk guy for any length of time, he was horrified by the idea that I was taking a bus at the bus station and insisted he make a reservation for me instead which again was kind of weird since Turkish bus travel is really safe and popular.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortusIstanbul, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear jennybento,

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to share your opinion.
Unfortunately, I am rather perplexed about some of your comments, for this reason I would like to rectify the following points:
Front Desk
In hindsight, I am not able to comprehend exactly why you would perceive our team as unfriendly, though my suspsicion and hope is that there must have been a misunderstanding. Reading your comments it seems presumable that a well meant offer to make a bus reservation for you may have been misinterpreted and hence the team may have taken a step back to grant you with more privacy. I am glad though that you perceive travelling in Turkey to be safe, as we absolutely share your opinion here.

Exchange rates
To set the record straight: Our official hotel currency is set in Euros, as is in most venues in Turkey. Nonetheless, for our guest’s convenience we accept Euros, US Dollars and Turkish Lira at the current exchange rate. Referring to any official source for exchange rates will be enough to verify the conversion, though we do not accept rates that are published on any regular site. Again, what happened?

Transfer
We do offer airport transfers as stated on our website and in the confirmation emails we send after each booking. In addition, following the advice of former guests, we have added a while ago detailed walking directions and maps on our website, which anyone can follow from the tram stations to Portus House. I regret, that on January 2012 when you actually stayed with us, this information was not on the website yet.

Looking backi I wish I had met you in person as the game changers mentioned here seem all service related. What a pitty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

In addition to the safe, great location and confortable rooms, we have to highlight that the staff were so thoughtful than ever we have had in any hotel. Thanks a lot for the delicious breakfasts, my children are still talking about them.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor looks better if do not like the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayi294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Portus House Istanbul is a little gem, and was a home-away-from-home for my husband and I during our eight-day stay in Istanbul. Cigdem and her staff are delightful to deal with - ever helpful, always on hand, and full of great advice and information about their beautiful city. We took advantage of the free transport offered by Portus House from the airport, with the driver explaining info about the city as we drove to the hotel. Our room was comfortable, clean, and quiet, and even though it did not have an ensuite, the shared bathroom (spotlessly clean!) was literally two steps down the hall, and we had it to ourselves for our entire stay. Breakfast was lovely - fresh bread every day, jam and cream cheese, a small salad, chocolate spread, and all the tea, coffee and apple tea we could drink. Best of all was the location - Portus House is smack-bang in the centre of everything. A ten minute walk across Galata Bridge to Istanbul's iconic sites in Sultanahmet, a fifteen minute walk to the restaurants and nightlife of Istiklaal Street, moments away from fish restaurants, ferries, the tram stop. Next time we're in Istanbul, we'll definitely go back to stay with Cigdem and co. at Portus House Istanbul. Highly, highly recommended. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This place was one of my highlights in all of Turkey. Amazing Value, well located - close to the shopping districts, but as well to public transport. Rooms are beautiful, and I even got upgraded to one which was a bit larger, beautifully decorated in blues, whites, and modern minimalist art. It felt like my "home away from home" and it was a nice departure from the overtly grandiose hotels, or the dingy-looking hotels I had stayed in prior while visiting Istanbul. They also had the fastest internet connection I found during my entire 2+ week stay in Turkey. I've recommended this place to all my friends. In a few words: Stunningly Modern-Chic designed rooms; Clean, Great Location in the heart of Modern Istanbul; Friendly Staff, Great Breakfast, Freedom of living in your own apartment.


  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlAddicted2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's a cozy hotel, central, clean and comfortable. Period. The service though is top notch! All staff members were very friendly and helpful from the the first moment we received the confirmation email of our booking until our departure. Since the city is vast with dozens of To-Do options, the genuine guidance of Portus staff was invaluable helping us to make the most out of our visit. We enjoyed the option of having free apple tea and coffee in the lounge during the day where we also had a chance to meet fellow travellers. Our double room with ensuite bathroom was comfortable & tastefully designed with a terriffic air condition, heating unit, TV with loads of international channels, bed side lamps, safe, hair dryer, lovely shampoo,lotion, shower etc. set (lavender!), some Turkish Delights to greet us... If you are looking for a decent place with professional people in a central & trendy location a stone's throw from the wonderful Bosphorus, stay here. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visitor849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our first trip to Istanbul we stayed at Portus and were really pleasantly surprised by the place. Approaching the location at night was a bit difficult as it's tucked away on a side-street in a non-touristy area, but like other great little finds I've experienced, the interior was in great contrast to the exterior. Once we climbed the steep stairs to the lobby we were surprised at how orderly, clean and nicely decorated the place was. The rooms are really comfortable and well taken care of and the breakfast was served in a spotless kitchen with free wireless and all the mod cons. We especially enjoyed the location as it's just a short walk to the ferries, seafood eateries and Gallata bridge and the trams. The price is right too! Nice little find!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#37 of 1,159 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#89 of 1,159 in Istanbul
210 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#48 of 1,159 in Istanbul
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#38 of 1,159 in Istanbul
582 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#157 of 1,159 in Istanbul
175 reviews
Karakoy
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
Novotel Istanbul Bosphorus
#229 of 1,159 in Istanbul
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,240 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing