We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent hotel, good location"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Time Hotel Old City
Ranked #807 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 7, 2013

"The Time is a very modern Istanbul four star hotel located not far from the Grand Bazaar and other sites, and not far but just far enough, from the dreadful Sultanhamet tourist slum. Right on the tram line.The rooms are very clean and roomy and the staff extremely welcoming and professional. They will also help you organize your tourism. One caveat: cab drivers may not know where it is (make sure you take one of the hotel's cards with map on the back when you go out)."

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rande K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 201 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed a very warm welcome here and found the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly.
The rooms are a good size and comfortable - and very good value compared to other options we considered. For a time visitor (tourist) in Istanbul, it might be more convenient to be based in the heart of Sultanahmet or Beyoglu, but otherwise this is a good location - very close to a tram stop, within easy walking distance of the Grand Bazaar, and with interesting local attractions of its own, since it seems to be in the heart of the local 'fashion district', also very close to university.

Room Tip: We had rooms at the back where the sound of the calls to prayer from the mosque opposite may not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We got this hotel with a trip package we bought on internet. In fact, the agency changed our hotel at the last minute and we knew we would have this hotel after arriving in Turkey, which is not necessarily the best way to start a trip...

Fortunately we were surprised by the hotel. It's rather new and well located, some meters away from a tram station. It's on one of the main streets of Fatih, the old district of Istanbul. So do not expect a lot of calm when you leave hotel.

They have pool, saunas, massage and the famous Turkish bath. But only the pool and one dry sauna were available.

The quality of sleep is not very good though. You can hear doors banging, showers and people walking in the morning. The acoustic isolation is poor. There is a mosque not far from the hotel and you can hear their call for pray everyday at 5am, which is not exactly what you expect if you are not muslin.

The restaurant is OK, but too expensive for the menu. It's better to eat at nearby restaurants, not very far away.

In general this hotel is OK, but be ready to wake up early in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugolpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This is not the first time for me in Istanbul, but surly I can recommended this hotel as excellent hotel.
1. The location is very good, it is so close to the main sights.
2. It is located in the main street near lalleli mosque.
3. It is located far from the loadable areas.
4. The staff is very enjoyable and helpful.
5. My room located in the street view, it was amazing, I attached photo for my window view..

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmoorSaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

1st time ever in istanbul for honeymoon and was treated to an excellent hotel. the staff are very friendly and helpful and made us feel at ease.
They told us where were the best places to visit and any tours that we wanted to do, they would sort it out straight away.
Breakfast was really good. Had lunch few times and had no complaints about it at all.
The location of the hotel is in walking distance from the Old City. Many food places near by and great buzz in the area.
Many thanks to all the hotel staff...mentioning omer and yasin, the receptionist who provided wonderful service and warm welcome.
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOSH_DEZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed three nights at this hotel in early April with two kids aged 6 and 9. The hotel gave us adjoining rooms so everyone had some privacy. Much appreciated. The rooms were bright and modern. Great thick duvets on the beds. Air conditioning worked great. The bath and showers were glassed in and as my kids said, "fancy". We were about 6 blocks from the Grand Bazaar on the main drag in this area. Shopping everywhere you looked!

We ate our breakfasts in the restaurant (included in room) and found a nice variety of items. We also had dinner here once and there was some really nice Turkish cuisine. Again, good selection of hot food. The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and went out their way to make sure our kids were doing well.

What made this hotel was the pool/spa facilities. We were welcomed by the pool attendant who handed us robes, slippers and freshly squeezed lemonade that was fabulous. The hallway to the pool from the pool desk was lit with candles. Room to either side were for massage, showers and bathrooms. A Turkish bath/sauna was on another floor. The pool was unique. You could sit on the entry stairs at one end of the pool and turn on jets for massage and then go swim. I have never seen a pool like that before. The pool had a small waterfall. Thanks to the guys who went out of their way to make our time here fun.

A big thank you to Marina, Omar, etc. at the front desk who were also helpful in finding our way around the area.

We had an early morning flight out and even though we were out of hotel by 3:00am, the hotel had a packed breakfast for us ready at the front desk. Nice touch. We will come back to the Time Hotel again when back in the fabulous city of Istanbul!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamuraiYosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friendly , hotel... clean and cosy,, small rooms but good feeling....good breakfast.. nice restaurant..good location near tram,metro..old city! very personal touch!!enjoy as i did 9 days!!
Smiling and helpful personal made my visit happy one!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirkko r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Zagreb Hotel
Zagreb Hotel
#751 of 1,163 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
Glorious Istanbul Hotel
#399 of 1,163 in Istanbul
86 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Sorriso Hotel
Sorriso Hotel
#627 of 1,163 in Istanbul
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
Wyndham Istanbul Old City Hotel
#160 of 1,163 in Istanbul
878 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Samir Hotel Deluxe
Samir Hotel Deluxe
#344 of 1,163 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#462 of 1,163 in Istanbul
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Time Hotel Old City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Time Hotel Old City

Address: Ordu Cad. No:87 Laleli, Istanbul 34437, Turkey (Formerly The Time Hotel Istanbul)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #807 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $36 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Time Hotel Old City 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced modern hotel holiday and the notion of excellent quality service, our hotel went into service. We are here to make your holiday get comfortable and meet all your expectations and desires. 24 hour-room service, friendly staff, good quality and smiling faces are here to welcome you. Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural richness of Istanbul while indulging in the well-known Turkish hospitality. That is our aim to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take an ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. The Time Hotel Old City offers a variety of clean and comfortable rooms at a great price. Free wireless internet access is available in The Time Hotel Old City's lobby and all rooms, should you need to stay in touch with work or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Time Hotel Old City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing