We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Ranked #572 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel with perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is very clean, tidy and well organized hotel on one of the best Istanbul street Istiklal. Rooms size are quite ok and bathroom facilities are high quality. You'll find plenty of dining options around the hotel. Hotel surrounding may be bit noisy in the night but not an issue for nocturnal people. Taksim sqaure is 12-15 minutes walk away to catch local transportaion.
Hotel is a bit pricey and some rooms do not receive direct sunlight and dont have any outside view.

Room Tip: Rooms with outside view are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JammerDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
34
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and we had a great reception by the hotel night staff. About the room, we could find many nice facilities in it, such as an umbrella and complimentary water. Besides, the room had free wifi, was clean, comfortable and the shower was excellent! Regarding location, it is perfect for shopping at the enormous Istaklal Cd. and a 2-minute-walk to Şişhane Metro Station. As improvement tips, the wifi signal in our room was very weak and although there were plenty of restaurants around, we also missed a breakfast option inside the hotel. However, these are small things that don't interfere in my positive opinion about my experience and that's why I recommend your stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsudaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Everything about this hotel is nice. Its design, location, price and even service adds a lot to my visit to Turkey.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haboob_enaseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I'm not new to Istanbul, so I know how important it is to stay in a convenient part of town - and Stories Apart will not disappoint! The building itself is amazing, and has been beautifully renovated to retain its old charm. The rooms are very modern, very clean and the bathroom amenities are a lovely quality - the shower was wonderful! The huge flat screen tv has all DigiTurk channels (if you're in your room that long!) and the wifi works well in the rooms.
I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful with any request I had.
The location of this Apart is perfect! Close to many restaurants, shops, the Metro and available taxis. From this location you can walk in any direction and find something interesting or useful!
I will be visiting Istanbul again, and this will be where I want to stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have bigger windows for more sunlight and fresh air. Just ask wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereiskate8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Very nicely decorated hotel. Very smart, spacious rooms with all accomodations you might need (and even some you don't). Reception is friendly, perhaps a little anonymous. Several rooms have no real outside window. The absence of daylight may be a bit discomforting. On the plus side, it's really quiet. Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant is good, although the lounge music (same tunes every day) seems too big an effort to keep everything very stylish. In my opinion they could loosen up a bit, but this is personal taste. On the whole, good value for money.

Room Tip: If you need daylight, make sure to check in advance if your room will have that. Otherwise it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The location is just excellent. Meters away from Istanbul's prime shopping street Istiklal.
The room we had (# 304) was nicely appointed with large flatscreen TV, fridge-minibar, coffee and teamaker, and even a sink and a small hotplate, although I doubt if you could really cook something on it. And with all the fabulous eateries within walking distance, why would you ? The people at reception were all very nice and helpful.
The shower was more than excellent. A big rain shower and a powerful hand shower in a very royal sized shower-cubicle. Very nice.
The rest of the bathroom is on the small side.
WIFI worked well, no complaints.
Our room was on the street side, first floor, so quite close to the night-time entertainment, but the noise stopped quite abruptly at midnight, so not a real problem.
The street where the hotel is is quite narrow, so the lower rooms do not get a lot of natural light and the room is a bit dark.
But all in all a very nice stay, and one we'll certainly keep in mind for when we're back in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nico_Nelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I had no expectations at all when i arrived at this hotel. The rate indicated it must be good hotel. From Arrival to departure this hotel was simply wonderful. The room was spacious, fully equipped with all necessities a traveller requires. The hotel was stylish, without going over board. Aydin who was working at the reception most nights we were there was friendly, helpful and informative.
The major plus point of this hotel is its superb location. I could not have chosen a better one. You step out of the hotel and you are on the main Galata shopping area that is full of life. You are close to the Tunnel which takes you down to the bridge which means you are basically in sultanahmet and all the attractions it offers. Galata offers shopping, nightlife, restaurants, pubs, and the best people watching you can hope for.
I loved this property, can not find a single fault and would like to thank the team and the hotel for making my trip an amazing one.
thank you!

Room Tip: the room on the main street might be a little noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#37 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Beyoglu
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
#181 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#465 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Corinne Hotel
Corinne Hotel
#36 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Beyoglu
Georges Hotel Galata
Georges Hotel Galata
#90 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Karakol
Stories Hotel Karakol
#418 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stories Hotel Kumbaraci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Kumbaraci

Property: Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Address: Kumbaraci Yokusu No 66 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stories Hotel Kumbaraci 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building named after Kumbaracı Ramp, one of the most well-known streets of Beyoğlu consists of 24 rooms with a surface area of approximately 23-61 sq. meters and bar with a fireplace, restaurant and bistro.This building that attracts the attention of people walking by in Istiklal Street with its historical exteriors is located in Asmalı Mescit that became the center of not only our cultural heritage but also the entertainment with lively cafés and restaurants.Asmalı Mescit, the most well-known area of Beyoğlu and the most popular district of historical Pera resisting to being forgotten and defeated by time is the meeting point of entertainment lovers thanks to its night clubs and bars. Current historic fabric was restored with modern lines and it is surrounded by boutique hotels, restaurants and entertainment facilities. Thus Asmalımescit, the center of night life in Istanbul and the mirror of Beyoğlu not only entertains but also displays the finest details of cultural heritage. The building of Stories Hotel Kumbaracı dating back to early 1900s and matching with this location elegantly features the typical characteristics of French architecture that forms the architectural style of Beyoğlu predominantly. It was intended to create large suit rooms in this building which was decorated successfully to maximize the functionality.Stories Hotel Kumbaracı combines the modernism and history with its high ceilings, large passageways, marble spiral staircase and bar in the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stories Hotel Kumbaraci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing