We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Portus House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portus House
Ranked #15 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located just across Galata Bridge it is an outstanding place for everyone wanting to escape from the over-priced and tourist-oriented Sultanahmet. Portus House can be reached very conveniently by tram, as well as by bus or ferry. As mentioned in previous reviews, there is a supermarket just across the street, so you can keep your budget tight easily. We reserved a room for two, but instead got a three-bedded one, which was great, since we had more than enough place to keep our stuff on. However, the walls certainly need re-painting (blood spots from squeezed mosquitoes are not among the most pleasant of views) and the breakfasts could have been more ample (note that this is my opinion, as my better half kept saying that they were OK). Overall — highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mateusz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 421 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Portus House was a great find for us first-time-to-Istanbul travelers. We were there a total of 7 days, and Cigdem and her staff Ahmet and Ismail were wonderful...always willing to answer any question and provide help, advice and insights. Because we were not interested in being in Old Town Istanbul amidst high tourist traffic, this Karakoy location was perfect for us; the port, ferries, Taksim, the Old Town and beyond were within walking distance or mere metro stops away. Portus House is in a quiet, developing section, an area that looks on track to be its own destination. (Karakoy has coffee and tea places, some little shops, markets and restaurants. Buildings are being renovated and port and shipping-related concerns are located there.) PH rooms were comfortable, shared baths/WC completely fine, and the housekeeping great. We appreciated the special breakfast treatment that everyone got in the mornings...thank you! With any luck, we will go back; we will certainly recommend PH to anyone interested in Istanbul. Because of a dearth of signs on smaller Istanbul streets, getting a good fix on the hotel's location in advance is advised...once you're there, it's easy to find.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Myself and 3 friends stayed in a 4 bed ensuite room here last week for 5 nights, it's easily one of the best hostels i've ever been too, immaculately clean, great breakfasts, the location meant we could walk pretty much anywhere we needed to go, it's opposite a supermarket so kept our expenses down and the staff couldn't do enough for us.
Special mention to Ismal, Ahmed and the lady owner who were unfalteringly polite and friendly recommending places to go for all budgets and making sure we got the most out of our 5 days.

I would recommend Portus House to everyone! Thank You for making our Istanbul trip unforgettable!

Room Tip: Our room was fab and I heard the same from others staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location near the tram and underground, but tucked in a small street so it isn't that noisy (but a bit unnerving if the first time you get there is late at night!). Has a supermarket right across the building, so very convenient if you want to keep your budget low.

We were a party of 5, so got a 2-bed room and a 3-bed room. The 2-bed room was bright and airy. The 3-bed room, however, was narrow with just 1 window and the twin bed in the far side so it got quite stuffy at night (the room was just big enough for the bed so you have to get on bed from the end). Wardrobe space was also an issue in the 3-bed room. Rooms are generally clean, but 1 girl had slight allergy problems (not sure if due to cleaning agents or bed creepy crawlies??).

Shared bathrooms, but as we occupied the entire hallway they're all ours. Toilets and showers are separated, which is great to save time. Unfortunately the basin is really shallow so we always got ourselves and the floor wet, and we never found out how to turn on the ventilation in the shower room.

Great breakfast, and will always remember the half-cooked hard-boiled eggs and the great cheeses. Staff are helpful and friendly (e.g. try to think of ways to help you minimize laundry bills). Overall, great stay, great location and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We've stay 6 days at Portus House, and had a nice stay. Portus location is really good, in a quiet place but close to tram and Taksim and Sultanhamed areas.

The hostel is quite new, beds are confortable and breakfast is included. Staff is really police and helpful. The only thing I missed is a common area for guest (living room), but Portus is really a very good option for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgejiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It was my first time in hotel "Portus" with my family and everything was perfect! The place is absolutely clean and It feels like you're home!!!
The location is perfect and it saves a lot of money for transport. Also there is a parking place really close to the hotel with fair price so you can walk (definitely it's better). The staff is really friendly and helpful, you can ask them to recommend nice places, restaurants, coffee's.
"Portus" is sweet like turkish delight and it's a place that we will visit again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Borislav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Portus House has at least few excellent qualities. This cosy and clean hotel has the best location (close to galata tower-bridge, istiklal street, tram or cruise stop) in a quiet area. The staff are friendly, super helpful, and speak English and German. Simple breakfast is served in a homely atmosphere and a little Turkish delight welcomes you in your room . Definitely a great place to stay,while in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms with shared bathroom are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinikaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,178 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,260 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#11 of 1,260 in Istanbul
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,260 in Istanbul
788 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,260 in Istanbul
944 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#18 of 1,260 in Istanbul
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,260 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $28 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Portus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing