We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Palace Hotel
Ranked #559 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitely a solid hotel”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I think there's a spread in reviews for this hotel bc it depends on what you compare it to. Our room (standard) was clean, the shower was great, there's a safe inside the room and plenty of closet space for longer stays and slippers! The front desk staff was okay (limited in english) and the breakfast was okay (in comparison to other bnb's in Istanbul). There is a lovely rooftop terrace and wifi in the rooms. From the hotel, there is easy access to Blue Mosque etc. Maybe about a 5 min walk to Hippodrome. One downside was that we had an early flight and the hotel does nothing to accommodate take-away breakfast. That may be standard in Turkey but in Egypt, they pack up your breakfast to take with you! Oh yeah, bc it started raining while we were there- our room got cold. We tried the heaters but couldn't get them to work. HOWEVER, we didn't ask the staff for help so there was probably something simple we missed.

Overall, Sultan Palace is good. Very good.

Room Tip: We were in room 404 which was nice bc it had a balcony (teeny but still- it's a balcony) from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    35
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
47
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very friendly staff, great service and very friendly staff!
Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
Would recommend this hotel.
Very affordable.
The hotel is in the perfect location to the popular sights.

Alexia and Kathy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I took the sea view room it was very small and not a good furniture the hotel is cheap no soap or shampoo only soap dispenser and the room was very small the size was not as I expected not a good cleaning only one lady can not clean the hole hotel the towels and sheets only changed upon request I had the room changed after 2 days to a bigger one wich was better size wise the hotel still need fixing the bathroom also small
Breakfast has no fresh juice
The staff were helpfull but only if you ask not a good recommendation for the hammam too over all too much for the price the only thing good is the location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had a good stay at the Sultan Palace Hotel a week back for 5 days with my wife. Overall I would rate this place as an average Hotel as if you choose the normal rooms its like your in a cage too small except if you choose to stay in the Deluxe Superior rooms where the rooms are a bit spacious with an open balcony facing the sea which is not a good or great view as its quite far away. This hotel is quite affordable if you not looking out for any amenities, the location is quite good as most of the attractions are walking distances.
While I was there I did get attracted and found more hotels in the city centre which I would recommend you to check before choosing this hotel.
The Owner is quite friendly and a great person for advice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saviodcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel ever and freindly staff perfect location no dout i would book in it again clean room . Nice bath.good room service . Breakfast is vgood . The only note is the way to the hotel at night is creepy kind of dark

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel has good location, only 5 minutes walking to Sultanahmet square. Room was clean, large enough and air condition worked properly. They have a very nice terrace which offers great views. Value for money was perfect my stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is very nice, clean but very tiny room, which is not unusual in Turkey. You shouldnt be worry about the standard, cleanness and sleep quality. If you like the pictures and the location you will not be disappointed when you arrive. We stayed there 2 nights, June 2013, and liked it very much. The day after we found a similar hotel but a little bit cheaper in the area so we left.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matteus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#228 of 1,156 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Laleli Gonen Hotel
#485 of 1,156 in Istanbul
220 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#297 of 1,156 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rox Hotel
#271 of 1,156 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Palace Hotel

Property: Sultan Palace Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Sokak No: 38 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Palace Hotel offers accommodation with elegant furnishings and flat-screen TVs. It is situated in the historic centre of Istanbul’s old city, just 300 metres from the Roman Hippodrome. Rooms feature cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each is fitted with wooden floors and air conditioning while some also offer a seating area. All rooms have modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing