We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just two words - great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sultan Palace Hotel
Ranked #526 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Magical place magical experience.
Comfortable hotel, extremely clean, wonderful breakfast. Central location close to many attractions and places to visit.
The hotel has exceeded my expectations.

Greetings from Bulgaria

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just returned after a 3 day stay in the Sultan Palace Hotel prior to going on a cruise. The hotel is situated right in the heart of the old town but is just a five minute walk from the main square with all the sights. Good views from the roof terrace. Marvellous friendly staff with a very helpful young lady on the front desk. Rooms were small but spotless, had a free safety deposit box and were air-conditioned. There was also free Wi-Fi. We also had the added benefit of fresh slippers every day. Excellent breakfast. Highly recommended and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a small car park but it did not present a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fibonacci24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

fantastic stay in the hotel! very clean and hygienic rooms, bathroom small but with all amenities, good comfortable bed, breakfast very awesome and wonderful view from the terrace. staff very cooperative and helpful. in fact one of the staff members fought with an errant taxi driver who wanted to fleece us! however, we decided to stay here only because we got very cheap rates online! so we got a good bargain at very nominal prices. i am not sure if i am going to stay again at the hotel's own standard rates for the simple reason more affordable hotels can be found in istanbul bit of course without the amenities. one another problem with the hotel's location is that one has to climb a very steep path for 5 mins to reach it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mithuraaj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I just stayed at the Sultan Palace Hotel this past weekend (Jun 22-24, 2012) and enjoyed my stay very much. The price (through booking.com) was very reasonable, my room was spacious, air-conditioned and perfectly clean. The wi-fi worked reliably. The location is fantastic - on my first leisurely evening walk, I stumbled into the major sights after 5-10 minutes. The breakfast was plentiful. Most of all, I was in love with the roof terrace - the hotel being on top of a hill and slightly higher than the surrounding buildings, the view of the Marmara Sea is magnificient and you get a close up look of the neighbourhood mosque. Plus, if you wish, you get to meet your fellow travellers. If there wasn't so much to see in beautiful Istanbul, I could have happily spent all my time on that terrace.
Honestly, I'm a little surprised by old negative reviews; considering the price, the hotel provided all it promised to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank velma_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the sultan Palace Hotel for 3 nights as two friends traveling. Although we had some difficulty finding it, i was well worth the the effort. We paid 40EUR through booking. com after looking at more than 30 hotels on line and were very happy with our choice. It is a new hotel (it got it operating license in Jan), owned by a Turkish man who has 30 years of experience in working in hotels in Western Europe. The staff are very friendly and after talking with them (two decent English speakers receptionist and one member of staff and the Owner who speaks German and basic English) were very helpful with lots of local advice, restaurants, local beach at the end of the train line, places to go out drinking and dancing, and most importantly how much to pay and what to watch out for (200Eur bar bills, excessive taxi bills the right prices for boats trips -10 TL-. The staff are discreet but with some effort to talk with them made our stay in Istanbul really special). The hotel opened officially 6 months ago, so everything is new and very clean with nothing lacking. I was upgraded to a double as all singles were taken and my friend was in a single with an over-sized single bed -about 1.3m wide-. The showers are large with very good pressure and come equipped with quality hand wash and shower gel and a good extractor fan. The Air co work well and the rooms have touch-less key card access. The hotel also has a roof top terrace with fabulous views out to sea. The breakfast I a nice spread of breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, fruits and local produce and is fresh and I would rate it above average. They have cold filtered water from a cooler so you can fill you water bottles for going out every day. The rooms have a very modern decor with nice Turkish style laps and paintings, a safe and fridge with all drinks at 2 Eur which is slightly cheaper than average. In the local corner shop 100m away expect to pay 1TL. They have free internet and computer with printer in reception (to print boarding passes and WIFI in the rooms (no laptop so did not use-in general internet speeds are not fast like the UK). if you need a taxi book it from reception and they will get you an honest taxi driver and indicate where you are going and the price you should pay. We took the train and tram and then a taxi when we got lost. but I would advise (if you have heavy bags) to take the metro from the airport to the end of the train line (2TL per person) then a taxi which will be between 10-12 TL to the hotel. Everything in the tourist areas is priced for tourists and the cafe in St Sophia if VERY expensive. We took a guide, 60 years old Attila who took us round the S Sophia for 20TL for a 30 mins tour which lasted a hour and we gave him an extra 10TL. Well worth the money and he had amazing knowledge. We visited the Blue mosque during prayer time and it is truly wonderful, I would suggest the evening prayer. A trip on the Bospherous is recommended and pay between 10-15TL. The Kumkapi district has a street of nice restaurants, fish and meat, with the usual guys trying to get you in to their establishments. Negotiate everything that you may wish to eat before going in and beware of proposals off the menu shown to you without agreeing the price. The tourist places are overpriced to you must negotiate prices -20% or more if you are having a meal for 2 with drinks. Expect to have 10TL of service added on an 85 TL bill. Further tips are not required. A good way of putting off touts or sellers coming to you table is putting up your hand and shaking your head without eye contact. Answering in English will get a conversation going that may be difficult to extricate yourself from. If it is a tout from a restaurant, and you do engage in conversation just say you have already eaten. If you are thinking of going to Istanbul I would really recommend it the people are lovely. If you stay at the Sultan Palace I would recommend a visit to the Stone Hotel, right out of the Sultan Palace hotel, then left up the hill on the left hand side as they have a lovely hidden garden which serves cold beer at 8TL and a nice atmosphere after a long day of sightseeing. I will definitely be visiting Istanbul again and staying at the Sultan and from conversations with other tourists is the best value for a quality hotel near the main sights.

Room Tip: double at front of hotel are the nicest, single on the side have better light and small side windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ben c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed 2 nights here, found it on the internet wanting to be near some friends who'd already booked nearby, in a more central position but at much higher cost. Having been elsewhere in Turkey for a few days before where breakfast provided instant coffee only with powdered milk, I very much enjoyed good coffee with real milk, and good choice of cereal and delicious dried figs and apricots. For German speakers, an advantage is that the very hospitable proprietor speaks German very well. The receptionist spoke English well too. The room was smallish but very adequate, clean, bed very comfortable, bathroom (with shower) superb. Depending on the individual, you might find the noise made by the seagulls during the night a bit disturbing, but of course that's not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Istanbul, and after some careful reviews on different sites, I decided to stay at the Sultan Palace Hotel. The hotel, although on a slope, was very well situated. I could walk to almost all the attractions - Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Haya Sofia, Tokapi Palace, the University and a couple of mosques nearby. It was about 5-7 minutes from the Sultanamet Square, with all the restaurants, shops and public transportations.
Although not luxurious, but then at 100€ per night in Istanbul you are not likely to find any luxury hotel that is centrally located, I found the room to be extremely clean, very well kept, with English channels TV, free internet, safe and a mini bar. I could not find any fault in the rooms. They were not big, but it was adequate for 2 paxs. The bathroom was compact, but shower was good. The girl at the reception skope English and was extremely helpful with information, tours and transfers. Although the manager did not speak English, he did his best to fulfill all our requests.
I know nothing about entering through the kitchen door, because while I stayed there (from April 26-May 2, 2012) I always entered through the front door.
Breakfast could be better, but then, we are in Istanbul, and they are different.! They did provide some fruits, ham and cheese and throughout the day, we could help ourselves to coffee and tea. A toaster would have been much appreciated.
But on the whole, I like the hotel and would no doubt recommend it to all those who want a clean hotel in a central location for a reasonable price. I have stayed in much better hotels before, for more or less the same price, but this is Istanbul, and clean and central hotels dont come very cheap.It is a no fuss hotel, but quite good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#832 of 1,171 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#465 of 1,171 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#205 of 1,171 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,823 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,171 in Istanbul
856 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,171 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Palace Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Katip Sinan Sokak No: 38 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #526 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $20 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Palace Hotel offers accommodation with elegant furnishings and flat-screen TVs. It is situated in the historic centre of Istanbul’s old city, just 300 metres from the Roman Hippodrome. Rooms feature cable TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each is fitted with wooden floors and air conditioning while some also offer a seating area. All rooms have modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultan Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing