We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately, Painful”
Review of The Other Tour

The Other Tour
Ranked #38 of 409 Tours in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Other Tour offers unique one day cultural experiences in Istanbul. Our mission is to provide curious, open minded travelers with the opportunity to discover how Turkish people live and thrive in Istanbul. Away from typical tourist attractions, we dive deep into Istanbul (a city of over 16 million people) to immerse ourselves in the lives of local residents. During this guided adventure our Turkish neighbors open their hearts and homes to us, sharing with us their customs and traditions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, Painful”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you can get past the rude, sexist, racist, anti-religious, crass, lewd comments and overtly sexual advances, the tour can be quite interesting and the guide, quite knowledgeable. I would highly recommend pushing to experience a Turkish bath for more bang for your buck instead of spending 4 hours aimlessly wandering around neighbourhoods in the afternoon. Lunch at the tour guides mum's home was delicious and she's a doll but the tour guide at the end of the day is a horny 25 yr old turning 13 and after 10+ hrs together, you can tolerate it until you can't - which seems like a very expensive experience to submit oneself to. It's like a combination of Family Guy and South Park, without the smart wit and gone terribly wrong, where you emerge desperately needing a shower. Overall, great in concept, but expensive for what you get.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
22 Thank LifeofTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    25
    8
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“YOU WERE WARNED”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

In April, we were on "The Other Tour" which, if you take the time to do any research, is described as an Experience. And for us it was a Once In a Lifetime Experience. Anyone who read the reviews, as well as the explanation of the tour by the owner, would conclude that it might be a bit edgey. As seniors we can honestly say that there were times when we were a little uncomfortable. But on the other hand, we enjoy being taken out of our comfort zone and we enjoy great discussions with differing points of view. What we learned about Turkey and Istanbul, past and present, was amazing. Those who feel Fethi is rude, immature and disrespectful of others' opinions need to give their heads a shake. He is young, bright and has just what it takes to provide a tour of Istanbul that allows open minded people who have experienced one too many run of the mill tours, to leave Istanbul with a wonderful experience. And just as a sideline, we were two of four people on the tour. Also, we are from Canada and do travel a fair amount. Stan and Janet

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank jamalontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Be Warned”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went on this trip 6 months ago and I've purposely waited to write a review in hopes that my memories would mellow a bit. My wife and I did not enjoy it for many of the same reasons that have been described in the other negative reviews. Ironically, the places you visit, the meals, the overall itinerary of the tour is actually good. We had food or drink in five or six places, take a boat ride, have a wonderful meal in the host's mother's house, go to a Hammam, and have a nice dinner in a popular restaurant. The cost of the tour is reasonable. The problem is that Fethi is extremely immature, rude, antagonistic, hypocritical, unsympathetic, and insecure in his faith and his beliefs. He asks that you be open-minded to his close-minded, 'my way is right and yours is wrong' mentality. If you are in a large group, you will likely only suffer periodic insults and direct exchanges with him and you will be able to get away when you need to. If, however, you happen to be in a small group, you will be exposed to a non-stop barrage of insults, criticism, and intentional comments made to inflame you and coax you into an argument with him or force you to defend your job, your culture, your beliefs, etc. He will not stop no matter how nicely or forcefully you ask him. We tried both. My wife described it as being at a performance of the most rude insult-comedian you know and being the only person in the audience.

So, to sum it up, this tour is 14 hours long and you have no way of knowing how many other people will be on the tour with you. If you sign up, be prepared for the possibility of an experience like ours.

Be warned!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
26 Thank DSims473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Genius and eye-opening”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I joined The Other Tour last week and experienced something that can't be easily explained with words. We had an amazing day going around Istanbul's hidden spots, real neighborhoods and talking about the most exciting topics on life.

I have read the recent negative reviews and I must say that this tour is not for everyone. It requires attention, education and a good sense of humor. I understand how some people could get offended by the jokes that Fethi might tell on the tour. But you should also know that Fethi (the creator and the guide) is one hell of a special guy. It is highly unlikely that you would ever meet someone like him.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Hazal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Innovative Know It All Makes Istanbul Unforgettable”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

As you have probably read by now, the tour guide Fethi is quite arrogant and unreserved. But, he is onto something. He provides a unique life experience to be infused In a culture that one would definitely not have access to otherwise. If you have the stomach and tolerance to put up with his philosophies on life (mind you-he is 25) opinions about capitalism and his possible negative judgement of your own country, you may actually enjoy this tour. :) you have to be open minded however. All in all this tour as thoughtful and Fethi was real. I walked away thinking how brilliant this young man was to execute on this idea in such and organized and albeit ridiculously professional way (note: i am talking about the execution). Hopefully he doesnt self sabotage too much so that others will get to experience the wonderful opportunity that I had.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank HassaniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Other Tour also viewed

 

Been to The Other Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing