We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Culinary Institute

Istanbul Culinary Institute
Ranked #1,261 of 13,374 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Turkish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fener & Balat
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The service is not great. They took for ever to take our order. The decoration of the place is superb though. The food was good but nothing special. The price was OK but I really think you can find better places for dinner. I wouldn't recommend this place to a friend until they improve the service! Only liked the ambience and decoration.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbulculinary, Guest Relations Manager at Istanbul Culinary Institute, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Maarten T, Thank you for being our guest.
I am glad that you liked the atmosphere and the decoration of our restaurant. The paintings on the walls are from internationally reknown Turkish artists. Many details including the chairs and the lamps are custom made for Istanbul Culinary.
On the other hand I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service. As I am sure you have noticed we are pretty full in all service hours and our service personnel is doing their best to please all our customers. None the less, this is not an excuse for your dissatisfaction. We will make sure to improve our service and to increase coordination between our personnel at all times.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    46
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
209 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

In Istanbul, there is no correlation between prices paid and the quality of the food; it is very often the case that a pricey restaurants are offering unacceptable quality of food and wine. ICI, however is an exception: It is in a cenral location, it is small, but has a pleasant atmosphere. The service is friendly and efficient. The restaurant is serving fusion food. We have tried the tasting menu: a french style ginger carrot soup, rosebeef with green lentils, duck ravioli and finally two Turkish dishes, fish and kebab and generous dessert examples, served with matching Turkish wines. In comparision with other Turkish restaurants in the area the food is quite acceptable and good, servings are decent sized, well prepared and not over cooked. Overall, it is quite fine, considering the price paid it is a very good value indeed. On the other hand, a litlle bit more sophistication and effort can improve the dishes served quite considerably indeed.

Helpful?
1 Thank erolys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbulculinary, Guest Relations Manager at Istanbul Culinary Institute, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear erolys,
Thank you for choosing Istanbul Culinary Institute and taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was a positive one. Every month, our chef creates a fresh tasting menu, with the contribution of our students from Chefschool, our professional culinary arts certificate program. This change enables our students to get experience with new recipes, it also gives us a chance to use fresh and in season ingredients. All the team is making their best to achieve the sofistication that you rightly wished for our application restaurant. We will definitely take your criticism into consideration and do our best to improve our dishes.
Thank you again for visiting Istanbul Culinary,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great service, decent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The location is good, a block off Istiklal. Service was very good. The servers were good about responding to any eye contact and refilling water. Very happy with the service. The menu is diverse. It would be tough to go there and not find something you like. It is short on Turkish items. We had pumpkin fritters as an appetizer, which were decent. It sounded better than it was. My wife had the lamb shank and was not incredibly impressed. My main course was the pumpkin gnocchi (I like pumpkin) and thought it was excellent. The portion was more fitting as a first course, though. Overall I can recommend the restaurant if you're not looking specifically for Turkish cuisine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant culinary skills and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The tasting menu is simply outstanding, both in terms of kitchen / cooking skills and value (85TL including wine samples in Feb. 2013). Pleasant, friendly service; the only slight negative is the rather cool, modern design style and atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stumbled upon this restaurant after visiting the Pera Museum. They have a broad menu of items but the tasting menu was the best value at 80 Turkish Lira. I had a nice potato soup followed by a salmon gravlax appetizer. My main course was sea bass wrapped in phyllo dough with another course of lamb shops. The four piece dessert completed the meal was amazing. All of the dishes were paired with various Turkish wines which I enjoyed. The service, which was done by culinary students, was very attentive. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HDWhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Culinary Institute also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Culinary Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing