We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget price but not budget room”
Review of Siesta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Siesta Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,051 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ovacik, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Budget price but not budget room”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March with my parents, brother and my boyfriend (3 rooms). We had a massive room and a lovely bathroom. Flat screen tv on wall, wifi in all rooms (free of charge) and mini fridge in room, which we weren't expecting after paying so little for a city hotel. We had a radiator in our room, but had to make sure it was turned off as got way too hot in the room. The only negative about this hotel is that it does get a lot of noise from the Mosques in the area (living in Turkey I know this can't be avoided) but as well as that there is a train line outside and the room actually shook when a train went by, which went on all through the night. The hotel is in a very convenient location, close to all sightseeing, we didn't use the tram/underground at all and only got a taxi back from Taksim square once. Breakfast was typical Turkish, but I would recommend getting down early as it finished at 10am but we got down by 9:15am and not much left. If I was going back to Istanbul and this hotel was as cheap as I paid this time I would definatly stay again! The staff were also very helpful, we needed to use their computer on our last day as needed to print some travel documents off and other information and that was no problem to them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie-louise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
38
27
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Real basic room. The mosque ıs behınd but the wındows are sound proofed. No heater was on ın my room March and the evenıngs were cold. One dooner blanket ıs provıded on each bed wıth pıllow. I put more clothes on. There ıs no elevator so carryıng heavy bags up and downstaırs mıght be an ıssue for some. A kettle was provıded but you have to buy your own tea bags and mılk. I lıked the quıet area ın Sultanahmet but ıt was not an easy hotel to fınd. Brown buıldıng wıth no sıgnage. I told the man he saıd ıt was broken and showed me wıres comıng out of the wood. I'm not sure that a sıgn was ever there. Breakfast very average - not much on offer at all - oh and ıf you're tall watch your head - duck down ın the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Dont take room on fırst level. I had 103 and the nıght receptıonıst smoked so the smoke wafted up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havachatkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel was very clean and our room was bright and comfortable. Location is ideal as it is only a few minutes' walk from Hagia Sophya and the Blue Mosque. Breakfast was included and was very good, staff were very friendly and helpful. The train track adjacent to the hotel was noisy when we had the windows open, but didn't bother us at night. The walls were a bit thin as we could hear the family next to us and their young child at times, but this would be my only complaint. No elevator, so not ideal for people with mobility issues or heavy luggage.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the back of the Blue Mosque - ask for a room with a view of the Blue Mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EinsteinCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Very nice Hotel, clean & decent. rooms are very nice, renovated, toilet is clean etc
breakfast was ok :). Staff was very nice and very helpfull. Only minus is that is next to the rail and you can feel the vibration of passing trains almost every 40 min, but you get used to it. All in all would recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marko I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

For the price, it is a really nice hotel. Rooms are huge and clean and it is located near turistical points. Staff is also really nice. I just had one problem with the hotel: because it is close to a train railway, and the trains work also at night, quality of sleep is not the best if you wake up easily with noise. Also, this is not the best neighbourhood if you want a nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danivalentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Pros:
-hotel is fairly new with modern finishings
-clean
-about 10 minute uphill walk from major sights in sultanahmet
-decent buffet breakfast spread
-A/C works well

Cons:
-IMPORTANT: management is incompetent. I specifically requested a twin room only to arrive and find out that the manager had booked us into a regular room with one bed. Manager insisted that I had not requested the twin room but I double-checked our correspondence. We were moved to a twin room the second night and refunded half the first night's fee.
-borders an above ground train line that shakes the building whenever it passes by. trains stop running at 1 am though only run every 15-20 mins or so so was able to fall asleep and didn't wake up. if you are a very light sleeper, this might be a deal-breaker for you
-taxi drivers don't know where it is or the little street it's on. would suggest telling them "Kucuk Aya Sofya Caddesi" which is the street they are near or just "Kucuk Aya Sofya" which is the neighborhood
-ceiling in the bathroom was leaking heavily on our last night

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euph222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Excellent location, 10 minutes on foot to the Blue Mosque. Room was clean, and appeared as it did in the photo. Two minor complains: wifi signal is very weak; and when I emailed and faxed in advance to request airport pickup, they did not respond. Staff was friendly and helpful. A fine choice for budget accomodation in a prime location. There is a nearby train but it did not run during the late evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#22 of 1,150 in Istanbul
998 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bucoleon Palace Hotel
Bucoleon Palace Hotel
#270 of 1,150 in Istanbul
262 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Inn Hotel
Sultanahmet Inn Hotel
#332 of 1,150 in Istanbul
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,150 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalinn Hotel
Lalinn Hotel
#19 of 1,051 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Walnut Shell Hotel
Walnut Shell Hotel
#6 of 1,051 in Istanbul
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siesta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siesta Hotel

Property: Siesta Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Akburcak Sok. No 24 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,051 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Siesta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Siesta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing