We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Istanbul, Istanbul, Istanbul!!!!”
Review of Blue Tuana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Tuana Hotel
Ranked #98 of 1,081 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Istanbul, Istanbul, Istanbul!!! I loved this destination!!! We stayed in Blue Tuana for 4 days in Easter! It is located in the historic centre of Istanbul, Sultanahmet. It is a fantastic place, with lots of hotels and restaurants nearby. It is a few minutes walking from Aya Sofia and Sultanahmet Mosque. The tram station is also 5 min. on foot.
The hotel is small but convenient. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace, with great view to the Marmara Sea. Rooms and bathroom are small but well decorated. That's the good part of our staying there...
Though Sultanahmet is a magical place, the hotel is located next to a mosque and a railway station. The trains pass next to the hotel from 5:30 in the morning till midnight and it this is really VERY, VERY ANNOYING. Moreover, the imam's calling at 5:40 in the morning is also scary, if you are not used to it of course. To say the truth, though not used to it, I found it atmospheric!!! As for the cleanliness... during our staying there was no change in sheets and towels. And this is the second diasdvantage. Coming to the third... they didn't give us formal receipt of payment, despite the fact that we asked twice for it.
That's all for Blue Tuana! I loved Istanul and I would definitely visit the city again! But Blue Tuana...? NOT!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipikakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 138 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

Friendly , warm and welcoming staff , nice and clean place . Good management , pleasant
breakefast hall on top with a panoramic view to Marmara sea and very good price !. We enjoyed a wonderful time there and best of all was being close to Haiga Sofia square and historical places around . Hereby we appreciate all Blue Tuana crew .

Room Tip: Nice view on south sight , but you may be not happy with night trains !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Behzad Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a hotel has everything you need, friendly staff, nice view from the terrace and good breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, but for those who are light sleepers it is preferable to ask for a room facing the front of the building as the back of the hotel is next to a railway with trains starting around 6 in the morning, but silent at night.

The only problem with this hotel is not so much the hotel itself but its location in the artificial area of Sultanahmet, made for people who are afraid of travelling outside the English speaking world as many British (mostly burned by the sun) and Americans can be seen in that area. Although you are very near the Blue Mosque and Agia Sophia, the area looks like a holiday camp for foreigners, you cannot see any Turkish living there, so you have to walk a bit down towards the Spice Bazaar to start to see what resembles to the REAL Istanbul and better if you cross the bridge to Beyoglu and even better to the Asian side of Uskudar and Kadikoy. In other words, if you are the kind of people afraid of discoveries, this is your area and Blue Tuana will certainly be the best deal around.

Room Tip: Front rooms quieter as the back has a railway passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sebastien744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Tuana for three nights. We've traveled to Istanbual several times in the past, and compared to other Istanbual hotels in Sultanahmet in this price range, Blue Tuana is a terrific value and a cut above the others: very clean, modern bathrooms, and better-than-average breakfast. The rooftop terrace is simply lovely.

The only downsides: There's no elevator, and the rooftop terrace is on the 6th floor. If stairs would present a problem for you, I'd recommend staying elsewhere. As other reviewers have noted, it's built right by the train tracks. The trains aren't that loud (no whistle, just the sound on the tracks), but light sleepers might want to use earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lsilver3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Well, this little nice hotel has a very good location for sightseeing, just fiew minutes from the Blue Mosque, and fantastic views from the terrase -to the Marmara sea and to the Blue Mosque. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The staff is really friendly and helpfull, ready to answer every question. The made me feel like at home.
Seaview rooms are facing the railroad, so it is really noisy in the room when the train is passing by. It could be a problem, because trains start to go in the early morning till midnight. Anyway, I was so tired after walking through the city and slept so deeply that I didn't heard the noise.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_JaneRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hello, I now seem to write everytime I travel. THis place was really good. THe rooms were clean and the staff was very pleasent. The breakfast was also good, as well as the ambiance. You can see the blue mosque behind you and a nice view of Istanbul from the top. I would definately recommend staying there. The owner was very nice. We tried to check out later that day and they didnt allow us, which was the only problem we faced. But in general they always seemed to go out of their way. The location is also great, in Sultanahmed there are many many hotels, so if you are looking to be a tourist its a perfect place to stay to see everything at just a walk away. If you want to see more of Turkey's nightlife etc. I recommend staying around Taksim. Ortokuy is also very nice. But no complaints from this place, for the price it was descent and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dhoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Dear all! I am fascinated by this hotel. Seriously, the hotel rated as *** offers hospitality which not every ***** hotel would offer. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help - and they do help! The breakfast is really great - wide choice, from fresh strawberry to turkish coffee, really didn't expect it! Separate greetings go to Sofiya - she was very nice and kind to us and helped several times very much. But all the other people from the hotel were very friendly and helpful, too. The view from the terrace is terrific - Marmara sea to one side and Blue Mosque to another. I wish I will go there once again someday. And I highly recommend this hotel to everybody - because we really enjoyed our stay. Perfect choice!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Khomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Lalinn Hotel
Lalinn Hotel
#20 of 1,081 in Istanbul
270 reviews
Sultanahmet
Stanpoli Hostel
Stanpoli Hostel
#13 of 1,081 in Istanbul
205 reviews
Sultanahmet
Art City Hotel Istanbul
Art City Hotel Istanbul
#121 of 1,081 in Istanbul
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Tulip House
Hotel Tulip House
#64 of 1,081 in Istanbul
644 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,081 in Istanbul
594 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottomarin Hotel
Ottomarin Hotel
#214 of 1,081 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Tuana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Tuana Hotel

Address: Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok.No 3 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,081 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $27 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Tuana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLUE TUANA HOTEL An Ottoman-style Turkish mansion, in the shadows of the Blue Mosque andHagia Sophia, the Blue Tuana Hotel is situated in a prime location overlooking the Marmara Sea and Bosphorus in the heart of Istanbul’s historic Sultanahmet district. We are just a short walk from Topkapi Palace, the Archaeology Museum, Sultanahmet Square, the Egyptian Bazaar Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. With just 16 modern, clean rooms, the Blue Tuana Hotel has a quiet, intimate and relaxing atmosphere. Delight in the panoramic views of Marmara Sea and the Princes’ Islands from our comfortable, open-air terrace as you enjoy your traditional Turkish breakfast or a romantic starlit dinner. Blue Tauna Hotel has all modern amenities. All our rooms are fully equipped with a private bathroom, hair dryer, cable TV, mini bar, air conditioning, direct telephone lines and a high-speed wireless internet connection.Our friendly staff will be more than happy to assist you during your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Tuana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing