We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and very clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Broken Column
Ranked #42 of 1,029 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location and very clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here a few weeks back on the way to India, the hotel is set right slap bang in the middle of the old city and in the heart of the tourist attractions.

Check in was prompt and efficient and the guy carried our bags to the room, the room itself was clean warn and had plenty hot water and fresh white towels.

The breakfast was a mix of continental and a hot and cold buffet with lashings of tea, coffee and fruit juices. The hotel let us leave our bags in reception and organised a taxi for us for the airport.

If you are looking for an affordable comfortable stay in old Istanbul then book here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    62
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
64
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm el sheikh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We was 2 adults + 2 infant in triple room and we had very nice holiday in this hotel. Helpful staff, nice brekfast, clean room. Super view in Terrace at brekfast time. Big thanks for Ahmed and Gulshen. Good management. Hope see you next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anar_Huseyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

A perfect hotel in old town Istanbul, in the quality of 4 star hotels, me and my costumers were in Turkey for a visit , i have arranged this hotel for their stay.
It was the best decision we made, they just loved the hotel and they wanted to stay longer at the hotel than spending time outside :D
Special Thanks to Mr. Pasha and Mr. Orhan for their kind hospitality.
Thanks

Room Tip: Make sure to book your room early enough to get special discounts and better view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lizbon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The building is sweet and the beds are comfortable. The room was clean, the price very reasonable, and overall we enjoyed our stay very much.The staff are friendly warm and welcoming. The situation is perfect. The breakfasts are feasts of delight.i had an amazing stay at this great hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monicablex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

A year apart, I stayed twice in this hotel, one night each time. The rooms were comparable (impeccable, modern, awesome bathrooms, fully equipped). A beautiful, bountiful buffet-like breakfast was served in the terrace (I stayed during summer), with a breathtaking view of the Bosphorus. The lobby is not the most attractive section, especially since divided into two, but once you are in your room you have all comfort, not to mention the described terrace.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria_in_Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an interesting hotel! It’s been open for around a year and half and is well located in Akbiyik Cadessi, just behind the Topkapi Palace. The rooms are very tastefully decorated – handmade lamps with curling grapevine leaf features, and very comfy beds. The shower was the best we’d had on our entire trip and the bathroom is well appointed, although a bit cramped. For such a new hotel the room was showing some unexpected signs of wear and tear – it appears as though they’d had a leak at some point and the wall at the top of the window was quite badly marked. There is almost no street noise in the rooms – the windows appear to be double-glazed which is a good feature, as the street is fairly busy with taxis and tour buses.
The hotel has now completed their roof top terrace which has a stunning view down to the Bosphorus. A nice touch is that they offer complimentary tea and coffee on the terrace all day long. The breakfast was disappointing – the pre-fried eggs were cold and greasy (as were the small sausages) and there was not much on offer in terms of fruit, etc. The one juice tasted decidedly rancid and we elected to eat breakfast out the next morning. For the price, one does expect a slightly better breakfast and it’s perhaps something management could work on.
The staff were very friendly – not that fluent in English but they were more than willing to assist. Their German is quite passable so that’s an alternative communication method! The guest internet was not working when we were there but the staff allowed us to use the front desk’s PC which was very handy. There is also free wi-fi available throughout the hotel.
There are numerous restaurants and shops in the vicinity of the hotel, and it’s a short walk down the lovely old cobbled streets to the Bosphorus. There are some really good examples of old-style Ottoman architecture in this area – with some rather ramshackle houses perched right next to new hotels. A city of contrasts indeed!
We enjoyed our stay at Broken Column, and are very likely to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesDee_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Our family had a great experience of Istanbul, thanks in part to this hotel. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived, before 7 am in the morning. We were invited to have coffee and tea on the magnificent roof-top terrace, given a room right away and invited to breakfast. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient, close to all tourist attractions, yet you can rest comfortably in your room and and enjoy the piece and quiet and the great views from the terrace all day long. I would not hesitate to go back to the same hotel next time I am in Istanbul. I highly recommend it to anyone travelling as a tourist to Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilAG45056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#117 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#241 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#346 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#263 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Sultanahmet
Villa Pasha Hotel
Villa Pasha Hotel
#761 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Broken Column? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Broken Column

Property: Hotel Broken Column
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. No:45 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,029 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Broken Column 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sultanahmet Hotel Broken Column The modern and artistical design boutique hotel is located in the heart of the old city. The Hotel Broken Column is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace,St.Sophia,Blue Mosque,Hippodrome and Grand Bazaar. Hotel Broken Column offers 15 unique,well decorated rooms,top terrace with a magnificent view of Bosphorus,Blue Mosque and St.Sophia. All guest rooms at Broken Column Hotel are equipped with private french balconies. All rooms are equipped with everything to provide business or pleasure trip. Every rooms have air condition,Satelite Tv,Minibar,Digital Safe Box,Hairdryer,wi-fi and an elegant en suite bathroom. You will enjoy your breakfast while looking at the fantastic view of the Blue Mosque,St.Sophia and the sea of the Marmara. Stay in the Europe watch Asia. You will enjoy your time at our panoramic top terrace cofe with water pipe. We hope you have an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Broken Column reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing