We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel for budget travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #13 of 1,221 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Rijeka, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel for budget travellers”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Portus Hotel is a great place to stay during your stay in Istanbul. Location is great and you can arrive very easy to every point of interest. The owner and staff are very friendly and helpful, and rooms are clean and comfortable. There is no breakfast, but you can use kitchen for free and prepare your own breakfast. The grocery shop is just across the street.

If you need simple accomodation without paying a lot of money, Portus Hotel is excellent choice and their staff will help you with all informations that you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrejHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganos, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Andrej,

Thank you very much for making the effort to share your experience with the world. Indeed, I and my staff also had pleasure in serving you.

Taking your advice, as well as several other guest's, we have started to serve breakfast now, to enhance our visitors' experience even further. Thanks for the recommendation, it is really important for us to hear your wishes and make them come true to the utmost extent. Next time you are around, please feel free to visit us for a cup of coffee.

Best Wishes from Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    64
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
61
143
43
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Svilengrad, Bulgaria
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stay in Portus a very sweet boutique hotel in Istambul.I,ve been many times in this huge city and the hotel and especially the personal make me feel like being home away from home.First I was very difficult customer arriving in 6 o'clock in the morning with a lot of luggage and although i knew that my room will not be ready I decided to go in the hotel.The receptionis greet me with a huge smile and a cup of free coffee.this smal things make a big difference to me.Working in the turist industry(Princess cruises line) I'm very critical about the service so I garantee the service in that small hotel is more than excellent and immaculate.This is what impress me most and will make me go again and again everytime when I'm in istambul in this hotel.other wise like hotel the room impress me with their cleaness and nice design.The location is very easy and near to the heart of the downtown.Good job to all the personal and keep it that way

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petya n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganos, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Petya,

Thank you very much for taking some time off your busy schedule to share your experience here. I was taken by surprise when reading your humble lines, resulting in a feeling of deep gratefulness. As you are aware, in this industry it is always satisfying to read about positive experiences making all the hard work that goes into excellent service worthwhile.

As you mentioned, our position is superb for cruise liners because we are in a one minute walking distance to the cruise port entry. This is indeed one of the reasons why cruise guests have come to choose us more and more.

Again in the name of the entire staff I would like to thank you and hope to welcome you again at Portus Istanbul.

Kindest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

After staying in a hotel in Sultanahmet for 3 nights, Portus was a very nice and refreshing change! We would definitely recommend this hotel. Portus opened only a couple months ago, but its friendly staff runs the operation very smoothly.

Our clean and spacious room was on the top floor. It was decorated nicely, with a modern/edgy flair.

Since it is not located on a major street, the hotel is very quiet, a rare bonus in Istanbul. Portus is centrally-located, just down the hill from Galata Tower, close to the water and just a short tram ride away from all the touristy attractions in Sultanahmet. While we spent most of the day in Sultanahmet, it was nice to "escape" all the tourists and noise at night.

Portus does not offer continental breakfast, which wasn't a big issue for us. It is easy to find food at nearby shops or at the grocery store across the street from Portus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calimanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganos, Manager at Portus House Istanbul, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Julia,

Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback about our venue. I was thrilled to read your high praises and am thankful for you passing this experience on to fellow travelers.
Indeed, we have chosen this very location for its unbeatable convenience when it comes to visiting Istanbul and making the best out of it - even if your stay is only for a couple days.
As you mentioned, we sincerely hope to be honored with your visit once again when you are in this part of the world. Then, you will experience that we have taken to heart your wish to add breakfast, as we have started in December to do exactly that.

All the Best from Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you are not looking for a hotel with a spa and a huge breakfast buffet, but just for a good and affordable place to sleep, the Portus hotel is your spot. Althoug I was tavelling alone I got the gigantic four-bed room 0 (tip!) which looked very neat and was nice and clean with comfortable beds. Okay, I did not have any view, but I sleep with my eyes closed and didn't go to Istanbul to spend my time on a hotel room. The room was silent and cool so I didn't use the aircon and just opened some windows. The staff is extremely helpful (to say the least) and gave me some good suggestions for things to see which are off the beaten track. The hotel is located a stonethrow away from the Galata bridge, i.e. very central. If you are a keen walker, you can cover all the city's landmarks from the hotel easily. There's no breakfast, but plenty of places to get one in the vincinity. Loved it.

Room Tip: Gigantic room 0
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPbrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

very good, perfect service, good location! receptionist were very helpful and friendly, rooms were very cleaned, family atmosphere, perfect and near to all important sights and places located. perfect german and english conversation!
thanks aspecially to Ismail for his friendly helps and insider tips!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran_B103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The welcome is charming, the ideal place to cross the old town. The decoration of brings to room temperature and of the hotel is pleasant and design. We can take the tea throughout the day in a very well equipped cooking(kitchen)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fradin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My parents and I stayed at Portus in early August for a week. Having chosen it off Tripadvisor reviews, I can say that it fully deserves it's strong ratings. A quirky, boutiqe hotel, it is in a great and central part of Istanbul, close to Galata Bridge, Taksim and all the other fun parts of Istanbul you want to explore by foot. Cigdem, Fırat and Isamil were very helpful and kind, with good suggestions of where (and where not) to go. The rooms are spotless and cleaned daily, and if you book two rooms, you can have your own 'wing' of a floor. We had a great time during our stay in Istanbul, and a large part of that was because of our stay at Portus.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#70 of 1,154 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#37 of 1,154 in Istanbul
741 reviews
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#41 of 1,154 in Istanbul
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Witt Istanbul Suites
Witt Istanbul Suites
#17 of 1,154 in Istanbul
1,016 reviews
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#56 of 1,154 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#7 of 1,154 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Property: Portus House Istanbul
Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,221 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing