We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, even though hotel could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarnic Premier Hotel
Ranked #349 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

At your arrival don't be scared by the entrance, the hotel shares the reception with the Sarnic Hotel but the buildings are divided by a communal garden.

Pros:
1 - Excellent location, 2 mins walking distance from Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace.
2 - Staff always helpful regarding maps, restaurants and any suggestion regarding the city.
3 - Nice terrace facing the Blue Mosque.
4 - to be a 4 stars in the heart of the old city, very competitive price for a double room.

Cons:
1 - My and my boyfriend travelled with a couple of friends and we spent 3 nights at the Sarnic Premier Hotel. Our room was not so clean as expected, dirty floors (not wiped), hair into the shower and on the floor, a lot of dust due to velvet curtains and bedding (not fine for people allergic to dust). I have to say though that our friends' room was fine, they had none of the things above.
As we arrived in the evening the room could't be cleaned on that moment but the next morning they cleaned deeply everything.
2- Breakfast mostly salty, not a large choice of sweets.

Overall if you get a clean room from the beginning the hotel is really good, a great choice to start your days visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiorgiaMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 314 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location just steps from the historical hub was fantastic! The hotel itself though needs a serious face lift. It could use new carpet and paint in the halls. The airport transfer was late and I had to wait wondering if someone would show up at all. The room was small, clean but was worn - the robe set on the bed was so old it had holes in it! I left it out for the housekeeping to replace but they never did;the amenities were budget and the face cloth was not replaced. The breakfast buffet was good enough and the room bright and clean; the coffee though was horrible and from a machine that needed serious cleaning! The final blow was when one of the staff got a ride home in the airport transfer with me and he did not share in the cost. I would only advise if you are on a budget and the small things do not bother you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading dozens of reviews of hotels close to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace - had actually booked another hotel first but cancelled and picked Sarnic Premier instead due to its great reviews (and proximity to all the main attractions).

When the taxi pulled up in front of Hotel Sarnic it looked nothing like the photos on the web. From the outside it seemed much smaller, older and "humbler" and when we got into the reception it was the same thing, definitely not what we wanted or expected. It turns out that the hotel has two separate sections, Sarnic and Sarnic Premier, that share the same reception - I'm not sure about Sarnic but the exterior and the reception definitely don't do Sarnic Premier justice.

The rooms, on the other hand, were exactly like the online photos: good size, newly renovated, tastefully decorated, modern bathrooms, minibar, (small) flat screen TVs, bathrobes/slippers etc. The breakfast buffet was also just as good as we'd heard: not too westernized and with lots to choose from, both hot and cold, and you can enjoy it in the small but cozy garden. Finally, the rooftop restaurant had a great view of both the Blue Mosque and the water plus some of the best and most reasonably priced food we had in Istanbul - and exceptionally friendly and fun staff!

In summary: we'll be back next time we go to Istanbul and we encourage everyone else to consider Sarnic Premier - it may not look like a lot from the outside but it's great on the inside and really good value for money!

Room Tip: We stayed in 213 and 214; both were good but 214 was at the end of the hallway and significantly big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyPandy0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Sarnic Premier is in the absolutely ideal place for exploring historic Turkey. All the main sights are within walking distance as are dozens (or more) of lovely restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable enough, though a little on the small side with not very much storage space. The rooftop bar is a nice place to go for a drink at sunset or before bed and again with really welcoming staff. The rooms we stayed in did overlook a derelict building/building site which detracted from our experience a bit and the road was quite noisy at night making it a little difficult to sleep. The walls did also seem rather thin, we could hear people talking, showering etc. Having said all that, I'd recommend the Sarnic for its position, service and great value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyCadiz-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you want to be right in the centre of things then this is certainly the hotel for you, if you want a large room then you might want to pass. I enjoyed the experience of being right in the centre of things and being able to walk to all the great landmarks that Istanbul has to offer, even at night it felt safe walking around and the atmosphere around the Blue Mosque was always humming even late in the evening and well worth seeing with all it's lights at night. I was lucky enough to be able to see some of it from my window, and of course there's a restaurant on the roof which offers an impressive view also - forget about the big room and stay at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited Istanbul last April and stayed in Sarnic premier hotel for five nights. Hotel is sharing reception and entrance with sister hotel Sarnic 3*. Entrance is small from typical Istanbul street no parking space available. Rooms are small in general and all have en suite bathrooms, room interior is mix of traditional and modern styles. Most of the rooms are facing garden so there is no view. Breakfast was very good served in small restaurant in the basement. Overall hotel is nothing special but the best thing about this hotel is LOCATION. You are in the tourist center of Istanbul literally in three minutes, short walk through small bazaar near the hotel will take you there. Staff was very helpful and ready to help. I can recommend this hotel to people who don't care for luxury but want to be in great location.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasa608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

180 meters from the Blue Mosque, this nice little hotel offered us perfect and friendly service from all, including reception.
OK restaurant at the top flor, with great view to the Blue Mosque, and a nice garden where we had our breakfast.
Small but clean rooms.

Erling Kragh-Pedersen, Denmark.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erlingkraghpedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#249 of 1,159 in Istanbul
97 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#73 of 1,159 in Istanbul
513 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#389 of 1,159 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#296 of 1,159 in Istanbul
347 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#454 of 1,159 in Istanbul
185 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#234 of 1,159 in Istanbul
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarnic Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarnic Premier Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Sifa Hamami Sok. No: 7 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $41 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarnic Premier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarnic Premier Hotel is a new, comfortable, modern and stylish hotel in the heart of Istanbul’s historical area Sultanahmet (Old City). We have a unique view of the Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque) and the Sea of Marmara. Our hotel is just steps away from Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome and Obelisks, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarnic Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing