We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, classy & central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stories Hotel Karakol
Ranked #452 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, classy & central”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

With only 17 rooms spread over 6 floors, this hotel is intimate & a stones throw to Istiklal St. & a short but amazing walk up to Taksim Square. We experienced two different rooms. Firstly, a room at the back with a huge bed that took up most of the room. Then we had a double bed in a room at the front. Slightly noisier but not bothersome. Rates were reasonable and the decor was classy but not pretentious. The area is lively like most of Taksim is. WiFi is excellent & TV had lots of cable channel choices. The people who work here at wonderful. Very friendly & helpful. There is a washing machine/drier in the basement but you need to buy your own soap powder. There are little stores all around the hotel not to mention eating places. Is there any part of Istanbul where you can't find decent food?! Stay here. You won't be disappointed. They have 2 other hotels in the vicinity. All are similarly decorated & of the same high standard.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
48
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just few hundreds meter from Taksim square and few steps away from Istiklal Avenue, this hotel is quiet and based on conveniently placed. Room was comfortable (I had been upgraded for free compared to the original booked one), clean and medium size.
Wi-Fi was available for free while there is no possibility of having breakfast despite of the fact there are plenty of places as soon as turned the corner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anyplace_Anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

What a great place! Great location right in the heart of Taksim. So many great restaurants and bars right outside the front door. When I arrived, I was upgraded to penthouse unit, amazing. Beautiful sea views from my private terrace. Large sitting room, fireplace and beautifully decorated, very modern and earthy. I was there alone for my birthday and the manager Muammer (so nice and helpful), Omar and staff brought up a big piece of delicious birthday cake with a candle for me, I was quite touched. Now THATS great service! Very clean and very quiet. The ironing board and safe made the stay more enjoyable. Very comfortable bed and pillows by the way.
I couldn't have been happier with my stay, very personal attention was much appreciated, awesome hotel!

Room Tip: Top floor makes you feel very special, very quiet, spacious and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here in April 2013. Great location that's quiet, yet minutes away from Istiklal Avenue. We took a junior suite, which was compactly organised - small toilet with strong shower, open kitchenette (hob, sink, coffee maker, kettle), tall shelf with TV separating sofa/cupboard area from queen bed. It was very comfortable. Staff, while not all fluent in English, were super friendly and did their best to help with recommendations and bookings. Plenty of food and shopping in the area, but public transport to the main tourist attractions in Sultanamet a bit difficult, as is the case in the whole Beyoglu area.

Finding the place for the first time can be a bit difficult as the signage is more discreet than flashy. Be sure to look it up on the map ahead of time and have instructions and address in Turkish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Through a mix up between the taxi driver and the hotel (beware, it is hard to find!) we ended up at the wrong Stories hotel (there are 3 of them). Our charming host offered either to deliver us to the right one, or an upgrade where we were. We stayed and had a Junior Suite, which was marvellous. This is a boutique hotel right near Istiklal Street and Taksim Square so right in the thick of things. Fortunately it has excellent glazing as it gets very rowdy at night. Fun, bohemian area though, with lots of wonderful hole in the wall bars and restaurants. Junior Suite was huge by Istanbul standards and we really enjoyed our stay. Lovely, helpful front desk, and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryonabudget_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked through booking.com on arrival we realized that we had booked and prepaid for the dates we thought, but for the next month! The hotel staff were very professional and because they had space they said they could of course honor our booking and prepayment then instead. Great service throughout our stay. When we were there on Saturday night, as we gathered regularly happens, there were riots in Taksim Square and tear gas in the streets. We felt very safe in the hotel and my only complaint, which is not the fault of the hotel, but something to be aware of is that as some tear gas was released on the street the combustion smell did enter the room a bit. This is something that I'm sure any hotel in Beyoglu must deal with and it still appears to be the best place to stay. The other thing is that a bar across the street can sometime play loud music until 12 or 1 am, this did not matter much for us and the hotel windows are thick, but you may want to request a room on a high floor or interior facing. The hotel staff were very kind and helped us to figure out everything we needed, even those who did not speak much English went out of their way to be accommodating to us.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the street, if possible maybe on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Would recommend it wholeheartedly. An excellent boutique hotel with excellent service, located near the center, with marvellous aesthetics. We had a lovely time as a couple visiting Istanbul for the first time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lampros1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali O, Guest Relations Manager at Stories Hotel Karakol, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to leave your impressions of your stay at the Stories Hotel Karakol on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were generally satisfied with our services and the staff. We truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
Stories Hotel Kuloglu
#482 of 1,156 in Istanbul
71 reviews
Beyoglu
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
Misafir Suites 8 Istanbul
#322 of 1,156 in Istanbul
287 reviews
Beyoglu
Istiklal St. House
Istiklal St. House
#922 of 1,156 in Istanbul
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#459 of 1,156 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
Taxim Lounge Hotel
Taxim Lounge Hotel
#396 of 1,156 in Istanbul
40 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#92 of 1,156 in Istanbul
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stories Hotel Karakol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stories Hotel Karakol

Property: Stories Hotel Karakol
Address: Kuloglu Mah. Sadri Alisik Street. No : 26 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stories Hotel Karakol 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stories Hotel Karakol is an exquisite Istiklal Street hotel within walking distance of tram stations and Taksim Square. Stories Hotel Karakol is in a building of lovely French architecture that dates back to the early 1900s. It has been recently renovated to improve its infrastructure without losing its historic charm. Among the modern additions are an up-to-date fire alarm system, video surveillance security, and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stories Hotel Karakol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stories Apart Karakol Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing